Chevron Left
Back to Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course)

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course) by Michigan State University

4.7
stars
684 ratings
220 reviews

About the Course

In this project-centered course*, you will create a content-rich infographic on a topic of your choice using Adobe Illustrator (which you can download for a free, 30-day trial). You might choose to create a visual representation of data from the world of sports, entertainment, politics, or science, to explain a business trend or environmental issue, or even to present a theme or development from your personal life. Your finished infographic will engage your target audience and convey information clearly through effective use of design elements such as typography, color, and structure. Whether you’re a graphic designer, a writer or the intern in the department, you’ll learn: • what an infographic is and what makes a good one • how to work within your limits • how to work with a team (if you have one) • why infographics are effective • techniques for spotting data in stories • six valuable steps for planning an effective infographic • how to use and make some of the building blocks of infographics: maps, charts and flow charts • ways data can be visualized to clarify it and give it meaning • how to effectively design a good infographic by effectively using elements like type, color and an underlying grid structure • some free or cheap, online tools for making various kinds of infographics As you work on your project, you’ll learn more about why infographics are effective, what makes a good infographic, and how to plan and design an infographic for maximum impact. You’ll explore various approaches to data visualization, and you’ll practice creating visualizations like maps, charts, flow charts, and simple drawings in your free version of Adobe Illustrator. Please note that if you are new to learning graphics software, making these graphics could take much longer than estimated as you learn and grow. What you’ll need to get started: This project-based course is aimed at anyone interested in understanding, designing, and using infographics - from students and hobbyists to professional graphic designers. We’ll use Adobe Illustrator for some components of the project. If you don’t have access to the full version of Illustrator,you can download a free version at www.Adobe.com/Illustrator. If the free 30-day trial runs out, you can "purchase" it for a month for about $20. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project centered courses are designed specifically to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of like-minded learners providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share. When you enroll in certain courses, you’ll be asked to pay a small fee to share your work with others for peer review....

Top reviews

RV

Oct 25, 2017

Really good! Karl Gude is great and knows how to explain in a clear way. Very useful course if you want to practice your Adobe Illustrator skills, and end up with projects to add on your portfolio.

CS

Jun 08, 2017

Wonderful and intuitive course, great performer. I recommend this course to everybody who wishes to immerse in the world infographics and to receive feedback on his or her progress in design.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 218 Reviews for Design and Make Infographics (Project-Centered Course)

By Lorenzo A

Jun 21, 2016

Great course and great teacher. The lectures are quick, easy to understand but nevertheless interesting. The time schedule is tough, but you can easily switch to the next session to have more time. The only aspect that I would change is the technical level of (some of) the lectures: sometimes they are even too easy, and a lot of time is used to explain very basic stuff. Maybe some 'optional' lectures might be added on

By Caroline M

Apr 26, 2018

This course is well-taught and nicely paced. However, it is at an odd level - I already have a basic knowledge of Adobe Illustrator and found it too easy but I think a beginner would not be able to follow the instructions.

You do end up with great Illustrator skills and some rules for laying out infographics. It helps if you have a subject in mind that you want to cover.

By Deleted A

Sep 30, 2016

It's a very instructive course. Within 6 days, I turned from not knowing anything about Adobe Illustrator to become very fond of it.

One caveat, though: Adobe Illustrator CC free license only allows you a 7-day of free use (not 1 month as mentioned in the lecture), so you'd better be able to do all the projects within those 7 days if you want to use it for free.

By Mercedes d R P C

Apr 17, 2018

Un curso genial, donde he aprendido bastantes técnicas dentro de illustrator y cómo recolectar datos de manera gráfica. Sin duda un curso esencial para aquellos que nos dedicamos al diseño. Creo que las correcciones de los compañeros deberían ser más objetivas. Por lo demás un 10.

By Milova S S

May 30, 2018

The course and the trainer is very good and fully explanable.

One feedback for the last assignment is regarding the peer graded assignment where I felt that peers are grade assignment only based on the fixed parameters and hence once creativity gets hindered.

By Rakibul H

Aug 27, 2018

This is a good course but one or more links are not working. I think the instructor has a very friendly tone to deliver his speech. I was expecting more practical sessions and tools coverage. Overall this is a good course to start the infographic.

By sujatha r

Jun 26, 2020

I really enjoyed doing this course. I learned something new which I can apply throughout my career. The Professor, Karl Gude guided very well and organized the course in a simple way that everyone could understand. Thank you.

By Gyula W

Jan 30, 2018

Good course but some videos are really outdated, they require the use of expensive software and the grading system is very slow.

Other then these it was useful and I learned a lot about infographics.

By mehak v

Feb 27, 2016

An absolutely amazing experience and a good learning. Karl Gude has been a good facilitator and a very good expert in sharing his experience may it be practical or knowledge sharing.

By Vijayarangan L

Oct 18, 2018

Very useful course for anyone who is intetetsed in creating info graphic, Graphic Designer, Marketing Manager, Content Creator, Trainer and Manager.

By Olga L

Jun 27, 2018

Very interesting content, great tutor, nice to hear and learn from him! I only used the free part, but still this was valuable for me

By Hazel A Z G

Jul 07, 2020

As a beginner in making infographics, this course helped me a lot and provided additional knowledge in making infographics.

By Cian O

Nov 21, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable and interesting course, with clear instructional videos and materials. Highly recommended.

By Hector D H E

Mar 25, 2016

Exellent course. I rearned a lot about infographics and now I'm doing my own infographics. Thanks

By Fatih Y

Apr 09, 2020

Could have been better if more lectures were uploaded. Especially the last week.

By Mukta S

Jun 07, 2017

Very nicely explained with relevant examples and easy to understand language.

By dwilaras a

Jun 02, 2020

I think better if Karl or other instructors also review our project

By Anna C

May 06, 2017

Good course. To little support in relation to using the software.

By Kareem J S

Aug 31, 2019

Great Course. however, the content should be more rich

By Mariana V

Dec 26, 2016

very practical and vocational course. I reccomend it!

By Katarzyna

May 28, 2016

Good course, explaining basics on infographic.

By Dara G

Jan 21, 2019

Great course! Learned lots of new things.

By Nour H

Feb 16, 2018

This course was tremendously useful!

By Ahmed I

Sep 11, 2016

This is a nice practical course.

By Babafemi A

Jul 16, 2017

Concise and well presented.