Chevron Left
Back to Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.0
stars
523 ratings

About the Course

Introduces to the commands that you need to manage and analyze directories, files, and large sets of genomic data. This is the fourth course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Top reviews

CW

Aug 5, 2020

There were some typos and confusion about the need not to follow the example code for Exam 4.

However, I thought that the course was good and useful overall.

Thank You!

RL

Nov 27, 2022

I use for decade UNIX command but this course opens my mind into new horizon on UNIX command , data science and I realize learn a lot from this learning time...

Big Thanks

Filter by:

126 - 148 of 148 Reviews for Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

By Stefanie M

Feb 9, 2019

A lot of things are not explained in the course

By Yali S

Jun 1, 2020

not enough instruction for exam4

By John C

Jun 12, 2020

A disappointing learning experience - with respect to the lecturer, the nature of the course videos are mostly watching her type commands on screen (often busy with many lines of text), several of which are explained poorly or demonstrated several times too many, and would be better suited to slides which explain the syntax. More careful editing would make for a much clearer narrative. The final exam also includes a section on a command which is not at all covered in the content, I regularly referred to other content including free Youtube videos which I found more useful.

The content would benefit from being edited to better explain why the programs covered are used and how they work, because at this point in time they only really cover specific usage for the scenarios in the course and why the parameters/options are chosen can be unclear.

What the course does right is the useful feedback which is provided on the quizzes and exams, and the setup of the VM which prevents the need for installing specific versions of software.

By Diana K

Jul 6, 2022

Ok. Generally this course is worse compared with previous courses in specialization. I could mention 3 big problems:

1) Files are not provided. We saw how instructor used different files in video, but we could not repeat all steps, because we just had not them. SPOILER (I found files only for 1 week in disccusion forum, many thanks for this guy who provided it)

2) Every tool is not explained properly. In all lections you will see how to use this tool. What is it? Why do we need this tool? You need to find this information by youself. :/

3) You probably will have problems with setting Centos6 if you will take this course. I've had a problem also. I saw that a lot of guys had the same problem in discussion forum five yers ago. They asked and nobody helped yet...

So, to sum up I don't recommend to take this course and pay money for it . But If you want to complete the specialization probably you have no choice.

By Jorge M Z H

Aug 21, 2022

I learned several useful things, but with much difficulty. In the first place, the instructor does not seem very motivated to teach the course, as if she were only doing a job to fulfill and not because of a vocation or because she really wants to. The slides are very non-explanatory and the instructor frequently does things or uses commands without explanation. The course does not have support material that directly helps learning. Also, I don't know advanced English, so I have to put subtitles, these subtitles usually go in a part where the instructor wrote the commands, so it was very difficult to understand what she was doing. So I not recommned the course, but if you want the Genomic Science certificate, you have no option. Anyway, the topics in the course are very important to start using tools for NGS analysis.

By Ji E S

May 20, 2020

The course doesn't provide proper materials, so not easy to follow the lecture. While the instructor writes codes, and I couldn't practice since I don't have any materials to start with. When taking the exam, I need to watch the lectures again to figure out what to do. The tools for the exams are outdated and setting up the VM was very tricky, but there was no mentor or TAs to help me. So I need to read a lot of tread in the forum to get help from other students who figured out solutions and share tips. I would drop it if it's not a part of the specialization course. To future students, if you're taking this course, then read the FORUMS carefully!

By Xue S

Nov 26, 2021

This course covers the basics of using command line to perform DNA and RNA-seq analyses. While it contains a lot of useful information, the instructions are confusing and VM does not run smoothly on all computers. As a beginner, I had to resort to many other learning materials to pass the course.

By Emily L

Oct 28, 2020

I learned command line for analyzing genomic data, but the exam questions were not clear and the videos were not that helpful. program versions used were very one, everything needs updating! I would not recommend this course if your are not looking for the specialization certificate.

By María E P R

Jul 2, 2017

It was a really hard course, I think the focus was not in to learn what specific command lines tools does otherwise was how to use a command line tool . Another problem that I have was that the most of videos don't have transcripts or subtitles, this make it harder than usual.

By David h

Apr 13, 2016

If you want to know the array of options of the various tools in the Tuxedo suite (and don't want to read a manual), then this course is for you. I was hoping that there would be some conceptual grounding in what each tool was useful for, but that was not present at all.

By Javier O

Dec 8, 2021

I recognize that Liliana is good professional and apreciate her work and effort to create this course, but do also adress all the critiques ever made to these modules and material.

By Allan T S

Nov 13, 2016

The video lectures are confusing and quizzes too

By Lawrence C

Apr 27, 2017

This course was extremely time consuming because a great deal of effort was required to translate it into something I could use. I had a great deal of trouble with following the lecture videos. The demonstrations of the tools were typed on a screen that was too small and the command line tools were executed so quickly that it's hard to see where the screen full of data came from. The lecturer had such poor pronunciation that lectures' transcripts show that the voice recognition software could not understand and transcribe a lot of her words. For example, "command" sounded like "comment" and likewise was transcribed that way. More seriously, it was hard to hear the difference between "VCF" and "BCF".

By rached

May 29, 2020

This course needs a profound review and restructuration. Many concepts are used before they are introduced. A lot of hesitation in the presentation that makes it very hard to follow and makes the text transcript wrong. More illustration and elements of context would help better than wasting time watching commands being entered in a terminal without knowing the purpose. Very low reactivity on the forums (some questions are there with no answer since 2016). Finishing this course took more time than all the others in the module which is very frustrating since it is a requirement to get the certificate. Urgent review is needed.

By David B C

Apr 26, 2020

Dr. Florea is a good teacher. Also the material is very interesting. However I rate this course with only one star for the following reason: unless in march/april 2020 there's is no teacher of the University of John Hopkins in the discussion forum. Therefore, it's impossible to ask any doubts/motivation issues to go further to the lecture team. This I found very disappointing for the institution that John Hopkins represents. I understand that Dr. Florea cannot have time to dedicate to Coursera forum but someone else need to offer a feedback for all the students enrolled in your course and payed to follow your course.

By Kaichun X

Mar 15, 2020

Very bad course, this class did not provide any example file in the lecture the instructor used to demonstrate. NO one from the instructor teams answer discussion forums etc. The script for the video is also awful without any grammar and spelling check. A lot of tools can not be used now. So I need to find a new way myself to solve exam questions. This is really the worst course I have every taken in coursera and it is included in such a good specialization course series. Really hope JHU can re-consider replacing this course with another better class

By ALEJANDRO M P

Nov 14, 2020

A very difficult course in all aspects. The first week was acceptable, but as it moves forward the level of distress and the lack of understanding raises considerably. In one word = disappointed.

By Gamal A

Dec 19, 2022

I have issues with VirtualBox. I was not able to install CENTOS on my computer using VMBox 7.0. The course need to integrate normal Unix environments from macs and PC.

By Dr. L H

Oct 25, 2022

The course does not teach concepts. it just gives information on command line tool options (reading from the man pages of the programs) and file formats.

By Kelly J A M

Sep 8, 2020

This is the worst course that I've been taken.

By Silpa S

Feb 11, 2016

Very bad or non-existent support

By Pu Y

May 25, 2017

need to be more vivid!