Chevron Left
Back to Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.1
stars
483 ratings
136 reviews

About the Course

Introduces to the commands that you need to manage and analyze directories, files, and large sets of genomic data. This is the fourth course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Top reviews

CW
Aug 5, 2020

There were some typos and confusion about the need not to follow the example code for Exam 4.\n\nHowever, I thought that the course was good and useful overall.\n\nThank You!

GG
May 10, 2017

Great course. The last exam is a little bit tricky, specially when some commands are large and confusing. But with the help of forums, you can still find the right answers.

Filter by:

126 - 134 of 134 Reviews for Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

By David B C

Apr 26, 2020

Dr. Florea is a good teacher. Also the material is very interesting. However I rate this course with only one star for the following reason: unless in march/april 2020 there's is no teacher of the University of John Hopkins in the discussion forum. Therefore, it's impossible to ask any doubts/motivation issues to go further to the lecture team. This I found very disappointing for the institution that John Hopkins represents. I understand that Dr. Florea cannot have time to dedicate to Coursera forum but someone else need to offer a feedback for all the students enrolled in your course and payed to follow your course.

By Ratatosk

Jul 4, 2021

This course is probably the worst course I have taken so far. There are no exercises to help you learn the code needed, just the lecturer reading the code. The code is shown on the screen, but is too small to read. There are endless boring lectures on file types but no real practice with them. If you arent running a unix machine (and even if you are) you will need to run a virtual linux box on your computer for this course, which is rather temperamental. The tools being taught are outdated. There is no help on the forums, the last post from a moderator, let alone staff, was several years ago.

By Kaichun X

Mar 15, 2020

Very bad course, this class did not provide any example file in the lecture the instructor used to demonstrate. NO one from the instructor teams answer discussion forums etc. The script for the video is also awful without any grammar and spelling check. A lot of tools can not be used now. So I need to find a new way myself to solve exam questions. This is really the worst course I have every taken in coursera and it is included in such a good specialization course series. Really hope JHU can re-consider replacing this course with another better class

By Makragić A

Feb 20, 2017

This is the worst course I've ever listened, and I've listened my fair share of online courses! Do this course ONLY if you want to complete whole specialization!

Professor is simply awful, English is not her native language obviously, but even that is not the problem, she simply speaks sentences that doesn't make sense at all! And she obviously doesn't have computer science background, if she does then she is even worse then I thought.

By M C

Dec 27, 2020

Terrible resources and planning! Several answers to quizzes/tests need to be changed and Coursera or JHU have neglected this course and not updated the errors. Several changes have been noted 4 or more years ago and still no updates. I have tried contacting Coursera and no one seems to care!

By ALEJANDRO M P

Nov 14, 2020

A very difficult course in all aspects. The first week was acceptable, but as it moves forward the level of distress and the lack of understanding raises considerably. In one word = disappointed.

By Kelly J Á M

Sep 8, 2020

This is the worst course that I've been taken.

By Silpa S

Feb 11, 2016

Very bad or non-existent support

By Pu Y

May 25, 2017

need to be more vivid!