Chevron Left
Back to Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution by University of Alberta

4.8
576 ratings
167 reviews

About the Course

Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origin of vertebrates. Students will explore the diversity of Palaeozoic lineages within a phylogenetic and evolutionary framework. This course examines the evolution of major vertebrate novelties including the origin of fins, jaws, and tetrapod limbs. Students also explore key Canadian fossil localities, including the Burgess Shale (British Columbia), Miguasha (Quebec), and Man On The Hill (Northwest Territories). Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-vertebrate-evolution...

Top reviews

TO

Jun 21, 2016

WOW, I learned a lot form this and it was fairly educational but not overwhelming or difficult. This instructor really gets the points across without being to easy or hard. A very good class.

JC

Mar 03, 2018

Celebrate your inner fish as you swim along with this awesome course charting our earliest ancestors. Very well constructed and delivered once again by the team at the University of Alberta.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 165 Reviews for Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

By Alexandra D

Sep 23, 2017

Incredibly informative. You won't look at fish the same way again.

By Vonny S

Sep 01, 2016

Exciting course! :)

By Archie G

Aug 30, 2017

This is a great course that teaches you about how early vertebrates evolved onto l

By Arturo M

Jul 21, 2017

An excellent presentation of paleontology by W. Scott Persons. A very amazing journey through the Devonian fishes that evolved to tetrapods.

By Phillip K

Jun 14, 2018

Very well organized and thorough as possible for having about 4 weeks to explain 200+ million years of evolution.

By Bruno L P C

Jul 03, 2018

This course is absolutely great! It was very informative, organized and helped me a lot when it comes to the knowledge of this scientific area. Since i'm hoping to become a student in a Masters degree in Paleontology, i definitely recommend this course, because of how rich it is in information, and how fun and interactive it is. There were some creatures, our long ancestors, that i didn't know about too, until viewing this course.

By Wong K H

May 03, 2016

Interesting course

By Diana V

Apr 04, 2017

excelente! creo que nunca había comprendido realmente la evolución, fue una experiencia maravillosa, interactiva y bien explicada.

By Eugene Y

Oct 07, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and would recommend it to anyone interested in evolution or paleontology. The course does an excellent job in picturing one of those truly revolutionary time periods in the history of animal life on Earth. The level of detail, pace, materials and visuals are just perfect. And the presenter does a top-notch job of delivering the material. Thanks to the University of Alberta and the team behind this great MOOC!

By Mirco N

Sep 22, 2016

Very nice , clear, precise, interesting and usefull. Very good speaker!

By Bruno N A

Jun 27, 2017

Excelente, muy completo!

By Abhiram P S

Jun 03, 2018

I learned a lot!

By Jennyfer A R V

Jan 27, 2017

excelente, muy didáctico!

By Sophie L

Apr 18, 2016

Fantastic! Open a new gate for me.

By Timi A

May 26, 2018

Great short course, perfect for an introduction into early vertebrate evolution. I recommend taking the other Palaeontology courses by this university on this site if you haven't already.

By Carlos G

Jun 24, 2017

Very good the course, I consider it a personal training material of great value for those who like this science but unfortunately we can not access them in our country, as it is in Venezuela. Thank you.

By Luis J H C

May 08, 2017

I did enjoy this course as well as I've learned more about the transition from water to earth.

By James M

May 27, 2018

Excellent course! A goldmine in helping to understand Vertebrate evolution

By garima s

Aug 19, 2017

nice

By Joshua M

Jul 20, 2017

This was a really interesting course which was very well presented.

By Marcos d S

Aug 11, 2017

Excellent material and course.

By Elena M

May 25, 2016

Very interesting and well presented! Wish I lived closer to Alberta, Canada!!

By Pritvik S

Mar 01, 2018

Absolutely amazing and truly incredible to see just how much we have in common with these extinct creatures

By Kendra M

Apr 06, 2017

Very in-depth, an excellent starting course for paleontology and prehistory education.

By Richard R

May 25, 2017

Really informative, I recommend doing further reading

and writing things down/taking notes rather than just watching the videos.