Chevron Left
Back to Innovation for Entrepreneurs: From Idea to Marketplace

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Innovation for Entrepreneurs: From Idea to Marketplace by University of Maryland, College Park

4.6
stars
507 ratings
95 reviews

About the Course

Develop insights on navigating the innovation process from idea generation to commercialization. Build knowledge on how to create strategies to bring innovations to market. Develop an innovation portfolio and business model canvas for your venture. We establish a framework for examining the innovation process, and quickly transition into exploring how to successfully bring innovations to market. Key questions answered within the course include: * What are the key indicators of innovation opportunities? * What steps are critical for entrepreneurs to bring innovations to the marketplace? * What innovation strategies are valuable for new ventures to establish and maintain a competitive advantage? With this course, students experience a sampling of the ideas and techniques explored in the University of Maryland's master's degree in technology entrepreneurship, an innovative, 100% online program. Learn more at http://mte.umd.edu/landing....

Top reviews

AA
Apr 27, 2020

Beautiful course, extremely useful. I have learned a lot and have recommended it to all my team members. I will go over the material for a long time, there's just so much to learn and implement.

DS
May 27, 2020

Course design is really good. All the speakers have given good inputs which are very much needed for entrepreneurs to convert their ideas into the market place.

Filter by:

76 - 91 of 91 Reviews for Innovation for Entrepreneurs: From Idea to Marketplace

By Abdullah K

Aug 1, 2020

ok

By Victor L

Sep 29, 2020

Although weeks 1 through 3 are interesting and engaging, weeks 4 and 5 seem a bit disconnected from the course narrative seen in the first three weeks, and at times it gives the impression that weeks 4 and 5 were put together in a rush with whatever material could be found to fill the gaps. Suddenly we go from a logical progression of finding and implementing value, create market fit and market positioning to a rough progression on prototyping software and 3D printing, without much linking in between. Also the speakers in those lectures made frequent references to books, and other videos that are not indicated in the course materials. IT REALLY GIVES THE IMPRESSION THAT WEEKS 4 AND 5 WERE PUT TOGETHER RANDOMLY FROM OTHER COURSES WITHOUT CHECKING HOW THE CONTENT EVEN FITS THE PROGRESSION OF THE COURSE.

By Martin C

Dec 18, 2015

Though the content is great, it is kind of messy altogether! At the end Prof. Green strongly invites us to enroll for a degree in his field at the university of Maryland and there wouldn't be any problem with that without the kind of messy feeling that the course leaves you with. When you put both together it awfully seems like the university tried to diversify its communication and that the only objective of the course is that you enroll in a degree. At the same time, the technical issues of some lectures give a relatively bad image of the university of Maryland...

Too sad because again, the content in most videos is great... Just reorganize it and put it together with more cohesion. Among other peer reviews would be preferable to the current way of testing...

By Sabrina B

Oct 2, 2016

Good overview, but some of the content is just quickly mentioned and not put into practice. Give more room to use in examples, create action, tell stories. Some of the lecturers were just reading down the notes wer already see in front of us and were not finishing their sentences in an engaging way (sometimes they made comments in a very low tone) . Some of the sounds are not good quality (mono - just on one ear)

By Nicholas O

Feb 15, 2016

It is difficult to write such a course for all possible entrepreneurial ventures there may exist, but I found the strong reference to ICT and technological innovations difficult to apply to my own venture. I think parts of the course are only relevant to such innovations.

By Ryan C

Mar 17, 2016

This course was very scattered and included several different lecturers. It was the least focused course in the specialization, but still did provide insight in an area I probably knew the least about.

By Brad D

Jun 3, 2018

Didn't enjoy this as much as the first certificate but still enjoyable and informative. Some of the information is very US-centric (e.g. around employment).

By Алексей Д

Jun 24, 2020

Compared to the first course in this specialization this one definitely lacks structure and the main idea - seems like videos are mixed together randomly

By Gerard

Mar 15, 2016

Not as inspiring as Developing Innovative Ideas, but yet a very informative Course. I only audited the course.

By Eduardo E B

Oct 6, 2016

Very basic explanations, maybe will need to make it more thoughtful!

By Ernesto J E C

May 27, 2016

The 3 last weeks, excellent. But the two first to basic.

By patrick c

Jul 1, 2017

This course clearly needs an overhaul (missing links, content starting to age).

The last part on building a team is very fuzzy and needs more hands on content (testimony, cases).

Some challenge activities would benefit to be beefed up.

By Hrvoje V

Feb 10, 2016

Ill give two stars cause lectures are way to boring to follow.

By Tanzilya

Mar 10, 2016

Knowledge provided here was just a common sense.

By Eugene M

Dec 6, 2015

It's a second edition of this course. I think that this edition is absolutely useless. Several old mans read subtitles from obsolete books under the camera. No real-life examples, no practice, just obvious things and pure theory from dawn of dinosaurs. 1 star for Ostervalder's business model canvas, the real mark of this course is 0 stars. Where is the first edition of this course with original lectures of Tom Mierzwa? I feel robbed for 49$.

By Martin E

Feb 13, 2016

I found the content and the presenters much less engaging than in "Developing Innovative Ideas for New Companies: The First Step in Entrepreneurship". The exams were so easy that I could pass them at 100% without watching most of the videos. I really don't have the feeling that I learned much that would help me in getting "From Idea to Marketplace". Overall disappointing for a paid course.