Chevron Left
Back to Gamification

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Gamification by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
2,264 ratings
723 reviews

About the Course

Gamification is the application of game elements and digital game design techniques to non-game problems, such as business and social impact challenges. This course will teach you the mechanisms of gamification, why it has such tremendous potential, and how to use it effectively. For additional information on the concepts described in the course, you can purchase Professor Werbach's book For the Win: How Game Thinking Can Revolutionize Your Business in print or ebook format in several languages....

Top reviews

BM
Jun 16, 2017

Very structured and interesting class about gamification. Kevin is a very engaging teacher and this course was perfect introduction to gamification. I highly recommend the course. Thank you very much!

FL
May 22, 2019

Excellent course! I found it very useful. It really builds a super strong foundation to think about this User Motivation and UX. The word Gamification is something that some people like and some hate.

Filter by:

701 - 706 of 706 Reviews for Gamification

By João L C C

Dec 5, 2020

Unfortunately the course is aimed at the business side of gamification and nowhere that is stated, therefore, I lost interest. Even the syllabus does not outright state it, so it was a bit misleading. Maybe change the course name to "Gamification for businesses" or "The business side of Gamification".

By Henrique d A

Jan 6, 2016

Good content but a bad course. It doesn't have clear rules and is not consistent. I recommend

enrolling to have access to the videos and the references, but don't face it as a serious course.

By Clemens W

Aug 17, 2016

Progressing a bit slow at times, and too often stating the obvious.

Positives: Good frameworks though, and plenty of examples.

By Linda J D

Apr 9, 2017

The material is extremely out of date.

By sandro r

Jan 11, 2021

Too much delay for work to be graded

By Daryl P

May 10, 2021

As someone who has specialized in Gamification, specifically its use in Higher Education, and produced celebrated learning design content throughout Europe for the last 10 years, I am heavily disappointed in this course.

The videos are pretty dull, to the point were I found it a struggle to force myself through them. The content itself is also dubious and I wouldn't rely on it for information regarding Gamification. I also find it worrying that the lecturer constantly talks about the amazing benefits of Gamification in work, education and a whole tirade of social situations but cant seem to use it in their own course, which feels quite frustrating to work through.

The quizzes are also badly made and worded. If you require a learner to choose one option then only give them one option, using multiple tick boxes is confusing and unhelpful... not challenging.

I've seen Kevin talk on a number of subjects from Blockchain, Bitcoin and Business Ethics, and he is incredibly knowledgeable and informative, but this is a big let down. Much better to do Yu-Kai Chou Octalysis course if you're interested in Gamification.