Chevron Left
Back to Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.0
stars
523 ratings

About the Course

Introduces to the commands that you need to manage and analyze directories, files, and large sets of genomic data. This is the fourth course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Top reviews

CW

Aug 5, 2020

There were some typos and confusion about the need not to follow the example code for Exam 4.

However, I thought that the course was good and useful overall.

Thank You!

RL

Nov 27, 2022

I use for decade UNIX command but this course opens my mind into new horizon on UNIX command , data science and I realize learn a lot from this learning time...

Big Thanks

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 148 Reviews for Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

By 刘晨

Apr 19, 2016

It is easy to learn the basic knowledge,And It is very useful

By Pengfei Z

Jul 12, 2020

Highly recommended for beginners. Really like the professor!

By ALEKSEY L

Jul 28, 2020

Very clearly explained. Very well structured content.

By Mohammad Z A

Mar 6, 2017

very information with hands on training exercises.

By Ajay S

Jun 26, 2022

excellent course. for the genomic data science.

By Hemanoel P

Jan 24, 2019

I really love this course. It changed my life

By Yu G

Jan 9, 2022

Very tough course to pass, but I made it!

By Latifa M

May 23, 2017

Simple, straight forward and descriptive

By yaohuan23

Aug 13, 2017

the best course i have ever ever taken.

By Faiez S

Dec 17, 2016

I have learnt so much from this course.

By Edgar L

Apr 13, 2018

Clear, very practical and applicable

By sandeep s

Dec 5, 2016

Excellent course. Thanks :)

By Dahis M

Jan 30, 2019

Detailed and challenging.

By Francia V D L R

Sep 10, 2017

thank you for the course!

By Hewan D

Aug 1, 2020

Thank you very much.

By Aston S

Sep 1, 2020

Great course ..!

By Tianming W

Nov 22, 2019

Great course.

By Forsan A

Jun 3, 2020

it's amazing

By Jacob A

Apr 27, 2017

Great course

By Ming L

Dec 5, 2017

nice design

By Alvaro E U G

Jun 29, 2016

Excellent!

By preeti p

Jul 15, 2020

Amazing

By Ronald F R M

Apr 24, 2020

thanks

By Nate R

Oct 30, 2016

Coming in as a veteran coder of 2 decades, I thought this would be "easy". And, had I completed it using my own C/Python code, it probably would have. However I made the decision to stick with ONLY the command line tools and actually ended up learning a lot more about basic unix tools that I rarely get to use.

Be prepared to knuckle down and REALLY learn a lot about the specific commands and what they provide as there are a ton of them. The instructor goes into a ton of detail on each one and the course is laid out in a nice flow starting with the basics and ending with a very challenging exam at the end that showcases an entire RNA-seq technique.

With a bit more polish, it would be 5 stars, but as it stands there is a bit rough around the edges.

I think this course should be #2 in the specialization as the underlying concepts of RNA-seq and how the tools fit together would have been invaluable while taking the current #2 course on Galaxy. I think that I can now go back and get 100% on the final project armed with the RNA-seq techniques that were not originally covered in my first run through the Galaxy content.

By Deepti R

Nov 6, 2017

Excellent quizzes and exams. Smooth flow of lectures. However, as a beginner I faced a lot of difficulty in installing the required tools. I could complete the course only because the tools were provided as a package with the VM box. I will be handling NGS data for my PhD project, for which I will have to install the latest versions of these tools. Manuals are cryptic. A lot of errors keep cropping up whenever I try to install anything. This course should have taught us that part too. I shall be thankful if you could provide a short course or a step by step write up for the same, else we will not be able to apply what such a good course taught us.