Chevron Left
Back to Discrete Mathematics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Discrete Mathematics by Shanghai Jiao Tong University

3.4
stars
133 ratings
47 reviews

About the Course

Discrete mathematics forms the mathematical foundation of computer and information science. It is also a fascinating subject in itself. Learners will become familiar with a broad range of mathematical objects like sets, functions, relations, graphs, that are omnipresent in computer science. Perhaps more importantly, they will reach a certain level of mathematical maturity - being able to understand formal statements and their proofs; coming up with rigorous proofs themselves; and coming up with interesting results. This course attempts to be rigorous without being overly formal. This means, for every concept we introduce we will show at least one interesting and non-trivial result and give a full proof. However, we will do so without too much formal notation, employing examples and figures whenever possible. The main topics of this course are (1) sets, functions, relations, (2) enumerative combinatorics, (3) graph theory, (4) network flow and matchings. It does not cover modular arithmetic, algebra, and logic, since these topics have a slightly different flavor and because there are already several courses on Coursera specifically on these topics....

Top reviews

IA
Jan 5, 2021

This course requires some background knowledge of mathematics, and the exercises require some hard work. It's interesting, engaging, and has a lot of knowledge on offer!

NP
Oct 22, 2017

Fantastic course. Fascinating material, presented at a reasonably fast pace, and some really challenging assignments.

Filter by:

26 - 46 of 46 Reviews for Discrete Mathematics

By Sixiang C

May 1, 2018

The level is advanced undergraduate.

It contains challenging excersises.

You spent more than 10 hrs per week to solve them and typesetting them(at least for me).

And you can make friend with your peers.

It is for me a unique experience!

By Izhar A

Jan 6, 2021

This course requires some background knowledge of mathematics, and the exercises require some hard work. It's interesting, engaging, and has a lot of knowledge on offer!

By Jet C

Aug 20, 2017

Very interesting and motivating.

Rather standard English that is easily to be understood for non-English students.

By Gorka E G

Nov 25, 2018

A very interesting course. Thank you

By kaiyuleethu

May 9, 2017

Nice and handsome boys

By pawan t

Oct 28, 2017

Very good course sir.

By Pamella M d M

Oct 19, 2017

Excellent course!

By ZYChimne

Dec 20, 2018

AWESOME!!!!!!

By Xichu Z

Dec 16, 2017

Actually I haven't finished course in the eleventh week yet, I've only done all the tests:). However, I'd like to say that I like this course very much, it's inspiring and difficult enough. Though I always have to struggle a lot to find the cocepts and meaning of the notations online, there have been enough hints. The only pity was that sometimes there's something which can't be shown normally in exercise, this has caused me some trouble. Overall it's great, and thanks a lot, professor Scheder.

By Jared E

Jan 3, 2019

This course includes the most difficult assignments I have ever had. In the end, but every question has the simplest solution. It was... fun.

By Sunil B H

May 19, 2020

Quiz problems are difficult to solve. Assignments are very lengthy

By Xiuge C

Feb 26, 2020

The course contents are very interesting, but there are lots of improvements could be done on the course structure and how they are delivered. Also it would be better if there are actually some "official" TAs take care of the forum.

By Weijia D

Apr 2, 2017

The assignments are quite challenging for beginners ,but the lecture video is too brief or even sloppy.

By HARISH R

Aug 18, 2017

Good Set of problem sets, though more vdieo lectures are required.

By Vant v

Mar 13, 2020

it is a little bit hard

By Nathaniel K

Jul 14, 2019

Proof based courses don't work well on this format. Classmates don't know how to write or grade proofs, so they're basically pointless exercises. Also, the course does not stand alone; purchasing a textbook is required to obtain all of the necessary material. There are better lecture series for Discrete Mathematics on YouTube.

By Adam S

Jul 12, 2019

Does not provide much information about understanding key concepts, videos and material do not prepare students well for quizzes. There needs to be more learning material in each section to properly prepare students.

By Anabel D

Aug 7, 2017

Good videos, but there is a huge gap between them and the assignmnets. The quizzes have bugs.

By Stephen M

Jun 11, 2021

The lectures do not equip students to complete assignments and activities. In the very first week, there is a single, ten-minute video where the instructor quickly explains three very big topics: sets, relations, and functions. Immediately following that is a peer-reviewed activity and a 14-question quiz. That 10-minute video did not prepare me at all to finish the assignments. I do not understand the notation used in the sets nor do I know how to input the symbols to complete the assignment. This course was hastily prepared and I will not be continuing with it.

By Rufus W

Dec 28, 2020

Very poor lectures that don't explain the concepts in the homework or quizzes. No input from the professor on the discussions, no one seems to know what's going on.

By Frank J M

Mar 10, 2021

This is the worst course I have encountered on Coursera. Be fair to your students/customers.

REMOVE THIS COURSE FROM THE COURSERA OFFERINGS!!!