Chevron Left
Back to Teach English Now! Foundational Principles

Teach English Now! Foundational Principles, Arizona State University

4.9
4,684 ratings
1,562 reviews

About this Course

Through a series of engaging metaphors and stories, prospective and current EFL/ESL teachers will identify, summarize, and evaluate 7 basic language learning paradigms. Learners will be presented information on such foundational principles as motivation, risk taking, two different modes of learning, and balancing the teacher profession. Learners are also given an understanding of basic techniques founded on those principles, such as teacher talk, looking “ridiculous” in order to lower the affective filter, and networking. With these foundational principles in mind, ESL/EFL teachers will scrutinize common assumptions about language learning by comparing how they stack up to research-based core principles....
Highlights
Engaging instructors
(331 Reviews)
Interactive content
(104 Reviews)

Top reviews

By JJ

Aug 18, 2018

This is a very useful course as I begin my studies to prepare to teach English abroad. ASU is a recognized university and the price is very reasonable. I look forward to the next course in the series.

By AJ

Jan 27, 2017

A wonderful course on how to teach. Dr Dixon beautifully conveys all essentials of a becoming a good teacher. Very glad to have taken this course. Thank you Dr. Dixon and Arizona State University.

Filter by:

1,517 Reviews

By Ester Andriyako

May 24, 2019

I was VERY happy to be a student of this course, because to study for getting TESOL was my long-term dream. I never thought that it will be possible in my life and, especially, in my provincial town. But with coursera this miracle has happen! Thank you so much!

By Doaa Alloush

May 23, 2019

Many thanks

By Waraporn Piamyart Panten

May 23, 2019

It is a great teaching course equipping the teacher students with updated SLA foundations.

By Osborne Marina Igorevna

May 21, 2019

Thank you very much for this course and brilliant teachers! This is a very useful course as I start my studies to prepare to work in New Zealand. I look forward to the next course in the series.

By Yadi Supriadi

May 21, 2019

Thank you a million. This course helps me a lot because I am an english education student in my college. :)

By Paula Gallien

May 21, 2019

This is absolutely a wonderful course, fun and informative. I look forward to each week because I know that I will receive a wealth of valuable instruction, that will serve me so well as a future ESL teacher. I am thrilled to have found this course!

By Ulises Javier Pintor Parra

May 19, 2019

Great course

By Carlos Augusto Monroy Serrano

May 18, 2019

I am impressed about all that I learned here. The information was given in the clerarest possible way.

By Maria Andreina Quintero Sulbaran

May 17, 2019

This course was excellent, I did learned a lot how to be a good English teacher. I appreciate the opportunity that I was given.

By mahsati

May 15, 2019

amazing