Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions by École Polytechnique

4.8
stars
555 ratings
154 reviews

About the Course

What is fluid-solid interactions ? It is what happens when the motions of a fluid and of a solid are somehow coupled. This happens all the time, around you when leaves flutter in the wind, inside you when your heart beats, above you when wings of a plane vibrate, under the sea... The idea behind this MOOC is to give you the basic tools to be able to predict and eventually mitigate things called flutter, galloping, sloshing, vortex-induced vibrations, added mass, to cite a few. We are going to consider any possible domains of applications such as civil engineering, aerospace engineering, nuclear engineering , ocean engineering, biomechanics and even food processing ! This is why we called the course “Fundamentals of Fluid Solid Interactions ”. There are so many phenomena and so many models that we need to work together on the basic mechanisms . If you want to see how fluid-solid interactions work, and be able to use that knowledge, join us ! A first session of the course was run in early 2016, with learners from over 100 countries. It is now available with subtitles, in English and now in Chinese. See the video at http://goo.gl/YKSMnD...

Top reviews

MM
May 30, 2020

Got some knowledge about FSI . It is very much interesting with lots of experimental demonstration and the reason on its effect. Thank you Very much for such a wonderful course

KS
Mar 24, 2019

A fantastic course with great instructors and great examples. I like the comparisons between theory and practical. One of the best courses I've ever taken. Awesome work

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 154 Reviews for Fundamentals of Fluid-Solid Interactions

By Geraldine G C L

Jan 11, 2017

It's very interesting, thanks¡¡

By SOHAM P

Jan 12, 2018

Awesome course, great content.

By mangalagama T M d

Mar 15, 2019

One of the Best Courses Ever!

By GaoXing

Feb 5, 2018

Very clear and absorbing.

By 文刀liu

Oct 22, 2016

very very helpful course!

By Swetang M

Jun 12, 2020

Week 4 Quiz is very hard

By Osama M

Apr 11, 2018

Fantastic, thank you :).

By Syam N S

Apr 24, 2020

Very use full course

By Tahsin G

Jul 4, 2018

Extremely helpful.

By nidhi y

Jun 18, 2020

Happy and excited

By Renzo

Feb 19, 2018

Really well done!

By KRISHNAJA 1 - 1

Aug 29, 2020

excellent course

By Manuel D l R

Apr 28, 2020

Muy interesante!

By AMAL S T T

Apr 23, 2017

EXCELLENT COURSE

By Santiago P P

Jan 9, 2021

Excellent curse

By Josué J S Z

Mar 18, 2019

Muy burn curso

By Pankaj

Dec 4, 2018

best course

By Induja P V

Oct 20, 2020

Excellent

By Adrian L M T

Mar 21, 2019

very good

By Juarez

Jul 3, 2017

excelente

By Rishwanth r

Sep 13, 2020

Good!

By Awdhesh S V 1

Aug 5, 2020

good

By 程铁杰

Mar 15, 2020

cool

By P S

Jan 14, 2021

Although being from a Civil Engineering background, I found the course really intriguing. I really loved how the entire course was structured around analytical understanding of the subject rather than just some other software application based courses, whcih I mostly have come across. While the entire course was spot on, I would love to see an extended version of the course more prominently for civil and structural engineering field, dicussing an entire case study of a real life project (slender bridge or tall tower), which would involve WT testing and CFD (using Best Practice Guidelines), built on the fundamentals of aeroelasticity, studied in this course.

By Edgar A G M

Apr 28, 2020

The course provides basic theoretical tools about fluid-solid interaction theory. It is well explained by Prof. de Langre and his colleagues. Additionally, it contains interesting research reports about the subject. The course requires previous knowledge in differential equations, fluid mechanics and structural mechanics. There are some discussions about practical problems found in engineering; however it will be convenient to include more practical exercises to support the dense theoretical content. In summary it is a good course to take!!