Chevron Left
Back to Food & Beverage Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Food & Beverage Management by Università Bocconi

4.8
stars
3,428 ratings
976 reviews

About the Course

Managing a company in the food and beverage industry is a fascinating task. Food and beverage products are so deeply rooted in the culture of most countries that making and selling them is not only a matter of making and selling good and tasty products, but products that nurture people's body, soul, and heart. Given this, it's not difficult to see that the task quickly becomes complex. The objective of this course is twofold: first, we will focus on contemporary challenges that managers and entrepreneurs in food and beverage businesses should be able to face; and second, we will provide models and tools to design and implement appropriate courses of action to satisfy customers and build an advantage over the competition. This course is made up of four modules and an introduction, each exploring one dilemma that food and beverage companies face. You will be presented with a set of video lectures and guest speakers. These lectures combine an accessible introduction to specific topics integrated with interviews of managers and experts that will give precious insights and examples to the participants. To enhance your learning experience with us, we will make a Documentary on the Excellences of the Modena District available for you, which is in a format that we have developed specifically for this course in order to give you the chance to experience first-hand the territory as our on-campus students usually do. Each module is paired with an evaluated quiz and weekly discussion forums to reflect on the variety of the F&B world, its complexity, and the power of the network that we will build together during the course. Successful completion of the quizzes is required for a course certificate as explained in the Grading Policy. Below the guest speakers of the course: Masterchef Italia Sky – Nils Hartmann, Head of Movie Channels at Sky Italia – www.masterchef.sky.it Eataly - Paolo Bongiovanni, Marketing Director Italy – www.eataly.net Berlucchi – Paolo Ziliani, Owner – www.berlucchi.it Joia Restaurant – Alta Cucina Naturale – Pietro Leemann, Owner and Chef – www.joia.it Branca – Nicolò Branca, Owner – www.branca.it Barilla – Giuseppe Morici, President Region Europe – www.barilla.com Proyecto Expo 2015 Chile – Guillermo Ariztia, Chile Pavillon Director – www.expomilan.cl Winery Il Cavallante, Milano – Sergio Morpurgo, Owner Heineken – Floris Cobelens, Marketing Director – www.heineken.com TRDN – Martin Oetting, Managing Director – www.trnd.com GROM – Federico Grom, Owner and Founder – www.grom.it/en Tetra Pak – Matthew Hatton, Director Competitor Intelligence – www.tetrapak.com BioHombre – Matteo Panini, CEO – www.hombre.it Acetaia Maletti – Carmen & Claudio Maletti Cantine Riunite & CIV – Vanni Lusetti, CEO; Francesca Benini, Sales & Marketing Manager; Elena Lottici, Export Manager; Mario Vandi, Brand Manager – www.riunite.it GlemGas – Marco Guerzoni, Program Product Manager – www.glemgas.com Bibendum Catering – LaFranceschetta58 – Sabrina Lazzereschi & Marta Pulini, Owners and Founders – www.bibendumcatering.it , www.franceschetta58.it DISCLAIMER - Since most of the videos are conducted with those whose native language is not English, we have decided to sometimes preserve their more emphatic speech to keep a tighter match between the audio and the subtitles....

Top reviews

EC
May 19, 2020

Really enjoyed this course, found it very in-depth and relevant to the food and beverage industry. My one note would be for some of the links in the last 2 weeks to be updated as they no longer work.

SL
Jul 27, 2020

Any people who want to become an entreprenuer should definitely do this course. The lectures was explained in a detailed manner and the powerpoint slides are also quite precise and easily understood.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 968 Reviews for Food & Beverage Management

By Analicia A

Sep 18, 2016

Great content.

By Shince S

Apr 1, 2019

Excellent

By Saif U R

Nov 10, 2020

good

By DN V

Apr 5, 2020

good

By Giuliano C

Jan 10, 2016

Hello, I'm Giuliano from Milan - Italy. This is my first course online. I've got a food-pr Agency. www.GIROIDEA.it – I believe in continuing education. I deal with communication and I provide strategies to entrepreneurs who want to create new business. The fund of F & B is very interesting and long follow it with interest. I take care of the business of two eCommerce sites that sell wine and Parmesan cheese.

By João G F

Jul 7, 2017

It is a course that has a lot of interesting things and perspectives to analyze companies in the food and beverage business. But sometimes I felt a certain lack of depth. I found the interviews very useful during the course. Perhaps increasing the course load helps to become even better.

By Raimundo G

Dec 9, 2019

This course will give you a full perscpective of basic principles of marketing issues on Food and Beverage business. For me interviews with managers and owners and entrepenuers are key point.

Congrats to Bocconi University and SDA Bocconi and professor Troilo

By Marco P

May 4, 2020

A nice course, a good balance among price and contents;

However, I think that the name should be changed in "A marketing approach to F&B Management". Due to this point:

-It do not tackle enough the financial side or the practical side of the matters.

-

By Hugo R

Sep 3, 2017

Good Introduction to Food and Beverage reality. A lot of information focused on Italian reality, mostly. Perfect for beginners without much knowledge and awareness of the different industries involved.

By Elias

Sep 18, 2017

A lot of good knowledge, good interviews, but lacks application problems, in an essay format, which is lowering the long-term memorizing.

By Santiago M

Apr 1, 2017

Average course, some cool case studies, but overall not amazing and not many business models

By Nicoletta P

Jun 22, 2016

Good course but slow, each video was quite long with the same concept repeated few times.

By Francesco F

Apr 21, 2020

Extremely theoretical, not a lot of case studies. Recommended for those who do not have sales & marketing background and want to learn more about it. Not very useful for experience professionals already working in this business.

By Paolo G D

Aug 23, 2020

The concept of Food and Beverage distribution or delivery in general is quite simple; we only have two basic functions: first, the production and the second, the distribution. But it does not necessarily mean that the actual and underlying activities in determining how to effectively and efficiently distribute food and beverages products are also simple because these specific functions are a little bit detailed and comprehensive.

In this course, I have learned the different ideas, specific and rational concepts why understanding both your products and services and your customer at the same time is important. By understanding the concepts of value proposition up to the importance of segmentation leads me to the understanding that the Food and Beverage Industry has a much deeper meaning other than the production and distribution of food and beverages.

It is emphasized in this course that a company’s efforts on product development and product knowledge should be parallel on its understanding to customers’ expectations. That the company must meet or even exceed its customers’ expected value for a product with respect to their sacrifices in using or purchasing those products in order for the company to achieve the highest possible rate of customer satisfaction.

With all the concepts and knowledge presented in this course, managers can now revisit their existing strategies and start incorporating new ideas for them to take advantage both their product development capabilities and customer knowledge in order to optimize the full capacity of their food and beverage businesses.

After listening to all the videos included in this course, as well as the additional links and stories attached to each of the modules, I have a different perspective about Food and Beverage Management.

With all the concepts and ideas shared by our facilitator, I now have a much deeper understanding and realization regarding the different facets of food and beverage. Decision making and situational approach will never be the same.

I will have new styles and ways in seeing things from now on. It is also safe that this course had provided me another 180 degree turn of what I know and from where I’m used to be.

By Ebru S

May 16, 2020

I have successfully completed the online course program on Food & Beverage Management authorized by Università Bocconi with an average of 85.4%. Thanks to this course; I developed new marketing skills in this field by understanding the main dilemmas of the food & beverage industry such as; Tradition vs Innovation, Products vs Markets, Local vs. Global & finally Small Vs. Big. I also enjoyed the interviews, the quality of the production and the great locations. Grazie mille to Gabriele Troilo from here; the main instructor of the course for his clear explanations and concrete examples & to all of the guest speakers that he interviewed with, who widened my horizon by sharing their real life experiences within the industry. Finally, I would like to thank to Coursera & Bocconi University for making this excellent course available online.

By Clair L R

Jan 24, 2021

Really interesting course with engaging content. A few of the YouTube links didn't work for me. The only other issue I would raise is that some of the English in the quizzes (and in sections of the presentations) seems rather literal in translation from Italian (sorry, but I'm an IT-EN translator by profession so I always notice these things :-) and could be improved with mother-tongue speaker input to make it flow more naturally. The professor is very likeable and knowledgeable with excellent English (he only makes a couple of slip ups in pronunciation and stress on syllables every now and again), but these are minor points. As far as course content goes he is obviously a master of his subject, and I found it relevant and useful.

By Ingrid L

Apr 30, 2020

It's a great course for those who like to understand the way marketing in the F&B sector works nowadays. Good combination of presentation (video’s), slides and interviews. Easy to understand.

Professore Gabriele Troilo has a pleasant way of presenting and explains things good and clear. Good examples from F&B. The visual texts in the video’s are great and will help you to focus on the important issues of the presentation. The slide show helps to recaptulate. I did the course for fun within a week, not for my career, during covid-19 lockdown, but learned a lot about an industry which is near to my work. Many thanks to Gabriele Troilo, Bocconi Università and Coursera!

By Rosario H G

Jun 11, 2020

I'm so happy to took this course and finished with hight score, I think this course it was make with information and essential subjects that we need and it's easy to understand because not only had sliders to study also the interviews are very important to be clear the meaning of those concepts that explain it. Well, I already just to say, Thank you very much to our profesor Gabriel Triolo and Bocconi University for amazing, useful content that give me an important new knowledge about the whole Food & Beverage World and I love you so much to have this opportunity. Thanks a lot and I hope visit you one day...

By Arsen M

Oct 29, 2020

I worki in F&B industry for last 2 years and I wanted to grow as a professional in this fiels so I decided to find opportunities to master my skills and extend my knoweledge about industry. So, since I successfully completed this course I confidently can say that I learnt lot of things I didn't know before. Hopefully all information and insights I got from this course will help me understand food and beverage world better and give more opportunities to grow.

Special thanks to Professor Gabriele Troilo, wish you best of luck in your career!

By Victor M B

Mar 8, 2021

Curso muy completo, tengo +7 años de experiencia en finanzas/comerciales en Kellogg y PepsiCo, y siempre me he sentido decepcionado por la falta de mentalidad estratégica de muchos de mis compañeros de equipo en areas de mercadeo/comerciales. Creo con este curso se puede alcanzar un muy buen nivel de profesionalismo y pensamiento estratégico en question de horas. Me gustó la elegancia con la que se presentó el volumen de mercado, inmediatamente te pone a pensar en que variables o actividades incurrir para incrementar el consumo.

By Mikol B

May 9, 2020

I would like to thank the Coursera team for approving my financial aid. The same gratitude also goes to Bocconi University and Professor Troilo for carefully planning this course. The syllabus and the video lecture is user friendly, one can really understand the topic. The module is also provided so the learner can print and file it. This course improves my knowledge about food and beverage management.

Kudos to the whole team for crafting this course! I am beyond grateful!

Xoxo

By Micaela E R

Aug 22, 2020

Un curso completo, lleno de estrategias, experiencias, un montón de entrevistas y diferentes puntos de vista de profesionales increíbles, que comparten su conocimiento, sus logros y te abren los ojos a querer crear nuevas empresas y emprender nuevos negocios. Ayudando a tomar decisiones utilizando como base tu producto y tu mercado, en fin curso increíble, del que aprendí muchas cosas y las cuales deseo aplicar Dios mediante en un pequeño emprendimiento. Muchas gracias.

By ivana s

Mar 22, 2021

because I was a public relations background that which is required to establish cooperation with companies engaged in the field of food and beverages and I am also a student who is being send in pursuit of project which incidentally relates to food and beverages. On campus is not described in detail and depth of food and beverages so I find it difficult to send in pursuit of this project, I was recommended by a friend to attend coursera because here helps all

By Ronny D C M

Jul 7, 2021

Me ha gustado mucho el curso, la verdad es que los videos son muy dinámicos y concretos, los resumen de una manera que puede ser de fácil entendimiento para cualquier persona, además, te da la facilidad de encontrar artículos relacionados al tema y que son interesantes, por otra parte, las entrevistas te permiten conocer la opinión de varios chef o gerentes de restaurantes, los cuales han aplicado este sistema y conocen perfectamente el medio. ¡Felicidades!

By Alfio V

Dec 17, 2020

If you want to learn the basics of the Food and Beverage world, I recommend this Bocconi course. Well structured, the prof clearly presents the problems of this sector that many times managers and entrepreneurs fail to grasp and the ways in which it is possible to solve them. I find the interviews with managers and entrepreneurs in the sector really beautiful and stimulating, as they stimulate and give useful advice for entering or improving in this sector.