Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Genomic Technologies by Johns Hopkins University

4.6
stars
2,994 ratings
482 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Top reviews

SS

May 28, 2020

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

KK

Nov 21, 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 478 Reviews for Introduction to Genomic Technologies

By Hendy Z

Dec 11, 2016

a great way to start.

By Andrea S

May 16, 2018

a great introduction

By Jean P M R

Aug 12, 2016

Good Introduction!!!

By Paddy M

Mar 10, 2018

Great Introduction.

By Rana M A

Jan 23, 2017

Good for debutants

By MOHAMMAD S A

Sep 05, 2020

Great experience

By Rupal K

Jul 01, 2020

very effective

By Weidong X

Jul 30, 2016

good course.

By hzl

Jan 13, 2017

good course

By Nikhil Y

Apr 26, 2020

amazing!!

By Ayesha A

Oct 01, 2020

Good 1

By Piotr G

Jun 08, 2020

The initial lectures on introduction to genomics are very engaging and good starting point for everyone who slightly touched that topic before and is interested in both history and recent developments in the area.

The week focusing on software engineering doesn't seem to be a good fit for such training. Most of the content is dedicated to extremely trivial computer science topics hardly related with bioinformatics. Only last several minutes give examples of bioIT software and systems.

The week with statistics is good only if you posses solid knowledge on statistics. Then it serves as a good recap. Otherwise you might be completely lost 5 min into the content, e.g. there are much better explanations of p-value and family-wise error out there in internet than the one provided in the course.

The idea of a project to go through a research paper and answer the questions about it was fantastic! Very good way to cement what you learned.

Overall: 3 stars. I would give 4 if not for trivial and rather useless computer science intro. At few points, the pace should be adjusted (e.g. statistics).

By Alejandro M

Apr 28, 2020

There are two lecturers on this course, Steven and Jeff. The lectures by Steven are amazing. They are extremely interesting, clear, structured, concise and pedagogical. Seriously, great, I learned a lot and I would give Steven 5 stars. Unfortunately, the lectures by Jeff are unclear, filled with jargon (undefined and unexplained terms) and statements which are imprecise at best and incorrect at worse. Verdecit: 1 star for this second lecturer who didn't consider that the audience he was addressing was broad, and probably didn't take enough time to prepare his lectures. Average result: 3 stars.

By Dylan B

Oct 11, 2017

Basic introduction. I have a biology background so for me this was easy. But for a non-biologist I imagine this may difficult to understand. From a non-biologist point of view I imagine the lecturers can spend more time explaining the biology of the cell and genome replication in a lot more detail. This can be handy understanding why we get certain mutations and why some mutations are more interesting than others (e.g. why are most variants (SNPs) found outside coding regions?).

By Saaket V

Jan 02, 2018

A good introduction to Genomic Technologies. Positives: Concise, to the point quizzes, at times funny alternatives answers. The instructor was world class. Could have included few examples of technologies and software being used for sequencing. Trends and what to expect in next five years. Linking to the applications like Precision medicine, Companion Diagnostics, and Personalized medicine would have further improved the delivery of the course.

By ELISA W

Apr 11, 2018

This course included a lot of background information which most I already had. The lecturers were engaging, however, spoke quickly. Luckily I could rewind. Some concepts were inadequately glossed over, but then tested on. Since, as I said, I already had background I could still successfully answer the quiz questions. But I could see how someone who is taking this without prior knowledge would have more difficulty.

By Jessica R

May 20, 2016

This is an extremely basic course. In my opinion, it isn't worth $49 and is thrown in just to add to the total price of the specialization. It is a useful refresher, but doesn't really contain much information. Just a couple of topics are covered at a very basic level. You could also get this info from watching Youtube videos.

By Abhinaya S

Oct 25, 2017

Average course. The initial part was taught by someone who doesn't do Molecular Biology and still tried to push off a course material. It sounded like it was dumbed down to below basic levels in some cases and while I understand the course is meant for general population, the material was presented in a very un-scientific way.

By Wesley W

Jun 22, 2016

I am a PhD student in genetics, so the background material there was review from undergrad courses. Obviously some people who are not biologists will need this background. I do wish, however, that the statistics intro was more applied and covered a better intro and application to the why!

By Abhilash K T

Apr 26, 2020

Overall, the flow and the materials covered are good. I was really interested to learn the statistical part of the course, however, there were very few examples and the speaker went through all the materials like everyone here knows all the statistics that he was teaching.

By Nikita T

Jul 13, 2017

Mostly, it is an interesting course, although it is very short - if a person knows something about molecular biology, then it is feasible to finish it a couple of hours. Nevertheless, probably it provides us with a good introduction to the rest of the series.

By Sergio R B

May 29, 2020

I did not find the course on an intermediate level, it is pretty basic. The statistics parts need materials different than the videos to have a deeper understanding of the different parameters/calculations and what do they mean.

By Clara M G

Jun 06, 2020

could have a bit more application of analyses, at least the statistical parts. I enjoyed the application of reading the paper and answering questions. I am looking forward to the next section of the course!

By Khairunnisaa' B S

Aug 15, 2020

If you are learning this for the first time without any prior knowledge like me,this course is difficult and there are many technical terms which you have to memorise and know for the Quiz.

By Abdur R A S

Apr 16, 2020

The Graded quiz regarding the statistical part was a bit difficult and the course project article was also difficult to understand and the quiz for that was also not easy to solve.