Chevron Left
Back to Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.1
stars
389 ratings
107 reviews

About the Course

Introduces to the commands that you need to manage and analyze directories, files, and large sets of genomic data. This is the fourth course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Top reviews

JJ

Jun 23, 2018

Thank you very much Dr./Professor, Liliana Florea. I've learned a lot. It's a very good opportunity to improve my knowledge. This means a lot to me.

GV

Mar 14, 2016

Very informative course. Because I am new to this, it was at times confusing. But overall, great teaching and great experience. Thank you.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 105 Reviews for Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

By Maximilian K

Jan 05, 2017

Thanks for the great course. IT was just right level of easiness/hardness. While the quizzes were basic, the homework quizzes were hard but not unsolvable. These actually motivated to further spend time on familiarizing with the tools, whch is essential for home usage.

Sometimes the videos had their length when we watched somebody else typing... that could have made better.

By Mary W

Mar 17, 2016

This course covers used of command line tools such as the Tuxedo suite. Just what I was looking for. The subject was well paced and the material covered appropriate. I felt confident at the end of the course that I had almost mastered something valuable. The discussions were not very active and I felt rather isolated, so I'm taking one star off for engagement.

By Keri M

Feb 27, 2019

I learned a ton and feel like I understand the formats of all of the different really well. I will say that week 4 is out of date in that Tophat has been replaced with HISAT and I wasn't able to download the tools needed. It wasn't a waste of time to learn tophat but would have been nice to learn the most recent tools.

By Jitesh D

Mar 30, 2019

Course content is really good! Lot of informational resources. Course delivery was little monotonous though. Exam 4 really made it very difficult due to not so clear instructions, otherwise it was a good course. Learnt lot of command lines tools and mainly to effectively use Linux commands in analysis.

By oyebode j O

Dec 20, 2018

Very fine course. drills students well. would prefer if files used in examples were provided for students before the class. it makes life easier. would also prefer students are advised how to install tools on their laptops. Good course overall and I learnt much

By Benson N M

Dec 21, 2016

Awesome course. The skills taught will cut across not only in genomics but also, in other aspects. The discussion forum was amazing! The mentors and people who were doing the course at the period i did it were very helpful.

By Michael G

Jul 22, 2018

There could be more resources provided and the lecture at the beginning of module 4 should be placed at the beginning of the course. Because the overview of molecular biology serves as background for the entire course.

By 李俊宏

Mar 03, 2019

This course is reasonably difficult. The assignments are quite fulfilling and well organized by virtual machine. I hope the slides could be more detailed because it too simple.

By Sara C

Oct 18, 2016

Th lecturer could be a little more engaging and the materials used during classes, if made available would help following it better, by replicating the examples being shown.

By Leonardo S

Apr 24, 2020

Some explanations are4 not completely clear. A good summary of what every tools does and of which rools should be used to tackle which situation would really beneficial

By Andrew J D

Aug 27, 2018

Very informative course. Only downside is that the example datasets/scripts are not provided (which I tend to find to be useful for learning informatics).

By Gonzalo C S

Feb 06, 2017

It was a useful course. A pity that the instructor makes so many mistakes when speaking, which makes sometimes a bit confusing to follow.

By 邵文

Jun 15, 2018

The speaker's accent and inaccurate subtitles sometimes make it difficult for me to understand.

By Erik K

Mar 04, 2019

Excellent Introduction to Command Line Tools used in High Throughput Sequencing Analysis.

By Vassil D

Jan 09, 2017

More in-depth explanation would be better. Reasonable projects, overall. Well structured.

By Avinash K

May 02, 2020

Good course to improve your command line skills in analyzing genomic data.

By Thiago C S

May 15, 2019

Some questions were way too specific and out of scope from real practice.

By Geoffrey K

Apr 22, 2019

A worthy introduction to the problems facing computational biologists.

By Qianhao L

May 12, 2018

Could have more tools introduced, for instance SNP calling tools.

By Xing Y

Oct 02, 2018

The course is good but not "self-contained"...

By Pir N A

Nov 21, 2019

I like the course too much,

By 普嘉杰

Feb 20, 2017

this is a useful course

By Catherine J

May 19, 2020

Excellent presentation

By Wenting W

Sep 11, 2017

Useful course.

By Kasper T K

Nov 21, 2017

Great course, the instructor does a great job in introducing the students to some off the important sequencing analysis tools. Some of the lectures are although a bit bland, where the instructor reads the entire contents of a slide for format files or program options, this is sometimes quite useless as you can read that yourself by... simply reading the slides.

Forums were not always very useful, sometimes solving error messages were supported by referring to the manual page, instead of actually bothering to look through the code for providing more constructive feedback on what goes wrong in a given example.

Instead, examples should be given which elaborates on the effects on chosen different parameters - like "If you want to make a local alignment, use the bla.bla option. However, beware that when using this, more errors are prone to be assigned...bla.bla.".

For the format, interesting columns in the format files in general are interesting, when looking for e.g. "amount of unique genes" etc.

By doing this, we would be helped better into understanding questions of the quizzes, while also delivering an even deeper understanding of the formats and tools.