Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions by École Polytechnique

4.8
stars
554 ratings
154 reviews

About the Course

What is fluid-solid interactions ? It is what happens when the motions of a fluid and of a solid are somehow coupled. This happens all the time, around you when leaves flutter in the wind, inside you when your heart beats, above you when wings of a plane vibrate, under the sea... The idea behind this MOOC is to give you the basic tools to be able to predict and eventually mitigate things called flutter, galloping, sloshing, vortex-induced vibrations, added mass, to cite a few. We are going to consider any possible domains of applications such as civil engineering, aerospace engineering, nuclear engineering , ocean engineering, biomechanics and even food processing ! This is why we called the course “Fundamentals of Fluid Solid Interactions ”. There are so many phenomena and so many models that we need to work together on the basic mechanisms . If you want to see how fluid-solid interactions work, and be able to use that knowledge, join us ! A first session of the course was run in early 2016, with learners from over 100 countries. It is now available with subtitles, in English and now in Chinese. See the video at http://goo.gl/YKSMnD...

Top reviews

MM
May 30, 2020

Got some knowledge about FSI . It is very much interesting with lots of experimental demonstration and the reason on its effect. Thank you Very much for such a wonderful course

KS
Mar 24, 2019

A fantastic course with great instructors and great examples. I like the comparisons between theory and practical. One of the best courses I've ever taken. Awesome work

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 154 Reviews for Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions

By Ruiyan C

Apr 6, 2017

An advanced course of fluid-solid interactions, probably suitable for first or second year graduate students.

Personally I hope that the course can be longer (which is hard to achieve for courses on Internet) so more details can be talked about. Sometimes the students need time to respond to derivations of equations and physical significance of an equation.

By Sara E

Nov 8, 2016

It was amazing, very interesting and well explained. Unfortunately I could not do the quices without paying the course, which is a pity. I would have rather done the course first and then decided whether to pay for the certificate. In any case, I learned a lot and this is very useful information I will use in my Ph.D studies. Regards

By Rajdeep D

Jul 6, 2020

Great course, but it it would have been much greater if the governing equations are bit simplified and explained properly with care. Assignments are easy to accomplish and experiments performed are along with the course which helped me to have a better grip on my concepts. Overall great course keep it up.

Thank You

By J A L

Oct 20, 2016

Great course. Very organized and performed.

A more general point of view using non very complex examples and rich with applications.

Congratulations!

I suggest a second course using CFD and FEM, for example.

Best Regards and thanks very much for this opportunity.

By Uttam T

Apr 10, 2018

Great course to be taken if you are particularly interested in knowing how a fluid and a solid reacts under various conditions. You will be familiar with day to day, natural phenomenons in greater detail. A must-take course for a fluid mechanics enthusiast

By gk_18

May 28, 2020

The course is very well structured for grad students. Excellent use of illustrations and especially the experiments make it better. But undergrad students should work on subjects like vibrations and Fluid Dynamics before taking this course.

By Ahmed O M

Jan 4, 2017

Excellent course, making such a difficult subject very easy and understandable. But I really think that the pace of the course is fast when compared to the contents.

Also the addition of numerical/ programming examples would be of great use

By Mayank V

Jun 10, 2020

Some more numerical problems must be solved in lectures. Anyway, the lecture-content was of very high quality. I really love the way the modelling was explained in the lectures with the related experimental insights.

By ARVIN M

May 17, 2020

a very interesting topic to learn and explore. the course is very well organised and well structured. i would like to make a suggestion, please do explain how the equations were formed rest was an amazing experience.

By Supratim C

Nov 2, 2020

Very well explained with good experimental evidences.

Though basic derivation of equations are not shown. At least should have been mentioned "references".

Overall I am benefitted..........

By didier

Aug 25, 2020

très sympathique, mais attention les explications sur les équations vont vite, et certaines m'ont parus superflue. l'anglais du professeur est bon et le cour bien fait dans son ensemble

By Mohnish W

Sep 12, 2019

Very well structured course. Only 1 place to improve, maybe provide some literature for others to refer to and also the answers to quiz questions.

By Jiaqi Z

Jun 26, 2020

Very useful and step by step to a wide range of the industrial application. Maybe need a little more explain on some solid dynamics equations

By Najjib A G G T

Oct 13, 2020

It would be better if the course has more examples & experiments of the models using for example CFD simulations.

By Sujay S

May 3, 2020

The course is very interesting. Detailed derivations of the governing equations would be much more helpful.

By shardul v s

Jul 8, 2018

A good and course for the fundamentals of FSI. And they taught so much in short duration.

By Tom P M

Jul 31, 2019

I LIKED THE WAY OF SEGREGATING THE PROBLEMS AND THEN UNDERSTANDING COMPLETELY ABOUT IT.

By DEORE M S

Jul 29, 2020

Nice and wonderful course. I learned lots of things related to fluid and solid dynamic

By Egidio A C T

Feb 10, 2020

Spoken English is a little bit difficult to understand sometimes

By Kaushik I V

Apr 23, 2020

FSI on porous structure (filter element) would be really good

By Yugal S

Jul 12, 2020

Thorough derivations of the formulas would have been a plus.

By José H C T

Sep 4, 2020

Great course. Would be even better if it had text material.

By Ajit C B

Nov 14, 2017

nice course, hope there is an advanced follow-up

By Kaushal P

Aug 31, 2020

It was great learning, Thank you!!

By Allu s

Jul 29, 2020

VERY HARD but good enough