Chevron Left
Back to Image Segmentation, Filtering, and Region Analysis

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Image Segmentation, Filtering, and Region Analysis by MathWorks

4.8
stars
17 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will build on the skills learned in Introduction to Image Processing to work through common complications such as noise. You’ll use spatial filters to deal with different types of artifacts. You’ll learn new approaches to segmentation such as edge detection and clustering. You’ll also analyze regions of interest and calculate properties such as size, orientation, and location. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to separate and analyze regions in your own images. You’ll apply your skills to segment an MRI image of a brain to separate different tissues. You will use MATLAB throughout this course. MATLAB is the go-to choice for millions of people working in engineering and science, and provides the capabilities you need to accomplish your image processing tasks. You will be provided with free access to MATLAB for the duration of the course to complete your work. To be successful in this course you should have a background in basic math and some exposure to MATLAB. If you want to familiarize yourself with MATLAB check out the free, two-hour MATLAB Onramp. Experience with image processing is not required....

Top reviews

SK

Oct 28, 2022

Great course, I thoroughly enjoyed the course, even though bit struggled in final assignments. THANK YOU coursera and mathworks

RH

Jun 7, 2022

a very good introduction to image processing using MATLAB and its in built image processing and computer vision toolbox.

Filter by:

1 - 7 of 7 Reviews for Image Segmentation, Filtering, and Region Analysis

By Christopher B

Jul 12, 2022

(Note I am posting this review after each course since I am unable to post an overall review for the specialization)

Hi,

I recently completed this course as part of the 3 week specialization "Image Processing for Science and Engineering". I think the Mathworks team really did a great job of walking a student step by step from initial concepts into direct applications. I think many courses I have taken (for example for AI Computer Vision) can be overly theory heavy and can miss making the proper connection into doing something useful. Here, with all of the courses, they made a great overview of the software technology and apps that are available in MATLAB and gave great examples for how to quickly utilize them. MATLAB had many tools available that do a lot of the heavy lifting and function generation for you, so you can start attacking problems right away. I also thought the challenge level was appropriate. Some of the final projects are involved, but if you are doing the training properly you won't have much issue. The course developers were very responsive in offering advice if I got stuck. If you are doing anything that requires you to process/alter large blocks of photos (or videos) I strongly recommend you check these courses out.

By Tsegaye G A

Aug 23, 2022

Great Course, I highly recommend the course to understand the power of matlab with image analysis because the teachers are both pragmatic and insightful, the exercises/tests/quizzes are engaging, and overall it's fun to study an online matlab image segmentation course with Coursera

By subbu k

Oct 29, 2022

Great course, I thoroughly enjoyed the course, even though bit struggled in final assignments. THANK YOU coursera and mathworks

By Hoashalarajh R

Jun 8, 2022

a very good introduction to image processing using MATLAB and its in built image processing and computer vision toolbox.

By Zejd I

Jan 30, 2023

Short but handy course. My advice is to code along and understand every used function. Final project is great

By ALI B

Jan 13, 2023

thank you

By Susan S

Oct 23, 2022

The assignment and project instruction is not very clear