Chevron Left
Back to Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach by Yonsei University

4.3
stars
281 ratings
72 reviews

About the Course

Discounted cash flow method means that we can find firm value by discounting future cash flows of a firm. That is, firm value is present value of cash flows a firm generates in the future. In order to understand the meaning of present value, we are going to discuss time value of money, first. That is, the value of $100 today is different from the value of $100 a year later. Then, what should be the present value of $100 that you are going to receive in 1 year? How about the value of $100 dollars that you are going to receive every year for next 10 years? How about forever? After taking this course, you are going to be able to find the present value of these types of cash flows in the future. Unlike most of finance courses, in this course, you are going to learn how to use excel to find present value of future cash flows. In addition to the present value, you are also going to learn how to find future value given investment; interest rate given investment and future cash flows, payments given interest rates, number of periods to wait given investment and interest rate, and so on. After learning the concept and how to find the time value of money, you are going to apply this to real world examples and company valuation. After taking this course, you will be ready to make an estimate of firm value by discounting its cash flows in the future....

Top reviews

MM
Feb 12, 2020

This course has helped me in Understanding new Concepts which will be very helpful in my future Carrier. I will be thankful to Coursera to give me this great opportunity for learning.\n\nThank You

BM
Apr 25, 2020

Very helpfull. I wanted to make a business plan of a real estate investment and this course taught be how to use the discounted cashflow method and I applied it to the business plan.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 69 Reviews for Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach

By Jose M Q

Aug 22, 2020

Great, very useful material!

By Amarendra P S

May 22, 2020

Easy and Informative

By Alejandro A L

Sep 16, 2017

Good, hard but nice!

By Martha L D G

Apr 7, 2021

Excellent course

By Sifra A

Aug 27, 2020

good

By Jacob A W

Jun 9, 2017

This course is a general overview of PV and FV, along with some more advanced topics. The instructor is easy to understand and makes sure to give real world examples to help understand the complex ideas. However, there were several questions on the exams that needed further explanation from the instructor to understand or even answer. I had to google quite a few terms or ideas since the course doesn't go very deep on some topics.

By Iann A D V

Dec 22, 2020

I noticed grammatical errors on the presentations and exams. Plus, I feel that I got wrong some answers because of syntaxis and rounding properties. The rest is excellent.

By Riccardo R

Sep 11, 2019

4 stars because you absolutely need to adjust the evaluating system, it's a nightmare to guess what figure it wants to move on.

By Kabir B

May 11, 2020

This Course was a challenging one. this helps me to learn about various concepts and how to value stocks and bonds using dcf.

By Mohammed I J M

Nov 3, 2020

DCF in Week 4 is not described well which lead problem in understanding which caused a problem for Minicase Quiz completion

By Omar K B

Sep 16, 2020

I like this course, It was very beneficial, the instructor gave lots of examples to make this course very clear.

By Long L

Sep 20, 2020

Exercises are good, but there are ambiguities in the questions such as the unit. Recommended in general

By Akash S

Aug 4, 2020

please explain miniquiz questions. since it is difficult to understand by only one example.

By Bing S L

Jan 2, 2021

Some of the test questions were confusing, will need better explanation in the video.

By Pratik B

Sep 8, 2020

More explanation on significance of Fcff & enterprise value is needed

By Houyang B

Sep 24, 2017

The course is okay. But the exercise format is horrible.

By Javier O

Mar 10, 2017

Nice learnings, horrible experience with the exercises.

By Nirmal k s

Dec 28, 2019

This course is very useful for Finance student.

By Arihant G

Jan 30, 2021

Very good course , but its very hard

By Ottmar R

Jun 19, 2020

Some things were incorrectly labeled

By Emre K

Mar 7, 2021

Clear explanations. Basics.

By JAMES O

May 26, 2020

Overall, the course is good, but it doesn't provide details about how to apply it in the mini case quiz. I think the some of the key answers in the mini case quiz are wrong. I already tried 5 times, luckily I figured out the answers from the discussion of week 4 (mini case quiz). However, the discussion is confusing, the assistant teacher doesn't really explain the way to do it. As of May 27, there are still upcoming questions about the mini case since 4 years ago (2016), please recheck again the mini case quiz! Almost 90% got stuck in the mini case quiz. I hope the Coursera and Yonsei University can fix as soon as possible.

By Francisco F

Jul 8, 2019

I think some explanations on finance concepts are shallow. It basically teaches you some formulas on excel for Bond valuation and then expands it for enterprise valuation. This is a good approach, but I think there should be at least a week of courses with the ground rules of finance concepts. Also, by the end it felt a bit rushed and there was little explanation on why each formula was used.

Moreover, I think there should be a bit more direction on the assignements, such as the number formatting expected.

By SRINIVAS R

Mar 24, 2018

The content i felt was less elaborate and left me gasping while doing the final quiz, which needs to be revoked at it terms of answers input. Also it would help to have couple of questions like the final quiz provided with answers provided along with explanation, which the will cut down our un necessary queries on discussion group.

Delivery of this course in that direction could be improved further.

By Justin W

Jul 8, 2018

Great information to start with the DCF approach. A number of assets (e.g., .xlsx files) were not available when they were supposed to be. Also, there's much to be done to foster collaboration (e.g., study groups) with the users taking the course. I appreciate the introduction, however.