Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Finance: The Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Finance: The Basics by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
343 ratings

About the Course

In the Introduction to Finance I: The Basics course, you will be introduced to the basic concepts needed to understand the financial manager’s decision-making process. To achieve that, you will learn about the basic forms a business can take and the goal of the financial manager. You will also learn the fundamentals of financial statements and how to measure a company’s financial health using financial ratios. In addition, you will explore how to allocate capital across time to create value. After learning the course, you should be familiar with major topics in modern finance and communicate with others within and outside of the business world. With a deep understanding of the financial side of the business, you will be in a better position to make informed decisions and plan for the financial future....

Top reviews

S

Nov 10, 2020

Enjoyed this course. Definitely makes you look at your own finances and what you have purchased and what you need to purchase; car, house, etc. I like how you can equate that to the corporate world.

HV

Apr 30, 2023

Initially, I had difficulty understanding the instructor's accent, but later on, I became comfortable. The course is well presented and covers all the basic things very well!! DOES ITS JOB!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 80 Reviews for Introduction to Finance: The Basics

By Abby L

Nov 6, 2020

All materials are super clear. Examples are structured and easy to understand. An excellent course to recommend to everyone!

By Mirna S

Nov 8, 2020

Very good approach for beginners. All what we need to know about finance in a compressed and straight to the point way.

By Solvei G

Nov 10, 2020

Enjoyed this course. Definitely makes you look at your own finances and what you have purchased and what you need to purchase; car, house, etc. I like how you can equate that to the corporate world.

By Kevin M

Jan 7, 2021

I don't have a finance background, so this course introduced me to financial concepts and how to read and comprehend financial statements. Professor Yang explains every concept clearly with details, and the course is paced very well.

By Paul J

Nov 3, 2020

Well put together, concise and information packed. I think the peer review stuff is a bit overrated, but otherwise a decent experience.

By Derek R

Apr 26, 2021

This was a great course with amazing access to the material and being able to have the option to save the course material for future reference is amazing too. The homework and quizzes were nice. The only reason I am giving 4 stars is because of the peer evaluations. The answers can be so vast and it can be difficult to give the correct score whether one is being too lenient or not. It also seems unclear on whether or not you can review the posts that others gave to you. I believe it is helpful to understand what other's thoughts are on what your answers are. Understanding other perspectives on the subject can help one learn for more information in the future.

By Kathy C

Dec 6, 2021

The course is not engaging and very typical. The instructor is just reading lectures like a robot. not much enthusiasm. I learned more when I took the more natural Finance course in Rice University. Be less like a robot. Have more understandable instructors who just don't read lectures. Make it more natural.

By Shahzad A

Oct 30, 2022

That was Excellent Course in Finance , Studying Finance For Someone Like me Who has Never Known Any Financial Terms , was Very Amazing that How much Knowledge of Real Life Applications was Presented to us in this Course.

By HARSH V

Apr 30, 2023

Initially, I had difficulty understanding the instructor's accent, but later on, I became comfortable. The course is well presented and covers all the basic things very well!! DOES ITS JOB!

By Jonatan C

Aug 13, 2023

It's my first course in the field of finance, and i am completly satisfied with the program and as well as the teacher. The explanations were very clear.

By Bilal A

Feb 24, 2023

Very detailed and well-structured course. It covered all the basics of Finance.

By pranav g

Sep 16, 2022

If you are new to finance, this course is a great starting point for you.

By Gauri P

Feb 25, 2021

Very well structured and the basics of finance are very clearly explained.

By Camilo S

Jan 30, 2023

Great content. Recommended for people starting with financial topics.

By sadi c

Nov 19, 2021

just awesome

By Lakshmi P

Sep 22, 2020

Excellent

By Jackelin T

Dec 19, 2022

I enjoyed the course and applied many things I learn such as reading income statements and comparing the financial health of corporations. I feel that there were too many assignments and quizzes that did not add in my learning. The written assignment took a long time to be graded.

By Anafaustina N

Jan 8, 2024

The course is very educational and have helped me in my my career however, I have issues with the peer grading submission assessment. I have came a crossed several submissions from previous years (for more than 3 years) that have not be graded by their peers, however as a very determined individual I questioned whether if there is another way to complete my final assessments without peer grading? its taking so long to earn a certificate

By Tran H D

Aug 21, 2023

Excellent introduction to Finance course. I haven't seen any instructor who has delivered a more concise, robust and practical basic Finance course as Professor Xi Yang. I strongly recommend this course and the other on Financial Markets basic.

By Lori W

Mar 1, 2021

Was a great introduction to finance basics. It was informative but still had some challenge to it. Through the lectures, the teacher spoke in a manner that made it clear to understand the concepts being discussed. I enjoyed this course!

By Sandy Q

Apr 15, 2022

I enjoyed the thorough material in this course and the option to listen, read, and watch videos on the subject. I do think the platform itself can be confusing to navigate sometimes.

By Jean R E

Apr 9, 2024

Le cours était très riche en termes d'acquisition de connaissances, avec des exemples et quiz intéressant. Je remercie le professeur pour sa méthodologie, l’université et Coursera.

By ANNA E

Jun 29, 2023

I'm very satisfied with this course. The explanations were concise, clear and really effective. I learned a lot.

By Shavani B

Feb 18, 2021

Really good course. Use of real life examples and simple language made the course quite interesting.

By OMOWONUOLA M A

Mar 14, 2023

It was a great time to learn. I really enjoyed the course. And it is greatly applicable.