Chevron Left
Back to Using Git for Distributed Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Using Git for Distributed Development by The Linux Foundation

4.5
80 ratings
10 reviews

About the Course

Course 4 focuses on using git for open source software distributed development. Git is a revision control system which arose out of the Linux kernel development community. Git was designed to help developers spread across the globe working on complicated projects coordinate their work in a rational way and keep track of everything they were doing. Overtime, Git has grown to be used by millions of projects today. This course gives you the opportunity to learn how to use git efficiently and make contributions in a relatively short amount of time. It will cover: How to install git How to initialize a repository How to make changes in a repository How to make changes in repositories available to others How to acquire changes made by other individuals How to find errors in your work and go back to earlier states of yoru projects How to make commits, diffs, merges, rebases. The course will help you get the skills to have a good understanding on how to use git. You will have a good knowledge about git workflows, identifying problems in your workflows, and finding solutions to solve these problems....

Top reviews

MA

May 14, 2019

Simple and easy explanation of the concept along with basic git commands. Best for beginners.

SS

Aug 22, 2019

It Was amazing experience to complete the specialization.

Filter by:

1 - 10 of 10 Reviews for Using Git for Distributed Development

By Mahima A

May 14, 2019

Simple and easy explanation of the concept along with basic git commands. Best for beginners.

By yiding y

Dec 05, 2019

I have been using git in my current work for revision control but I didn't have a chance to systematically learn it and this is the reason I took the course.

Pro: This course gave me an overview of essential parts of using git even though I need to dive into each part more than the course's material. I like this type way in learning.

Cons: 1. For a beginner who didn't use any source control tool, I don't feel this is a good course to learn since there are very less practical examples. I feel the author assume you know or at least used other revision control tool. You would feel still don't know how to use it even though can pass all the quiz

2. Much more reading than demonstration in the course. Also the content in the reading is not well organized in some sections. Easily to lose the logic why this shown here. I usually need to search for other material after looking through the reading session.

By Sidra

Aug 22, 2019

It Was amazing experience to complete the specialization.

By Jorge S

Oct 31, 2019

Very complete course of git.

By Raghu K V

Jan 28, 2019

Good course.

By ELINGUI P U

Jan 06, 2019

Great course, happy to learn about Gerrit!

By Sourabha G

Dec 05, 2019

Very informative course !

By Raimon R

Aug 11, 2019

Missed maybe some practical examples to follow-up during the course. With a dummy repository just for the course so students can play with it.

By Cesar C

Dec 28, 2018

Nice training!. It provides the fundamental concepts for developing with git. Maybe I missed some mentions (or even labs), which popular systems using git, such as github or even gitlab, where simple collaboration workflows may be illustrated easily.

By John O O

Feb 24, 2019

Don't like this course! A lot of text... :(