Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Healthcare

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Healthcare by Stanford University

4.8
stars
169 ratings
47 reviews

About the Course

Solving the problems and challenges within the U.S. healthcare system requires a deep understanding of how the system works. Successful solutions and strategies must take into account the realities of the current system. This course explores the fundamentals of the U.S. healthcare system. It will introduce the principal institutions and participants in healthcare systems, explain what they do, and discuss the interactions between them. The course will cover physician practices, hospitals, pharmaceuticals, and insurance and financing arrangements. We will also discuss the challenges of healthcare cost management, quality of care, and access to care. While the course focuses on the U.S. healthcare system, we will also refer to healthcare systems in other developed countries. The Stanford University School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians. Visit the FAQs below for important information regarding 1) Date of original release and Termination or expiration date; 2) Accreditation and Credit Designation statements; 3) Disclosure of financial relationships for every person in control of activity content....

Top reviews

JJ
Sep 1, 2020

Very informative, detailed and clear. I learn some new things about billing and the hospital system. A good refresher course to tell where we are with AI and where we need to go for our patients.

KS
Aug 23, 2020

An excellent course for getting a comprehensive knowledge about vital components of US (and global) healthcare system, challenges and opportunities through AI and HC data. Many thanks!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 47 Reviews for Introduction to Healthcare

By Krishna B S

Aug 24, 2020

An excellent course for getting a comprehensive knowledge about vital components of US (and global) healthcare system, challenges and opportunities through AI and HC data. Many thanks!

By Steve D

Aug 28, 2020

Great overview of the healthcare system with very relevant examples of AI application across all the stakeholders (providers, payers, etc.) and many different use cases.

By Benjamin V

Oct 7, 2020

While an introductory course, most if not all of the information provided is commonly found in newspapers and discussion forums on healthcare and AI. Nothing that informative or groundbreaking given the course had a cost.

By Cristiano M F

Nov 17, 2020

Nicely done. Laurence Baker does a fine job of providing a thoughtful and comprehensive overview of the healthcare industry all the while acknowledging the areas that would be "interesting to dive deeper into" but that are outside of the scope of this course. This way one is provided with all the important elements and has the chance to independently explore some of these further.

By Ozzie E P

Nov 21, 2020

Excellent course, particularly for non-medical professionals working in and researching related fields. Provides a thorough overview of the healthcare system, its components, members, and roles. Solid information on ethical issues surrounding healthcare and artificial intelligence.

By xin s

Nov 7, 2020

Even though I have been working in healthcare technology company for almost 10 years now, it covers a lot of stuff I didn't know before. The class is really interesting, and it empowers me to keep going. I would really recommend this class to anyone who wants to learn healthcare.

By Emmanuel K G

Nov 21, 2020

Very insightful and offers a great understanding to beginners and non-health professionals. I greatly recommend this course to anyone who is interested to know more about healthcare deliver, payment systems, the intermediary players, etc

By Chetan D

Dec 20, 2020

Excellent overview of the US Healthcare system, players involved, complexities and challenges. Even for someone like me whose profession is to sell into those US Healthcare players, I found the course to be very useful and informative.

By Andrew R

Oct 1, 2020

This is a wonderful survey of US healthcare - would have loved to have had it when I first started out. Not rigorous in terms of assessment - but very good information. Download the week 7 full study guide and you have it all.

By jamie j

Sep 2, 2020

Very informative, detailed and clear. I learn some new things about billing and the hospital system. A good refresher course to tell where we are with AI and where we need to go for our patients.

By Philip L

Oct 13, 2020

Good course to get the terminology under your belt. You will understand how the money flows, and how outcomes are measured. I got a ton of value from the class and recommend it highly.

By blue a

Dec 20, 2020

Outstanding course content and operating platform! Tremendous learning provided by the outstanding and world-class Stanford faculty! Thanks Stanford, very well done!

By Chukwuemeka O

Oct 10, 2020

I found the course material very engaging and enlightening. The course provides excellent insight into all relevant players in the healthcare system.

By Muhammad K M

Sep 30, 2020

Quick and nice introduction to US healthcare. Enjoyed learning many aspects, specially role of Insurance in US healthcare delivery process.

By Tobias A B

Sep 22, 2020

A absolute mandatory basis for the understanding of the possible application areas for AI in Health Care and their ethical challenges!

By Deryck R C

Nov 10, 2020

Well made course and an eye opener to the importance of intermediaries, payment systems and AI ethical questions in healthcare.

By Stefano M

Nov 19, 2020

good starting point to understand dynamics in healthcare and to see all the players involved in health management. Suggested!

By Krishan S

Sep 29, 2020

Great overview of the healthcare landscape in the US but also explains concepts that are applicable to other countries.

By Ethan W

Dec 7, 2020

I am a worker in the biomedical field, and this course gives me a general understanding of the entire structure. Great

By Gorkem K

Nov 17, 2020

Very detailed and well educated sessions from great presenters. Thanks in advance for this valuable opportunity.

By Gaurav S P G

Nov 7, 2020

Extremely good quality contents, with great test questions and well orgamized conents.

By Kushal A S

Oct 17, 2020

Nicely Framed and Executed in a simple language so anyone can catch up earliest.

By Mariam C

Oct 24, 2020

Extensive learning and knowledge on Healthcare and its possible uses in AI.

By Chen-Hao H

Nov 4, 2020

A helpful and great course to help understand the healthcare system.

By Kabakov B

Oct 6, 2020

Excellent overview of money flows inside the USA healthcare system.