Chevron Left
Back to Food & Beverage Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Food & Beverage Management by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
4,472 ratings

About the Course

Managing a company in the food and beverage industry is a fascinating task. Food and beverage products are so deeply rooted in the culture of most countries that making and selling them is not only a matter of making and selling good and tasty products, but products that nurture people's body, soul, and heart. Given this, it's not difficult to see that the task quickly becomes complex. The objective of this course is twofold: first, we will focus on contemporary challenges that managers and entrepreneurs in food and beverage businesses should be able to face; and second, we will provide models and tools to design and implement appropriate courses of action to satisfy customers and build an advantage over the competition. This course is made up of four modules and an introduction, each exploring one dilemma that food and beverage companies face. You will be presented with a set of video lectures and guest speakers. These lectures combine an accessible introduction to specific topics integrated with interviews of managers and experts that will give precious insights and examples to the participants. To enhance your learning experience with us, we will make a Documentary on the Excellences of the Modena District available for you, which is in a format that we have developed specifically for this course in order to give you the chance to experience first-hand the territory as our on-campus students usually do. Each module is paired with an evaluated quiz and weekly discussion forums to reflect on the variety of the F&B world, its complexity, and the power of the network that we will build together during the course. Successful completion of the quizzes is required for a course certificate as explained in the Grading Policy. Below the guest speakers of the course: Masterchef Italia Sky – Nils Hartmann, Head of Movie Channels at Sky Italia – www.masterchef.sky.it Eataly - Paolo Bongiovanni, Marketing Director Italy – www.eataly.net Berlucchi – Paolo Ziliani, Owner – www.berlucchi.it Joia Restaurant – Alta Cucina Naturale – Pietro Leemann, Owner and Chef – www.joia.it Branca – Nicolò Branca, Owner – www.branca.it Barilla – Giuseppe Morici, President Region Europe – www.barilla.com Proyecto Expo 2015 Chile – Guillermo Ariztia, Chile Pavillon Director – www.expomilan.cl Winery Il Cavallante, Milano – Sergio Morpurgo, Owner Heineken – Floris Cobelens, Marketing Director – www.heineken.com TRDN – Martin Oetting, Managing Director – www.trnd.com GROM – Federico Grom, Owner and Founder – www.grom.it/en Tetra Pak – Matthew Hatton, Director Competitor Intelligence – www.tetrapak.com BioHombre – Matteo Panini, CEO – www.hombre.it Acetaia Maletti – Carmen & Claudio Maletti Cantine Riunite & CIV – Vanni Lusetti, CEO; Francesca Benini, Sales & Marketing Manager; Elena Lottici, Export Manager; Mario Vandi, Brand Manager – www.riunite.it GlemGas – Marco Guerzoni, Program Product Manager – www.glemgas.com Bibendum Catering – LaFranceschetta58 – Sabrina Lazzereschi & Marta Pulini, Owners and Founders – www.bibendumcatering.it , www.franceschetta58.it DISCLAIMER - Since most of the videos are conducted with those whose native language is not English, we have decided to sometimes preserve their more emphatic speech to keep a tighter match between the audio and the subtitles....

Top reviews

SF

Jul 31, 2022

It's not easy, but it shouldn't be. If you go in with the intent to learn with interest in the subject. You will learn a lot. More than I thought I would. I'm a little sad that it is coming to an end.

EC

May 19, 2020

Really enjoyed this course, found it very in-depth and relevant to the food and beverage industry. My one note would be for some of the links in the last 2 weeks to be updated as they no longer work.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 1,204 Reviews for Food & Beverage Management

By Daniel P I

Jun 24, 2016

Muy buen enfoque

By Makarius I K

Dec 17, 2019

very enriching

By Analicia A

Sep 18, 2016

Great content.

By Shince S

Apr 1, 2019

Excellent

By Saif U R

Nov 10, 2020

good

By DN V

Apr 5, 2020

good

By Giuliano C

Jan 10, 2016

Hello, I'm Giuliano from Milan - Italy. This is my first course online. I've got a food-pr Agency. www.GIROIDEA.it – I believe in continuing education. I deal with communication and I provide strategies to entrepreneurs who want to create new business. The fund of F & B is very interesting and long follow it with interest. I take care of the business of two eCommerce sites that sell wine and Parmesan cheese.

By João G F

Jul 7, 2017

It is a course that has a lot of interesting things and perspectives to analyze companies in the food and beverage business. But sometimes I felt a certain lack of depth. I found the interviews very useful during the course. Perhaps increasing the course load helps to become even better.

By Raimundo G

Dec 9, 2019

This course will give you a full perscpective of basic principles of marketing issues on Food and Beverage business. For me interviews with managers and owners and entrepenuers are key point.

Congrats to Bocconi University and SDA Bocconi and professor Troilo

By Marco P

May 4, 2020

A nice course, a good balance among price and contents;

However, I think that the name should be changed in "A marketing approach to F&B Management". Due to this point:

-It do not tackle enough the financial side or the practical side of the matters.

-

By Hugo R

Sep 3, 2017

Good Introduction to Food and Beverage reality. A lot of information focused on Italian reality, mostly. Perfect for beginners without much knowledge and awareness of the different industries involved.

By Elias M

Sep 18, 2017

A lot of good knowledge, good interviews, but lacks application problems, in an essay format, which is lowering the long-term memorizing.

By Santiago M

Apr 1, 2017

Average course, some cool case studies, but overall not amazing and not many business models

By Nicoletta P

Jun 22, 2016

Good course but slow, each video was quite long with the same concept repeated few times.

By Jaya H b

Mar 18, 2024

you can not send certificate free to can u send certificate free

By Paolo G D

Aug 23, 2020

The concept of Food and Beverage distribution or delivery in general is quite simple; we only have two basic functions: first, the production and the second, the distribution. But it does not necessarily mean that the actual and underlying activities in determining how to effectively and efficiently distribute food and beverages products are also simple because these specific functions are a little bit detailed and comprehensive.

In this course, I have learned the different ideas, specific and rational concepts why understanding both your products and services and your customer at the same time is important. By understanding the concepts of value proposition up to the importance of segmentation leads me to the understanding that the Food and Beverage Industry has a much deeper meaning other than the production and distribution of food and beverages.

It is emphasized in this course that a company’s efforts on product development and product knowledge should be parallel on its understanding to customers’ expectations. That the company must meet or even exceed its customers’ expected value for a product with respect to their sacrifices in using or purchasing those products in order for the company to achieve the highest possible rate of customer satisfaction.

With all the concepts and knowledge presented in this course, managers can now revisit their existing strategies and start incorporating new ideas for them to take advantage both their product development capabilities and customer knowledge in order to optimize the full capacity of their food and beverage businesses.

After listening to all the videos included in this course, as well as the additional links and stories attached to each of the modules, I have a different perspective about Food and Beverage Management.

With all the concepts and ideas shared by our facilitator, I now have a much deeper understanding and realization regarding the different facets of food and beverage. Decision making and situational approach will never be the same.

I will have new styles and ways in seeing things from now on. It is also safe that this course had provided me another 180 degree turn of what I know and from where I’m used to be.

By John D

Aug 22, 2023

Completing the online Food & Beverage Management class has been an incredibly enriching journey, thanks to the outstanding course instructor and the seamlessly user-friendly online portal.

I can't begin to express my gratitude for the course instructor. Their mastery of the subject matter is truly commendable. With a knack for presenting intricate concepts in a comprehensible manner, they transformed what could have been a daunting subject into an engaging learning experience. Their passion for food and beverage management was infectious and undoubtedly enhanced my understanding of the field. Not only were they adept at delivering the content, but their responsiveness to questions and their commitment to fostering discussion in the online community elevated the overall learning atmosphere.

The online portal deserves applause for its intuitive design and ease of use. Navigating through the course materials, assignments, and resources was a breeze. The platform's layout was so user-friendly that I never felt overwhelmed, even when delving into more complex topics. Submitting assignments and accessing supplementary materials was seamless, allowing me to focus my energy on absorbing the course content rather than grappling with technical challenges.

What truly impressed me about the online portal was its flexibility. As someone with a busy schedule, I greatly appreciated the ability to learn at my own pace without feeling rushed. The course's modular structure ensured that I could revisit topics as needed, reinforcing my understanding. This adaptability made the learning experience not only convenient but also tailored to my individual needs.

In conclusion, the online Food & Beverage Management class has been a game-changer for me, largely thanks to the exceptional course instructor and the user-friendly online portal. If you're looking for a comprehensive and accessible way to delve into this dynamic field, I wholeheartedly recommend this course. The instructor's dedication and the platform's user-centric approach have undoubtedly made this learning journey memorable and immensely valuable.

By Muhammad E A W

Jun 10, 2023

I am truly amazed by this course! It has exceeded my expectations in terms of the learning objectives, user-friendly language, and the incredible lessons it offers. The virtual study tour felt so realistic that I was fully immersed in the experience. I cannot express enough how impressed I am with this course.

One of the standout features of this course is its well-defined learning objectives. From the very beginning, I knew exactly what I would be gaining from each module. The course provided a comprehensive understanding of food and beverage management, covering various topics such as branding, marketing, distribution, and even exploring global markets. The objectives were clearly stated and served as a roadmap for my learning journey.

The use of easily understandable language throughout the course was another aspect that I truly appreciated. The course materials were presented in a concise and straightforward manner, making complex concepts easier to grasp. The explanations were thorough, ensuring that even students without prior knowledge of the subject could follow along and fully comprehend the content.

One of the most amazing aspects of this course was the virtual study tour. It felt like a real-life experience, allowing me to explore different food and beverage businesses, understand their operations, and witness firsthand the challenges they face. The interactive elements, such as case studies and simulations, added an extra layer of engagement and made the learning process even more enjoyable.

Overall, I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in food and beverage management. The excellent learning objectives, easily understandable language, and the fascinating lessons make it a truly remarkable learning experience. The virtual study tour brings the concepts to life and provides valuable insights into the industry. I am grateful for the opportunity to be a part of this course and I am confident that it will leave a lasting impact on my knowledge and skills in this field.

By Francesco B

May 17, 2024

I am Italian and therefore come into contact with the reality of food & beverage. I believe that nowadays, in addition to dealing with everything that surrounds F&B operations, it is a real challenge to maintain a quality product identity, adequate service and the ability to maintain expenses. Today there is a lot of talk about reducing food waste, reducing environmental waste, such as pollution and waste in general generated by nature, and managing all the costs surrounding a business. I think it is a real challenge to work smoothly without reducing the quality of the image, the food product, the service and therefore the reputation you want to create for the customer. That said, it is not easy, but it shouldn't be. If you enter with the intention to learn and with interest in the subject. You will learn a lot. Many congratulations to Gabriele Troilo Associate Professor Department of Marketing Università L. Bocconi.

By Ebru S

May 16, 2020

I have successfully completed the online course program on Food & Beverage Management authorized by Università Bocconi with an average of 85.4%. Thanks to this course; I developed new marketing skills in this field by understanding the main dilemmas of the food & beverage industry such as; Tradition vs Innovation, Products vs Markets, Local vs. Global & finally Small Vs. Big. I also enjoyed the interviews, the quality of the production and the great locations. Grazie mille to Gabriele Troilo from here; the main instructor of the course for his clear explanations and concrete examples & to all of the guest speakers that he interviewed with, who widened my horizon by sharing their real life experiences within the industry. Finally, I would like to thank to Coursera & Bocconi University for making this excellent course available online.

By Muhammad M R

Mar 31, 2023

I would highly recommend the Food & Beverage Management Course to anyone interested in pursuing a career in the hospitality industry. This comprehensive course covers a wide range of topics, from menu planning and cost control to wine selection and service.

Another aspect of the course that I found particularly helpful was the emphasis on customer service. The instructors stressed the importance of creating a positive dining experience for customers, and provided us with strategies for handling difficult situations and resolving complaints. I feel that the Food & Beverage Management Course was an excellent investment in my career. The skills and knowledge I gained have been invaluable in my work in the hospitality industry, and I would highly recommend this program to anyone looking to pursue a career in this field.

By Clair L R

Jan 24, 2021

Really interesting course with engaging content. A few of the YouTube links didn't work for me. The only other issue I would raise is that some of the English in the quizzes (and in sections of the presentations) seems rather literal in translation from Italian (sorry, but I'm an IT-EN translator by profession so I always notice these things :-) and could be improved with mother-tongue speaker input to make it flow more naturally. The professor is very likeable and knowledgeable with excellent English (he only makes a couple of slip ups in pronunciation and stress on syllables every now and again), but these are minor points. As far as course content goes he is obviously a master of his subject, and I found it relevant and useful.

By Etornam T

Oct 22, 2022

If you have your own food business or are working in a food industry, especially in management role, this course is for you. Prof. Gabriello is great! The way he explains the concepts with passion and deep understanding of the issue will keep you hooked. Lessons learnt in this course are directly and immediately applicable in any food and beverage business. The interviews with key stakeholders are very insightful. The only thing which I think should be improved is that some links to examples of strategies of companies in the past are broken. if they can be replaced, it will make this course even more experiential. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested. Kudos to Prof. Gabriello!

By Ingrid L

Apr 30, 2020

It's a great course for those who like to understand the way marketing in the F&B sector works nowadays. Good combination of presentation (video’s), slides and interviews. Easy to understand.

Professore Gabriele Troilo has a pleasant way of presenting and explains things good and clear. Good examples from F&B. The visual texts in the video’s are great and will help you to focus on the important issues of the presentation. The slide show helps to recaptulate. I did the course for fun within a week, not for my career, during covid-19 lockdown, but learned a lot about an industry which is near to my work. Many thanks to Gabriele Troilo, Bocconi Università and Coursera!

By Ajit M

May 28, 2022

I now factors that play role in the development of the food and beverage industry.

social and economic reasons in the development of food and beverage industry.

Can classify the types of food and beverage operations.

will know the difference of food and beverage operations management.

Explains the management process in the food and beverage operations.

Knows managerial roles.

Can explain the cycle of food and beverage.

Can control purchasing, receiving, and storage process.

Makes the production and cost control.

Makes the revenue control

Can explain sales and marketing operations.

Knows the techniques of advertising and personal selling.

Can do promotion and public relations.