Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Image Processing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Image Processing by MathWorks

4.8
stars
64 ratings

About the Course

In this introduction to image processing, you'll take your first steps in accessing and adjusting digital images for analysis and processing. You will load, save, and adjust image size and orientation while also understanding how digital images are recognized. You will then perform basic segmentation and quantitative analysis. Lastly, you will enhance the contrast of images to make objects of interest easier to identify. By the end of the course, you’ll apply your segmentation skills to identify regions of interest, such as the amount of surface water from satellite images. This introduction to image processing will give you the foundation you need to conduct more advanced work on this topic. You will use MATLAB throughout this course. MATLAB is the go-to choice for millions of people working in engineering and science and provides the capabilities you need to accomplish your image processing tasks. You will be provided with free access to MATLAB for the duration of the course to complete your work. To be successful in this course you should have a background in basic math and some exposure to MATLAB. If you want to familiarize yourself with MATLAB check out the free, two-hour MATLAB Onramp. Experience with image processing is not required....

Top reviews

SK

Sep 3, 2022

Great course with good examples, quizzes, and practice live scripts. Thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you MathWorks and coursera for providing a wonderful course. Cant wait to start the second Course .

SJ

Oct 10, 2022

I got to learn a lot even when I was completely new to both MATLAB and image processing. Would reccomend it because of the knowledgable and helpful instructors.

Filter by:

1 - 17 of 17 Reviews for Introduction to Image Processing

By Christopher B

Jul 12, 2022

(Note I am posting this review after each course since I am unable to post an overall review for the specialization)

Hi,

I recently completed this course as part of the 3 week specialization "Image Processing for Science and Engineering". I think the Mathworks team really did a great job of walking a student step by step from initial concepts into direct applications. I think many courses I have taken (for example for AI Computer Vision) can be overly theory heavy and can miss making the proper connection into doing something useful. Here, with all of the courses, they made a great overview of the software technology and apps that are available in MATLAB and gave great examples for how to quickly utilize them. MATLAB had many tools available that do a lot of the heavy lifting and function generation for you, so you can start attacking problems right away. I also thought the challenge level was appropriate. Some of the final projects are involved, but if you are doing the training properly you won't have much issue. The course developers were very responsive in offering advice if I got stuck. If you are doing anything that requires you to process/alter large blocks of photos (or videos) I strongly recommend you check these courses out.

By ESLAM T

Feb 12, 2022

What I like about this course the most is their short videos that covers the basics you need to know. They try not to throw too many information at you. Then the provided practice examples help you deepen your understanding. I like that approach and I find it very practical. However, I felt some of the quizzes questions were not very well written. I have been using Matlab for almost 15 years and have been using it for image processing for more than 10 years, yet some of these questions were confusing to me.

By Aatif A

May 16, 2022

The course was wonderful. I've worked on MATLAB before but never in image processing. The course did a great job of explaining the concepts, and covered most of the why, what and how's and I'm extremely satisfied with the course. You should be familiar with MATLAB before taking this course.

By Ubaid R

Feb 19, 2023

As a somewhat of a beginner in image processing. I can define this course in one word "Masterclass" . Amazing curated and executed course. Tons of assignment based work and very to the point videos. Best course I have ever taken.

By Rajendran H

Jun 8, 2022

a very good introduction to image processing using MATLAB and its in built image processing toolbox.

By Guillermo Q

Feb 7, 2022

outstanding introduction to image analysis. strongly recommended!

By Tsegaye G A

Jul 3, 2022

The course compiled practically relevant with examples, video discriptions, apps, and all relevant resources. This is my first encounter with the subject. I appreciate the training system of Coursera I am much better now.

By subbu k

Sep 4, 2022

Great course with good examples, quizzes, and practice live scripts. Thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you MathWorks and coursera for providing a wonderful course. Cant wait to start the second Course .

By Samet A

Jul 27, 2022

This is the basic introduction to image processing course , I think mentors have clear accent. Also, if you encounter a problem, they reply to you as soon as possible from the forums.

By Sanskar J

Oct 11, 2022

I got to learn a lot even when I was completely new to both MATLAB and image processing. Would reccomend it because of the knowledgable and helpful instructors.

By Muhammad Z

Jul 11, 2022

It was awesome. Now, I'm motived to go for the specialization in this course

By Zejd I

Jan 10, 2023

Nice course with introduction to enormous possibility of the MATLAB

By Martín A

Mar 16, 2023

The course, the content, the instructors and Matlab are great!

By Lê V Q

Feb 20, 2023

Great for those just starting out in image processing

By Anusha G

Jan 19, 2023

Thank you for the fun & enjoyable learning experience.

By TUSHAR T

Aug 16, 2022

This course is very helpful for me

By Tetyana S

Aug 21, 2022

Good course.

Please add the document withih usefull functions and explanation for them.