Chevron Left
Back to Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution by University of Alberta

4.8
stars
719 ratings
205 reviews

About the Course

Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origin of vertebrates. Students will explore the diversity of Palaeozoic lineages within a phylogenetic and evolutionary framework. This course examines the evolution of major vertebrate novelties including the origin of fins, jaws, and tetrapod limbs. Students also explore key Canadian fossil localities, including the Burgess Shale (British Columbia), Miguasha (Quebec), and Man On The Hill (Northwest Territories). Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-vertebrate-evolution...

Top reviews

TO

Jun 21, 2016

WOW, I learned a lot form this and it was fairly educational but not overwhelming or difficult. This instructor really gets the points across without being to easy or hard. A very good class.

JC

Mar 03, 2018

Celebrate your inner fish as you swim along with this awesome course charting our earliest ancestors. Very well constructed and delivered once again by the team at the University of Alberta.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 202 Reviews for Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

By Charles R B

Jun 19, 2017

Very fast short course, which does not go into much detail. Once again, the quiz questions are far too few to make a comprehensive test of knowledge. Save your $ for an actual full-on rated University credit course, with 30 hrs of lecture and 60 hours of homework/study/lab work.

By Karthy S

Jun 27, 2016

I have learned so much from this course, thanks to Coursera and University of Alberta. This course is highly recommended for students with a passion for Evolution and Phylogeny. The handouts are also very useful.

By Henry F G

Oct 15, 2017

I believe the course should have been six weeks long instead of four. I enjoyed the course, however should have contained more detail and the quizzes should have had more questions, at least ten.

By Lloyd V C

Feb 24, 2020

Overall very interesting course and videos. It would be nice to have a page at the end of the course showing the evolution of each fish discussed (along with features and timeline).

By Richard K

Jul 21, 2019

Pretty in tense but the quizzes are pretty straightforward and the course goes pretty quickly. The diagrams helped. My first stab at real paleontology and it was a good intro.

By Maria M

Jul 30, 2017

I found the material and the lessons very useful and clear,. I have deduced one star, because I found it a bit difficult to assimilate so much information in such short time.

By Peter G

Feb 06, 2017

The presenter is world class, and I really enjoyed the interactive maps. The quizzes should be a bit more challenging though - perhaps learn how to identify a few fossils,

By Kate K

Feb 09, 2017

Difficult subject to get your head around but ultimately worth the effort. The teaching, as always with the University of Alberta's MOOCs, is second to none.

By Arash R B

Nov 15, 2018

A great course with useful and complete information. The only negative point is that there were not enough assignments for practicing and remembering.

By Cameron M

May 17, 2020

Interesting content and informative lectures. Wish the course was longer and more in depth on certain subjects.

By Zenab b

May 10, 2020

i really enjoyed it aloot and learn alooot of new knowledge about early vertebrates....thumbs up...

By Vivek S

Jun 05, 2020

Nice Course on Early Vertebrate Evolution. The interactive sections of the course were Amazing.

By John P

Mar 03, 2018

Definitely an appetiser for the subject although the names and terminology are a challenge.

By pamela h

Oct 22, 2019

enjoyed the course very much, lots of good information in manageable pieces.

By Adam M

May 03, 2016

i like this. this is good. good can be fun. fun has rewards...yay, i win

By Clotilde D

Sep 28, 2019

Very interesting course and concepts clearly explained, thanks !

By Nicholas S

Jul 01, 2019

Amazing information, but the instructor is a little distracting.

By BONNAUDET-DESMARS

Mar 28, 2020

Very interesting lesson , congratulation!

By Richard K

May 17, 2017

Well organized and excellent presenter.

By Francine

May 27, 2016

Very interesting and entertaining!

By Suriya R

May 15, 2020

Excellent Course...Loved it

By サフイア ワ

Sep 20, 2017

très bien expliqué

By Daniel D J

Dec 04, 2019

t

By Sachin R

Jul 22, 2017

This is a very informative course, but the information is extremely complicated. I had to go over the notes several times.

By Kent R C

Apr 24, 2018

Interesting, but assessments are too easy.