Chevron Left
Back to Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach by Yonsei University

4.3
stars
281 ratings
72 reviews

About the Course

Discounted cash flow method means that we can find firm value by discounting future cash flows of a firm. That is, firm value is present value of cash flows a firm generates in the future. In order to understand the meaning of present value, we are going to discuss time value of money, first. That is, the value of $100 today is different from the value of $100 a year later. Then, what should be the present value of $100 that you are going to receive in 1 year? How about the value of $100 dollars that you are going to receive every year for next 10 years? How about forever? After taking this course, you are going to be able to find the present value of these types of cash flows in the future. Unlike most of finance courses, in this course, you are going to learn how to use excel to find present value of future cash flows. In addition to the present value, you are also going to learn how to find future value given investment; interest rate given investment and future cash flows, payments given interest rates, number of periods to wait given investment and interest rate, and so on. After learning the concept and how to find the time value of money, you are going to apply this to real world examples and company valuation. After taking this course, you will be ready to make an estimate of firm value by discounting its cash flows in the future....

Top reviews

MM
Feb 12, 2020

This course has helped me in Understanding new Concepts which will be very helpful in my future Carrier. I will be thankful to Coursera to give me this great opportunity for learning.\n\nThank You

BM
Apr 25, 2020

Very helpfull. I wanted to make a business plan of a real estate investment and this course taught be how to use the discounted cashflow method and I applied it to the business plan.

Filter by:

51 - 69 of 69 Reviews for Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach

By Rohan J [

Aug 3, 2020

The miniquiz seems wrong. While calculating terminal value, we have to consider 4% growth rate where you'll get the right answer if you take 40% growth rate. Please correct this. Many students are getting stuck because of this in the miniquiz.

By Carlos E P R

Mar 18, 2021

The course is good, but the examples developed are very easy for the questions that in the evaluations, in my case it was possible due to previous knowledge, but if I had had to depend on the course, perhaps I did not achieve it.

By Federico C

Sep 9, 2020

Although the course includes good explanations and examples I believe it's a little bit confusing at the quizzes. And everything is explained by examples but it's a bit lack of fundamentals.

By Hala E

Jul 23, 2020

The material provided is not comprehensive, I had to use external readings that was not referenced and the quizzes answers need revision

By Pablo B H

Jul 27, 2017

Some topics were not described thoroughly. However, on the quiz you had to know them very well in order to pass.

By Xingzhang Z

Apr 1, 2018

quizzes are generally more difficult than taught in the videos - prior knowledge in finance is somewhat needed.

By Sahil A

May 5, 2020

Everything was fine except for Terminal value concept, as I felt it was not taught clearly.

By Vanessa R M

Aug 6, 2018

The final quizz does not have the format of how answers should be

By Peter S

Mar 4, 2019

Videos and Instruction were enjoyable. Quizzes were convoluted

By giacomo p

Apr 26, 2019

The course has good content but it is not focused on startups

By Gabriel H T T

Mar 29, 2021

Overall, it helps to understand some concepts.

By Rubal C

Jun 2, 2020

Concepts are not easily understood.

By Marco F O C

Sep 22, 2018

no son claras las preguntas

By Aditi V

Dec 26, 2017

Difficulty level is low.

By Julian V

Mar 23, 2019

The course gives some good insight and concepts with the matter and some tools.

However, for a person with no precedent knowledge with that (financial) matter, it requires some "brain gymnastic" and important notions need to be more detailed (i.e Terminal Value in 3.3 and 4.1).

Furthermore, the degree of complexity between the quiz and the courses is to large, despite the forum provided some hints or partial answer. Additional examples similar to the quiz should be provided.

I was hoping for a more streamline method. If I have to value a company in the future, I would like to have a clear step-by-step method I could go back to and use.

By Kinan H

Apr 19, 2020

Thank you professor, I appreciate your effort very much.

I would have appreciated more explanation about the terms presented in this course, you have done a great job explaining the method of solving the problems and exercises, but it was a bit difficult to understand the definitions of most of the terms, for example terminal value, increase and working capital and why increase not decrease.

By Lukáš K

Oct 15, 2016

The course is very much focused in the method of DCF, but there is a lack of information regarding how to apply it to startups in practice.

By Derek S

Apr 4, 2019

Hard to understand the lecturer.

By Javier L G D R

Aug 30, 2018

Lacks explanation for minicase