Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Healthcare

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Healthcare by Stanford University

4.8
stars
297 ratings
76 reviews

About the Course

Solving the problems and challenges within the U.S. healthcare system requires a deep understanding of how the system works. Successful solutions and strategies must take into account the realities of the current system. This course explores the fundamentals of the U.S. healthcare system. It will introduce the principal institutions and participants in healthcare systems, explain what they do, and discuss the interactions between them. The course will cover physician practices, hospitals, pharmaceuticals, and insurance and financing arrangements. We will also discuss the challenges of healthcare cost management, quality of care, and access to care. While the course focuses on the U.S. healthcare system, we will also refer to healthcare systems in other developed countries. The Stanford University School of Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians. Visit the FAQs below for important information regarding 1) Date of original release and Termination or expiration date; 2) Accreditation and Credit Designation statements; 3) Disclosure of financial relationships for every person in control of activity content....

Top reviews

MM
May 10, 2021

I found this course so useful for me. If you're someone new to the industry or already working and want to make an impact with your business or technical skills this course will be the first step.

JJ
Sep 1, 2020

Very informative, detailed and clear. I learn some new things about billing and the hospital system. A good refresher course to tell where we are with AI and where we need to go for our patients.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 77 Reviews for Introduction to Healthcare

By Oni O G

Jun 20, 2021

quite educative and mind opening. i loved the course

By Sudhanshu W

May 25, 2021

A Great course to get started with AI in healthcare!

By Chakradhara R C

Jan 30, 2021

This is a very good initiation for healthcare domain

By NADY E B

Nov 17, 2020

Very well explained. Brief and succinct. Thank you!

By BURHAN Y

Sep 24, 2020

The course was very instructive! Thanks a lot! :)

By Priyanka B

Jun 11, 2021

Very well explained course. Really enjoyed it !

By sree d

Apr 13, 2021

Very informative course about US health care.

By Anton L

Sep 27, 2020

Challenging subject - outstanding lecturers

By Priya K

May 18, 2021

Very up to date course with great teachers

By Steven C C

Dec 18, 2020

The caliber of teaching is second to none.

By Sara Z

Nov 29, 2020

Very practical information, great course!

By Shahnawaz K

Sep 17, 2020

Very simple and informative and enjoyable

By Kabir K

Mar 27, 2021

Excellent introduction to Healthcare!

By Santiago M C

Apr 19, 2021

clear and well structuraded

By Eugene P

Jan 10, 2021

Good summary overview

By Luis G F d A

Nov 10, 2020

Muito bom curso!

By Juan M S B

Nov 4, 2020

Excellent !

By alex s

Jan 4, 2021

I found the course fascinating and I learned a lot that will be useful to me.

"An introduction to healthcare" is a huge topic and could never be covered in such a brief course. However I think this course may have been better titled " An introduction to the financing and incentivisation of healthcare".

By Leland L

Nov 18, 2020

Great overview of the main entities in healthcare (particularly in the US) and how their responsibilities/incentives align and diverge. Some typos and a recycling of exam questions hold it back somewhat.

By Gi H H

Nov 7, 2020

Good course to get some insight into different healthcare. Obviously, this course is from Stanford, so primary focus was on US healthcare system as examples

By Paul C M M

Mar 6, 2021

Good review. A mile wide and an inch or two deep. But probably good to set the stage for people not involved in healthcare.

By StowStem T

Sep 9, 2020

The ethics unit examples were interesting. The reading assignment was an exercise in download and store.

By 김정욱

Jan 8, 2021

Great time to learn the basic of healthcare systems.

By Isa M N

Dec 31, 2020

Interesting Lecture

By William C

Sep 29, 2020

Wonderfully done