Chevron Left
Back to An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1)

An Introduction to Interactive Programming in Python (Part 1), Rice University

4.8
2,160 ratings
640 reviews

About this Course

This two-part course is designed to help students with very little or no computing background learn the basics of building simple interactive applications. Our language of choice, Python, is an easy-to learn, high-level computer language that is used in many of the computational courses offered on Coursera. To make learning Python easy, we have developed a new browser-based programming environment that makes developing interactive applications in Python simple. These applications will involve windows whose contents are graphical and respond to buttons, the keyboard and the mouse. In part 1 of this course, we will introduce the basic elements of programming (such as expressions, conditionals, and functions) and then use these elements to create simple interactive applications such as a digital stopwatch. Part 1 of this class will culminate in building a version of the classic arcade game "Pong"....

Top reviews

By CD

Jul 13, 2017

It was nice beginner course for the new programming to learn programming and practice the concepts with most intuitive way, the way is to build a game and that interests anyone who takes this course.

By JT

Oct 09, 2018

A great intro that puts the topic into achievable steps! I have a mechanical engineering background and I found it to be straightforward. The professors do a good job of making it fun and enjoyable.

Filter by:

623 Reviews

By Song Sophie

Apr 17, 2019

It is pretty interesting, especially those mini-projects. I learned a lot from the courses. However, it is a pity that it dose not use Python3. What is worse, the courses are based on Simplegui, which can only be used on the website. This means I cannot use an IDLE or something like that to finish the mini-projects, and also it seems useless without the website.

By Rami mohammed

Apr 15, 2019

GOOD

By Matteo Pidalà

Apr 12, 2019

Very good approach...Maybe to much mathematics things on programming language. I would prefer some cases and algorithms referring to "normal life". and... I don't agree 100% with the choice to use only codeskulptor. in particularly program graphic interface I would prefer to use standard graphic python library.

By BERTHINY DE BALL BATIFI

Apr 09, 2019

Very good content.

By Jiahua Ma

Apr 07, 2019

Very well structure

By Thomas Pehl

Mar 29, 2019

Amusing and educational!

Which is the best combination!

I look forward to completing Part 2.

By Rudy Halim

Mar 29, 2019

Learn a lot from this course, lots of exercises and fun projects. Looking forward to the 2nd parts. Must take this course if you are serious about learning python or programming in general.

By Tim Green

Mar 26, 2019

This has been a great course so far. The instruction being done in small "chunks" makes it easier to absorb the material. The mini-projects are a nice challenge that go beyond just what is presented in the lessons. However, the mini-project Descriptions, Program Templates, Code-Tips, Discussion Forums and CodeSkulptor Docs have all provided the necessary insights to complete the mini-projects. I don't think I could have completed a couple of the mini-projects without them.

By Fernando Laliena

Mar 24, 2019

Very useful course, 100% recomendable

By Nurullah Kuş

Mar 22, 2019

It is a perfect course to start with.You can improve your python ability with interactive programming and fun assigments.It is definitly gonna improve your problem solving skills.