Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Cyber Attacks

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Cyber Attacks by New York University Tandon School of Engineering

4.7
627 ratings
149 reviews

About the Course

This course provides learners with a baseline understanding of common cyber security threats, vulnerabilities, and risks. An overview of how basic cyber attacks are constructed and applied to real systems is also included. Examples include simple Unix kernel hacks, Internet worms, and Trojan horses in software utilities. Network attacks such as distributed denial of service (DDOS) and botnet- attacks are also described and illustrated using real examples from the past couple of decades. Familiar analytic models are outlined such as the confidentiality/integrity/availability (CIA) security threat framework, and examples are used to illustrate how these different types of threats can degrade real assets. The course also includes an introduction to basic cyber security risk analysis, with an overview of how threat-asset matrices can be used to prioritize risk decisions. Threats, vulnerabilities, and attacks are examined and mapped in the context of system security engineering methodologies....

Top reviews

AA

Feb 26, 2018

Great introduction to cybersecurity concepts with relevant supplemental material in the form of journal papers, magazine articles and supporting TED talks and videos. Highly recommended!

JE

Mar 02, 2018

I love this instructor. He makes learning a lot more fun , especially when he gives a real world description of the point he's trying to get across. Well done :) Thanks for this course!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 164 Reviews for Introduction to Cyber Attacks

By Bianca K

Feb 26, 2019

The material covered in this course is interesting. Let down by lack of quality control and amendments on problems with the content (Recommend you check the discussion board for comments about issues with quiz questions before you attempt to answer as you may find that the 'correct' answer is probably one of the ones you discount because there is a wording issue). Questions seem to test your reading skills more than knowledge of the subject (yes, i should read the question properly before selecting an answer but are you testing my literacy or understanding of the subject matter?)

By Dan H

Sep 17, 2018

Overall, I really enjoyed this course. Ed is a fantastic teacher. My only complaint (and why I did not give it 5 stars) is with the final exam. The instructions states that the answers are subjective, however I had to take the test over and over until I got the correct choices they were looking for. As an example, who knows if software sells person working from home has confiidentiality risk of high, medium, or low? I think it is pretty subjective, and I would have had to get more information about their work environment to really make that call. It was an excersize in frustration.

By Bryan C

Mar 10, 2018

Course moves too slow; Feels like everything is being drawn out to try and collect more money rather than actually teach; Instructor seems more interested in name dropping and talking about his past jobs/connections than teaching the subject; Tests don't match materials or come before materials are presented; Some lectures are slightly inaccurate or misleading in the way they're presented; Generally poor teaching methods that don't focus on student comprehension. Reading materials and third-party videos are good.

By MOHAMED M E

May 12, 2019

كم اني سعيد هنا وكم اني اشكر معلمي وموقع كورسيرا

والله هذا هو الموقع الصحيح للتعليم في عصر التكنلوجيا

اوصياكل اصدقائي فرق ومنك وتعلم بي المجان في موقع

كورسيرا شكرا مره اخره

By Lixiaoxu

May 08, 2019

This course is my first lesson in the security world. It is very important to me. The teacher's teaching method is vivid and the examples are just right. It helps newcomers like me to understand. I will continue the following courses. Master more professional knowledge!

By Enida C

May 03, 2019

Great course.

By Rishabh J

May 03, 2019

It was fun and challenging. There were few areas were in the quiz where I need to google a few terms which I have not heard before. But other than that it was really fun. Learned a lot.

By Leonard A

Mar 10, 2019

I understand that getting the big picture of threat/asset matrix is important, and yet I think it should be mixed in with some more interesting areas of cybersecurity. Maybe mixing the second course with the first would make it more interesting? Anyways, I thought it was tedious, and also boring and very subjective coming to the end of it.

By Pablo R A

Jan 25, 2019

Love the energy of Dr. Edward G. Amoroso in each video, the fact you sense he is enjoying giving the class and that he uses examples, stories and plain language to communicate highly complex topics in an easy to understand way, I greatly appreciated and highly recommend! Coming from another sector completely different and that I never knew anything of cyber attacks and from Spain being English a second language I feel it was worth my time and learned a great deal! Thank you!

By Uladzimir B

Oct 26, 2018

Good introduction. Many points that would be useful for a non-IT professional from managerial perspective. Some of the links to Videos and Readings are dead, but students on the associated forum pages have found working ones, so not a huge drawback. Would be good to have any indication if teaching assistants are tracking what's going on or if the students are on their own.

By Ross B

Oct 11, 2018

Great course. Nice overview of frameworks and models to view security with perspective and then develops further on risk models. I felt the final quiz was a little too subjective.

By Narendra G B

Jul 23, 2019

Very nice Course.

By Heinz D

Jul 21, 2019

Good intro to the subject. Comprehension questions are built-in and each module ends with a quiz giving instant feedback concerning comprehension. Nevertheless, some of the quiz questions seem to belong to a later module and some of the 'correct' answers are not correct. At the end of the day this course was a good experience for me.

By Dhinakaran R

Jul 21, 2019

Really amazing course to start learning about cyber technology.

By Ramji V

Jul 21, 2019

One thing I found was the reading materials the papers were quite old. It will be good to have an older paper supplemented by a newer one. This will help us keep us abreast of the latest happenings. Or the course should be title to read that it talks about cyber attacks from historic perpective. Also the quizzes most of the time emphasized on the intricacies of English at times - difference between maybe and always. So difficult to get things right.

By Cheru B

Jul 17, 2019

Fab

By Chigozie A

Jul 13, 2019

This is a very enlightening course outlining various types of cyber attacks and also showing the approach security experts could take to prevent and mitigate the harmful effects of these attacks.

By Ronnie L P S

Jul 10, 2019

Great course and outstanding instructor. I need some additional studying on Risk Management and Cyber Security. So, I will continue with this course. My be at the end of the course, I will have a better understanding of Cyber-security and Risk Management.

By SAPTARSHI D

Jul 07, 2019

Great course

By ArjunSinh P N

Jul 05, 2019

thought this was more of a practical class - but was completely theoretical. also that there was more reading than what professor taught - (professor gave definitions/intro about topic and expected to learn all material).

By Harsh N J

Jul 03, 2019

An exceptionally amazing introductory course for everyone who want to get into cyber security.

By Joan M S

Jun 24, 2019

Good material. Easy to follow and great experience!

By Chris R

Jun 20, 2019

This course is excellent if you're in the computer community but are new to cybersecurity. Ed Amarosa is a people person who genuinely seems to love this material and conveys his enthusiasm through the whole course. He's probably the best instructor I've had on Coursera. This class gives an excellent basic taxonomy of cybersecurity and a structured way to think about how to create a strategy to address a company's potential cyber weaknesses. The quizzes are some of the more difficult ones that I've taken in a Coursera class, but that's a good thing. You will be expected to read the material, which isn't true of all Coursera classes. But that high standard is part of why I highly recommend this course. You will come out of the class and have learned something.

By Rafael S

Jun 11, 2019

outstanding i learned a LOT of stuff i never knew before, good start for cybersecurity

By Sanie J C

Jun 07, 2019

Lots of info and provided a clear discussion on each module.