Chevron Left
Back to Understanding and Strengthening Health Systems

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding and Strengthening Health Systems by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
323 ratings

About the Course

Welcome to our course on Understanding and Strengthening Health Systems for Global Health. During the course we will provide you with an overview of the main elements or building blocks of a health system based on the World Health Organization’s guidance. You will have the opportunity to explore four main areas of health systems in global health with particular reference to low and middle income countries. The first area focuses on understanding health service organizations, the challenges. Our second module looks at WHO’s six major building blocks or health systems components with particular reference to primary health care and the need for community participation in planning, delivery and assessment of these systems components. in our third module we examine the specific systems component of human resource development and capacity building. The fourth area consists of health policy making and advocacy with stakeholders. This course is geared toward learners who are already involved in managing health and development programs on the ground in low and middle income countries or who are preparing for such a management role. The main lectures will span a four-week period with approximately 2-4 hours of viewing learning materials per week. We have one peer graded essay wherein you will use skills in ‘organizational’ diagnosis to better understand a challenge in an organization where you are or have worked. There are also quizzes. We hope you will engage with your fellow learners in discussion forums to learn from each other....

Top reviews

MO

Invalid date

A very useful and practical course. It delivers practical examples in real life situations.

H

Invalid date

Very useful information for understanding health care services structure and operations

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 90 Reviews for Understanding and Strengthening Health Systems

By Dimitris K

Dec 22, 2020

Thank you for the education

By Allison G

Mar 16, 2019

super helpful and relevant

By pragna m

Aug 2, 2018

Learnt a lot. Thank you

By Angel O P

May 31, 2023

excelent course!!!!!

By Nayeli M C

May 20, 2020

Excelent Course!!!!

By Pablo H A V M

Dec 9, 2019

Highly recommended.

By Elkan R

Jun 17, 2020

Great experience

By Priya p

Aug 15, 2022

best ever class

By Tran N

Jun 9, 2022

great course!

By Eduardo E

Dec 11, 2018

magnific!!!

By Tommy G

Oct 4, 2018

Excellent!

By Silvia R U R

Sep 5, 2023

excelente

By Peace A

Jul 15, 2022

educative

By Victoria L

Nov 30, 2019

excellent

By Asibul I A

Sep 30, 2019

Very good

By Abdul H

Aug 13, 2018

Great

By Pranav A

Nov 7, 2019

.

By Gianfranco M

Feb 11, 2021

Online learning can be really informative and useful too, and sometimes it might just be better than many face to face learning events: I had to pass multiple peer reviews, quizzes and interactions with other professionals in order to obtain the degree. Some of the case studies were a little bit old (like 20 years old); I personally prefer to have both the slides and the face of the teacher, while here you have only the slides and the voice. The course provides useful framework to approach many aspects of public health and primary health care.

By RAJ S

Apr 21, 2020

This course is well-structured and delivers the desired learning outcomes. I applaud the professor's efforts to include eclectic themes materializing as a holistic course to understand the health system with a pinch of the vitality of strengthening them. I hope to add value to ikigaiHealth.org with the insights gained through this course and the specialization. You can connect with me at https://www.linkedin.com/in/raj-urvish-shah-8a8944146/

By Nifemi O

Apr 4, 2020

Thank you for a wonderful learning experience. It was worth it.

The only thing I seem to have an issue with is the peer grading process where you sometimes have to wait for days before you are graded by your fellow course mates.

I don't know if this can be looked into and modified. Thank you!

By James D

Apr 2, 2021

Good survey of topic, but quizzes and assessments should be improved. The first quiz had typos and misspelled words. I had to search-out peer assignments to review through the discussion forums, and certain of those who reviewed my assignment did not provide feedback.

By María P F V

Aug 16, 2019

Classes were always interesting. However, they could include more videos and interactive participation. More analysis of real cases.

Also there was a big issue on week 2 and 3 with impaired audio and video and it was very difficult to complete those weeks.

By Bernardita B

Sep 24, 2021

Aunque la parte teórica está bien desarrollada está demadiado enfocado a la situación de Africa. Habría deseado una vixión más amplia sobre la realidad de otros continentes que tambíén enfrentan serios problemas en materia de agención primaria de salud

By Mary D

Feb 27, 2020

Informative and well curated. The information is extremely helpful but I do feel that relying so much on previous case studies or programs puts people at a disadvantage if they are not familiar with those studies/programs.

By Ekundayo A A

Jan 22, 2019

Very excellent course, comprehensive and easy to follow. I am just not a big fan of the peer-reviewed assignment being compulsory.

Thank you, Madam Brieger for your work. Thank you John Hopkins and Coursera