Chevron Left
Back to Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach

Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach, Yonsei University

4.3
138 ratings
32 reviews

About this Course

Discounted cash flow method means that we can find firm value by discounting future cash flows of a firm. That is, firm value is present value of cash flows a firm generates in the future. In order to understand the meaning of present value, we are going to discuss time value of money, first. That is, the value of $100 today is different from the value of $100 a year later. Then, what should be the present value of $100 that you are going to receive in 1 year? How about the value of $100 dollars that you are going to receive every year for next 10 years? How about forever? After taking this course, you are going to be able to find the present value of these types of cash flows in the future. Unlike most of finance courses, in this course, you are going to learn how to use excel to find present value of future cash flows. In addition to the present value, you are also going to learn how to find future value given investment; interest rate given investment and future cash flows, payments given interest rates, number of periods to wait given investment and interest rate, and so on. After learning the concept and how to find the time value of money, you are going to apply this to real world examples and company valuation. After taking this course, you will be ready to make an estimate of firm value by discounting its cash flows in the future....

Top reviews

By CM

Apr 29, 2019

Amazing how easy the teacher explains financial concepts that helps you through the entire specialization and to successfully do valuations using discounted cash flows.

By DK

Nov 10, 2018

Loved the course! The quizzes and cases really test your knowledge and make sure you understood the concepts and not just theoretically but practically

Filter by:

31 Reviews

By Lidiya G Nikolayev

May 19, 2019

The teacher is really great, honestly, he made more sense than my finance teacher and I completed my bachelors in finance.

By Shruti Vishwanath

May 06, 2019

The course is very good if you need to understand how excel works in valuation per se. However, course title "Valuation for Startups using DCF" and the course don't go hand in hand. There is absolutely nothing here that speaks of how to specifically use DCF in the valuation of a startup. I was expecting more examples on these lines given the title of the course.

By saurabh karamchandani

May 02, 2019

The course is structured appropriately and progresses well by explaining examples. The problems and examples are quite good. Overall a five star rating!

However, it progresses fast and only sticks to excel based computing without illuminating on the fundamental concepts much. If not taught through the formulae based computing , this course would be difficult for complete beginners.

By Carlos Javier Barriga Montero

Apr 29, 2019

Amazing how easy the teacher explains financial concepts that helps you through the entire specialization and to successfully do valuations using discounted cash flows.

By giacomo pederzoli

Apr 26, 2019

The course has good content but it is not focused on startups

By Derek Stevens

Apr 05, 2019

Hard to understand the lecturer.

By Julian Vultaggio

Mar 23, 2019

The course gives some good insight and concepts with the matter and some tools.

However, for a person with no precedent knowledge with that (financial) matter, it requires some "brain gymnastic" and important notions need to be more detailed (i.e Terminal Value in 3.3 and 4.1).

Furthermore, the degree of complexity between the quiz and the courses is to large, despite the forum provided some hints or partial answer. Additional examples similar to the quiz should be provided.

I was hoping for a more streamline method. If I have to value a company in the future, I would like to have a clear step-by-step method I could go back to and use.

By Peter Stoffel

Mar 04, 2019

Videos and Instruction were enjoyable. Quizzes were convoluted

By David Washer

Jan 20, 2019

Excellent! Very clear. Linking DCF to bonds was very helpful.

By Dayanand Kamble

Nov 10, 2018

Loved the course! The quizzes and cases really test your knowledge and make sure you understood the concepts and not just theoretically but practically