Chevron Left
Back to Infectious Disease Transmission Models for Decision-Makers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Infectious Disease Transmission Models for Decision-Makers by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
74 ratings

About the Course

During the COVID-19 pandemic, both the promise and perils of using infectious disease transmission models to make public health policy decisions became clearer than ever. Optimal use of modeled output requires that public health policy makers be informed consumers of models, that they understand the strengths and limitations of possible approaches, and they know the right questions to ask about the vulnerabilities of the model results. This course aims to provide anyone who makes decisions about public health policies and programs with a clear understanding of how infectious disease transmission models work, the various types and functions, and how they can be appropriately used to make decisions. There is no requirement that students have any prior background in infectious disease models and the course does not include any equations. Anyone with a basic background in public health and infectious diseases with an interest in learning more about infectious disease models will benefit from this course. In this course, participants will review the basics of infectious disease transmission models, including comparisons to other types of predictions used in daily life and an overview of the key components of a model and modeling structure. Next, participants will delve into the types of infectious disease models: forecasting, inferential, and theoretical models. Then, participants will learn about assessing whether a model is useful, reasonable and relevant, as well as the vulnerabilities of these models. These concepts will be applied to case studies of the Ebola outbreak in West Africa from 2014-2016 and the COVID-19 pandemic. The course will be rounded out with a review of how models inform policy decisions, including major sources of uncertainty for decision making. Learners who complete this course will have a broad view of infectious disease transmission models, how to assess the usefulness of a given model, and how these models inform policy decisions. Who should take this course? -Public health policy makers -Anyone interested in learning about how infectious disease transmission models can guide public health policy The development of this training was funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s Center for Forecasting and Outbreak Analytics. We are grateful to Coursera for waiving enrollment fees through 2025....

Top reviews

SK

Aug 8, 2022

As a risk communications practitoner, I highly recommend this refresher course to my colleagues. Thanks JHU and Coursera for making available to the public. My appreciation.

VW

Aug 13, 2022

I truly liked taking this course. I really learned a lot about Infectious Disease Transmission Models and so much more. This course was very interesting.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 28 Reviews for Infectious Disease Transmission Models for Decision-Makers

By John H

Aug 8, 2022

I really enjoyed this course and I learned a lot. It was well organized and the material was well presented. I'd recommend to additions to the course. 1. Provide a brief discussion of how the various model structures (mechanistic, statistical, etc) intersect with the types of models (forecasting, inferential, etc). I found the presentation of these two different taxonomies without any discussion of how they related to each other to be confusing. 2. In the final section there were two occasions where the graphics presented would have benefited from more discussion. First was in the ebola discussion. It would have been useful to get more detail on what caused the projected incidence of ebola to be so much higher than the actual incidence. Second, I needed more explanation of the set of graphs showing the best population to target for vaccine to reduce covid-19 infections. I would have liked pointers to the actual lines in the graphs being referenced in the discussion. But all in all, a great course.

By Nathan F

Aug 10, 2022

Great overview of infectious disease modeling key concepts, pitfalls, and their appropriate use for public health intervention. The course is effective in conveying concepts clearly and efficiently and the examples are relatable examples and illustrate the concepts nicely.

By Konstantina D

Aug 13, 2022

Thanks to Coursera & John Hopkins University for this Course-

An excellent Review of infectious disease transmission models, how to assess the usefulness of a given model, and how these models inform policy decisions.

By Texca

Aug 14, 2022

​was a really great course, to the persons to work in epidemiology survillance, and the maker desisions, and reaserchers, compleat and excelent desing, congrats and il´l waiting for new courses

By Sonny K

Aug 9, 2022

A​s a risk communications practitoner, I highly recommend this refresher course to my colleagues. Thanks JHU and Coursera for making available to the public. My appreciation.

By Hajime S

Aug 14, 2022

I was able to learn the fundamentals of epidemiology in a systematic way. I am surprised myself that I was able to pass the final exam on the second attempt.

By Veronica W

Aug 14, 2022

I truly liked taking this course. I really learned a lot about Infectious Disease Transmission Models and so much more. This course was very interesting.

By BANGURA M S

Aug 9, 2022

I'm so estastic to see this course on my mail this morning and able to complete it today. The course is timely for me in my current facility.

By Crystal B O

Aug 15, 2022

Professor Emily Gurly does a great job outlining the key elements to understand models of infectious disease.

By Sundar R

Aug 16, 2022

Excellent course for beginners in Health ..... Excellent Materials and explanations ..... Thanks to all....

By Bethany B

Aug 16, 2022

Great examples, like the small bites of information followed with practice quizes.

By Amanda R

Aug 13, 2022

Very Informative and able to use to inform my work. Thank you!

By Whsyeena F K

Aug 6, 2022

The courses have been great and very informative. Thank You.

By A L

Aug 13, 2022

The course is very informative and interesting. Thanks.

By khurram a

Aug 8, 2022

Excellent Course and failitators were also very good.

By Sidra k

Aug 14, 2022

very informative course.

By Anees L

Aug 11, 2022

Informational Content

By Liza

Aug 8, 2022

EXCELLENT! Thank you!

By Julia M

Aug 5, 2022

muy buen curso

By JOSEPH A

Aug 12, 2022

Great course

By Juan C G

Aug 5, 2022

muyMuy bueno

By Takahide M

Aug 14, 2022

very hard.

By Peerless A V E d P R

Aug 10, 2022

thank you

By Jimmy J R L

Aug 8, 2022

cool

By Dassaëve B

Aug 6, 2022

Thank You Johns Hopkins for this Great Opportunity to learn something new.