Chevron Left
Back to Financial Accounting: Foundations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Financial Accounting: Foundations by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
4,390 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will learn the foundations of financial accounting information. You will start your journey with a general overview of what financial accounting information is and the main financial statements. You will then learn how to code financial transactions in financial accounting language. In the meantime, you will learn about the most important concept in contemporary financial accounting: accrual accounting. You will then critically analyze how firms recognize revenues. Finally, you will finish the course with an analysis of accounting for short-term assets, where you will go into detail on how firms account for accounts receivable and inventories. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: • Understand the main financial statements and the financial information • Write a financial transaction in financial accounting language and understand how this impacts the main financial statements • Understand how accrual accounting and fundamental accounting concepts work • Understand revenue recognition principles and how they impact the main financial statements • Account for accounts receivable and inventories. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and go to onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

AD

Sep 3, 2017

Though I have been through Intro Accounting some 3 or 4 times through different classes and seminars, I still found myself learning from this detailed and straight forward presentation of information.

YP

Jun 6, 2020

The modules were extremely informative and nothing less to say, Oktay sir's presentations were very easy to understand even for a person like me who has no prior knowledge about Financial Accounting.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 985 Reviews for Financial Accounting: Foundations

By Yash P

Jun 7, 2020

The modules were extremely informative and nothing less to say, Oktay sir's presentations were very easy to understand even for a person like me who has no prior knowledge about Financial Accounting.

By Linda P L

Jun 25, 2020

The instructor is very knowledgeable. He explains very well, clear and keep repeating the questions and answers, making sure students learn by repetition. Very good in depth course.

By Brian M

Sep 16, 2018

I like that the entire module is presented first as a slideshow. Then, the material is reviewed as a lecture. It helped me understand it better.

By Mathew W

Feb 25, 2017

I thought this was a great intro course and that it reinforced some info I already knew, and gave me basic info to build on during the courses.

By Fang S

Mar 11, 2018

Even as a student majoring in Finance, I would like to recommend this course to those who wants to get a basic idea of accounting and finance!

By GT W

Sep 10, 2017

This course offers a very limited scope of accounting. The lecturer has a strong accent which makes the lecture hard to understand. There is only one example discussed throughout the course: the statements of Walmart. I wish that the lecturer could provides more examples covers other accounting principles or some special cases. The quiz is too easy. The peer review assignment, which asks you to talk about a paper on accounting, is like a freshman high school assignment. Overall, I think this course is low quality, and I would not recommend this course.

By Fernando T

Jul 20, 2019

Hard to understand the instructor. He has a very heavy accent.

By Luis S

Jul 13, 2021

I really enjoyed this course. It is very engaging and the instructor explains all topics very well. the examples he presented were relevant and a good example of how to put theory into practice.

By shun t

Jul 15, 2017

I think it is easy to make it sense of basic knowledge of financial accounting.

It's good point that actual companies data is used in this course.

By Nilesh H

May 20, 2019

Great Course for learning basics of Financial Accounting. Very Comprehensive Explanation and Frequent Exercises for test your progress.

By Alireza M

Apr 7, 2019

Great course, with very useful information regarding financial accounting and very helpful examples to understand the course better

By Marina I

Apr 28, 2019

I really enjoyed the course, the way the material was explained by the teacher, as well as the tasks were organized.

By Shalini S

May 19, 2019

This course really helped me to improve my fundamentals of accounts.

By MOHAMED M P

Jun 25, 2020

A completely interesting sessions throughout the course

By Cabdirahman I E

Jun 2, 2022

this course my fill degree level

By KOFFI K J

May 21, 2019

Good appreciation. I like it !

By SAHIN K

May 2, 2019

Nice Course

By Charles R

May 23, 2019

Loved it!

By Akinbode A

May 4, 2019

The course is a very good course. The only suggestion is to find help for the instructor to edit his English, some statement in the cc or course audio to words are incorrect.

By CHRISTIAN A B K

May 25, 2019

Muy bueno el curso, sería bueno agregar más ejercicios de práctica antes de los exámenes, ya que la dificultad es muy diferente entre las prácticas y los exámenes

By Shylah W

Mar 31, 2018

Overall, the course is an okay introduction, but I was disappointed with the level of guided content provided in resources. Basically, I ended up googling a lot of concepts and learning from other (free) platforms for this content, most of which explained the concepts in a better manner. I am happy to have completed the course, but since I paid for the program, I would have preferred to do less "self-directed discovery" to learn the concepts.

Specific examples of what I mean:

Equations could have been laid out more clearly within lectures, perhaps included in the glossary.

There were several key terms missing from the glossary; the glossary lacked consistency for what was included and what was not.

Often times new terms (or alternative names for concepts) were introduced only during tests and quizzes instead of during lectures and it was not always straightforward or logical what those terms implied.

Some of the quiz/text questions were very ambiguously worded (which did not seem to contribute to critical thinking, though that possibly was the intention).

By Nakarid R

Nov 22, 2023

The curse was less complete than I expected it to be. Also, It was very difficult to follow the professor due to his heavy accent (I have no intention of shaming the professor, I'm not a native speaker by any means myself, and I understand the struggle of speaking a foreign language), but besides his accent, there were many topics and concepts that were not explained at all, which led me to having to repeat the lectures many times to able to grasp basic concepts and the difference between them. For example, the difference between recorded revenue, recognized revenue, collected income, and the formulas related to them are concepts that I'm still struggling with after reviewing Module 3 several times.

By Ahmed E

Apr 22, 2023

Content is poorly explained, and lecturer felt very unnatural and hard to listen to, probably because he was reading from a script and him having bad english doesn't help either, as non-native speaker, it was hard for me to keep up with him. Also, the illustration of the content was bad, with little to no interactive actions that actually help delivering important information. (P.S.: No offence to our honored lecturer, I'm respectfully stating what I felt, I'm sorry if any of words could be misinterpreted as disrespectful or impolite.)

By Bahadir K

Jan 31, 2022

Unfortunately, I compare with the course from Virginia University darden school of business. He is only explainging on the slide and not writing on the board or explaining the logic behind. It is really hard to follow him. He asks the things he never mentions. It cost me a lot of time just by stucking and understanding his logic. He never shares his logic rather explain very plainly. I decided to retake the darden course then come back finish exams and have a cursory look at his videos.

By Rohan K

Apr 27, 2020

the course was boring. and taught very specific things to specific examples