Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Finance: The Basics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Finance: The Basics by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
260 ratings

About the Course

In the Introduction to Finance I: The Basics course, you will be introduced to the basic concepts needed to understand the financial manager’s decision-making process. To achieve that, you will learn about the basic forms a business can take and the goal of the financial manager. You will also learn the fundamentals of financial statements and how to measure a company’s financial health using financial ratios. In addition, you will explore how to allocate capital across time to create value. After learning the course, you should be familiar with major topics in modern finance and communicate with others within and outside of the business world. With a deep understanding of the financial side of the business, you will be in a better position to make informed decisions and plan for the financial future....

Top reviews

S

Nov 10, 2020

Enjoyed this course. Definitely makes you look at your own finances and what you have purchased and what you need to purchase; car, house, etc. I like how you can equate that to the corporate world.

SQ

Apr 14, 2022

I enjoyed the thorough material in this course and the option to listen, read, and watch videos on the subject. I do think the platform itself can be confusing to navigate sometimes.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 60 Reviews for Introduction to Finance: The Basics

By Abby L

Nov 6, 2020

All materials are super clear. Examples are structured and easy to understand. An excellent course to recommend to everyone!

By Mirna S

Nov 8, 2020

Very good approach for beginners. All what we need to know about finance in a compressed and straight to the point way.

By Solvei G

Nov 10, 2020

Enjoyed this course. Definitely makes you look at your own finances and what you have purchased and what you need to purchase; car, house, etc. I like how you can equate that to the corporate world.

By Paul J

Nov 3, 2020

Well put together, concise and information packed. I think the peer review stuff is a bit overrated, but otherwise a decent experience.

By Derek R

Apr 26, 2021

This was a great course with amazing access to the material and being able to have the option to save the course material for future reference is amazing too. The homework and quizzes were nice. The only reason I am giving 4 stars is because of the peer evaluations. The answers can be so vast and it can be difficult to give the correct score whether one is being too lenient or not. It also seems unclear on whether or not you can review the posts that others gave to you. I believe it is helpful to understand what other's thoughts are on what your answers are. Understanding other perspectives on the subject can help one learn for more information in the future.

By Kathy C

Dec 6, 2021

The course is not engaging and very typical. The instructor is just reading lectures like a robot. not much enthusiasm. I learned more when I took the more natural Finance course in Rice University. Be less like a robot. Have more understandable instructors who just don't read lectures. Make it more natural.

By Kevin M

Jan 7, 2021

I don't have a finance background, so this course introduced me to financial concepts and how to read and comprehend financial statements. Professor Yang explains every concept clearly with details, and the course is paced very well.

By Gauri P

Feb 25, 2021

Very well structured and the basics of finance are very clearly explained.

By sadi c

Nov 19, 2021

just awesome

By Lakshmi P

Sep 22, 2020

Excellent

By Jackelin T

Dec 19, 2022

I enjoyed the course and applied many things I learn such as reading income statements and comparing the financial health of corporations. I feel that there were too many assignments and quizzes that did not add in my learning. The written assignment took a long time to be graded.

By Lori W

Mar 1, 2021

Was a great introduction to finance basics. It was informative but still had some challenge to it. Through the lectures, the teacher spoke in a manner that made it clear to understand the concepts being discussed. I enjoyed this course!

By Shahzad A

Oct 30, 2022

That was Excellent Course in Finance , Studying Finance For Someone Like me Who has Never Known Any Financial Terms , was Very Amazing that How much Knowledge of Real Life Applications was Presented to us in this Course.

By Sandy Q

Apr 15, 2022

I enjoyed the thorough material in this course and the option to listen, read, and watch videos on the subject. I do think the platform itself can be confusing to navigate sometimes.

By Shavani B

Feb 18, 2021

Really good course. Use of real life examples and simple language made the course quite interesting.

By OMOWONUOLA M A

Mar 14, 2023

It was a great time to learn. I really enjoyed the course. And it is greatly applicable.

By Anita K

Mar 8, 2021

the lessons were really good and detailed to help in understanding the topics provided.

By Bilal A

Feb 24, 2023

Very detailed and well-structured course. It covered all the basics of Finance.

By Steffi A

Jan 3, 2022

The lecturer delivered the course very clear and well-explained. Thank you.

By pranav g

Sep 16, 2022

If you are new to finance, this course is a great starting point for you.

By Joseph J

Nov 14, 2020

Professor presents the items very clearly and simplifies her presentations

By Camilo S

Jan 30, 2023

Great content. Recommended for people starting with financial topics.

By Smitha A

Oct 20, 2020

Easy to understand, The faculty explains the concepts very clearly.

By Arun K

Feb 20, 2021

the course was very insightful and really up to the expectations.

By Aditya S

Jul 1, 2022

Great Course easy to understand, in groups of small videos.