Chevron Left
Back to Gamification

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Gamification by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
2,295 ratings
735 reviews

About the Course

Gamification is the application of game elements and digital game design techniques to non-game problems, such as business and social impact challenges. This course will teach you the mechanisms of gamification, why it has such tremendous potential, and how to use it effectively. For additional information on the concepts described in the course, you can purchase Professor Werbach's book For the Win: How Game Thinking Can Revolutionize Your Business in print or ebook format in several languages....

Top reviews

FL
May 22, 2019

Excellent course! I found it very useful. It really builds a super strong foundation to think about this User Motivation and UX. The word Gamification is something that some people like and some hate.

BM
Jun 16, 2017

Very structured and interesting class about gamification. Kevin is a very engaging teacher and this course was perfect introduction to gamification. I highly recommend the course. Thank you very much!

Filter by:

701 - 717 of 717 Reviews for Gamification

By amilcar s

Dec 10, 2017

Good!

By David S

Apr 8, 2016

The main critic I can place on this course is its accuracy in time. I clearly felt while taking the class that it was recorded a few years ago and went unchanged since then. The professor mentions examples dating of 2011 for instance and some links were unfortunately not accurate anymore or referring to broken pages (even more important when the link is in the final exam!). This makes the participant’s feelings that the course isn’t really maintained or updated. I would say this is particularly troubling for such a class because even though the basic concepts won’t change, I expect this field of research to advance significantly year over year. We know how fast the digital world is moving and it is the same with games. Mobile games are expanding, MMO games are more and more present and new games designs are appearing. Hence these new developments have to have impacts on the gamification elements. We could think of games structures, designs, elements, etc. I am sure the professor will agrees with me.

This being said, the course was overall good. Content is satisfying with lots of concepts, examples to explain them and real life application. The professor did a great job in making the lectures interesting and easy to follow. Written assignments were a good way to make sure we understand and immediately apply the concepts of the lecture. I liked it.

Thank you for providing this interesting field of research on Coursera and all the best in your research in Gamification!

David

By Ashish K

Nov 3, 2019

The course suffers from the following shortcomings: a. The structure is very loose and you fail at various times to make the connect

b. The concepts are not very tightly wound with each other and keep hanging loose throughout the course. The examples are mostly of almost 6-7 years earlier and fail to give a contemporary touch in terms of business and social work implementations.

The above points apart, the course is good to get an overall hang of the subject.

By TJ T

Aug 31, 2016

The course is "ok" but not great. It has one instructor who teaches 98% of everything, which gets a little old. It also seems like there's not enough material for the length of time - very repetitive. Basically, you learn everything about Gamification in the 1st

By Torria D

Mar 27, 2017

Good information but I was hoping to be able to DO something by the end of the course. After scheming the transcripts, I noticed there was no opportunity to apply the concepts in a guided manner. That's why I didn't complete the course or fully engage.

By Alejandro R

Nov 26, 2017

Focused only in gamification for enterprise. I don't get the framework at all, when doing assigments I rely on Deterding framework and get better grades (A2 100% / A3 100%). Needs to update examples and some questions in quizzes

By Alexander V

Jun 25, 2020

I really liked the content and the structure of the course, but as the material is already almost ten years old the examples are very outdated.

By Jasper H

Apr 28, 2016

Good content with triggering assignments. I find the video's less engaging and recommend reading the transcripts.

By Jessie V

May 22, 2017

Buena información, pero muy tedioso.

By Moaaz A A

Jul 26, 2020

needs some "Gamification"

By Elvin G

Dec 15, 2015

so-so pnly

By M

Sep 21, 2019

For being a course on Gamification, I found this course to be quite boring. The professor has read and written some things about gamification, but he doesn't seem to have any practical experience designing successful games or gamified systems. As a result, much of the advice and knowledge in this course is very basic, something anyone who's spent an hour or so thinking about what makes the games they like great would already know. If you want to learn more about gamification, I'd recommend playing great games or reading articles from actual game designers. You'll learn much more from inference than the direct but very basic teachings in this course. Or, you can also audit this course and skim through the lessons at 2x speed only to pause when you find something that interests you. Other than that, this course isn't worth your money.

By João L C C

Dec 5, 2020

Unfortunately the course is aimed at the business side of gamification and nowhere that is stated, therefore, I lost interest. Even the syllabus does not outright state it, so it was a bit misleading. Maybe change the course name to "Gamification for businesses" or "The business side of Gamification".

By Henrique d A

Jan 6, 2016

Good content but a bad course. It doesn't have clear rules and is not consistent. I recommend

enrolling to have access to the videos and the references, but don't face it as a serious course.

By Clemens W

Aug 17, 2016

Progressing a bit slow at times, and too often stating the obvious.

Positives: Good frameworks though, and plenty of examples.

By Linda J D

Apr 9, 2017

The material is extremely out of date.

By sandro r

Jan 11, 2021

Too much delay for work to be graded