Chevron Left
Back to How to Create Video for Online Courses

Learner Reviews & Feedback for How to Create Video for Online Courses by The University of Edinburgh

4.7
stars
97 ratings

About the Course

Increasingly, as education pivots online, educators are looking to filmmaking as a way of creating new and exciting content. On this two-week course from the University of Edinburgh, you’ll learn how to turn your mobile phone into a full-featured video production suite to create effective and engaging online course videos and media. Develop the skills to script, storyboard, and film your videos. To create engaging videos that complement your online learning materials while also making the best use of time, equipment, and cost, you need to plan your content and filming schedule effectively. You’ll start this course by looking at the pre-production process, including writing a script and creating a storyboard. Through these steps, you can make sure that you’re using the right shots while addressing your aims and refining your message. Then, you’ll move on to production, learning how to set up your equipment and capture different shot types through a range of practical activities. Dive into post-production to prepare and edit your footage. During the second week of this course, you’ll explore the post-production process, from preparing your footage to basic editing techniques. Using free editing software that’s readily available, you’ll gain practical tips to get the most from your post-production. Explore the legalities around accessibility and copyright for your online learning materials. Making online learning materials accessible is actually a legal requirement, and best practice for offering education opportunities to as broad a range of learning needs as possible. This course will guide you through the importance of captions and transcripts, as well as how to use and correctly attribute third-party content and open educational resources....

Top reviews

K

Feb 3, 2024

This course is a fantastic starting point for new entrants into video editing. The facilitators are clear, and the concepts taught are well explained. Just the right approach to a technical course.

GW

May 12, 2023

This was great basic course. I have not done any video work before so this was fantastic to get an idea of what is needed and some of the vocabulary for starting to make videos for courses.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 42 Reviews for How to Create Video for Online Courses

By Juni A P

Jun 7, 2023

It's concise. However, it would be much better if there is also adopt project approach where the course participants will be guided step by step to produce a video.

By Joshua O

Nov 1, 2023

It was really an amazing course tolearn about creating videos, equipment needed etc. I was even surprised that they taught about the use of open licence for your videos. Thank you to the amazing team behind this course.

By Khamis O O

Feb 4, 2024

This course is a fantastic starting point for new entrants into video editing. The facilitators are clear, and the concepts taught are well explained. Just the right approach to a technical course.

By Greg W

May 13, 2023

This was great basic course. I have not done any video work before so this was fantastic to get an idea of what is needed and some of the vocabulary for starting to make videos for courses.

By Arslan A

Feb 12, 2024

This course is very helpful for me. Now I have become a good videos provider of online coures. This will help me in making great videos to serve other.

By SAKIE M

Mar 10, 2023

This course is one of my favourite short/free courses! It hit all the key and fundamental points of creating the media production technique. Thank you.

By Dy J A

Aug 2, 2023

It was great learning new things and sharing experience. I'm thankful that my financial aid is approved. Thank you so much for having me.

By Naree J

Jul 6, 2023

Excellent course on the topic. It is very concise and to the point. The practical examples were really helpful.

By Kashif

Jul 22, 2023

such a wonderful short course that covers all the necessary stuff to get started with video creation.

By Ignatenko N

Jun 7, 2023

I liked this course, it explains a lot of what you need if you are just starting to make videos.

By Hưng T V

Jul 9, 2023

This course give a lot of useful hints for preparing a good video for amateur people.

By Dr. U M

Feb 19, 2023

Excellent course of its kind. It is very much needed in underdeveloped countries.

By Augustine J S (

Feb 20, 2023

Very excellent starter course. Interactive and nightly adaptable.

By Nuuh M A

Oct 1, 2023

It was an insightful journey with lot experience learned.

By Alex E

Dec 18, 2023

Excellent course outline, i have ever come across...

By Qomar R

Apr 1, 2024

Sangat membantu saya dalam menjalankan tugas saya

By JV V

Feb 12, 2024

The lessons are very straightforward and helpful.

By Shakiru O A

Jul 1, 2023

I love the course and I benefited a lot from it.

By Omar S

Jun 29, 2023

It was an amazing Course. It helped me a lot.

By Kristian F

Jun 24, 2023

very useful for a begginer. i learned a lot

By Oluwatimilehin A O

Apr 20, 2023

It's was a lovely learning experience....

By Loga I

Aug 31, 2023

It was very helpful for all of us.

By Wengie G

Jan 15, 2024

Thank you. I learned a lot

By Ari R

Apr 7, 2023

Helpful course, i like it

By BILAL A

Aug 4, 2023

Outstanding experience.