Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Technical Support

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Technical Support by IBM

4.8
stars
750 ratings

About the Course

Technical Support professionals are in great demand! This is the first course in the IBM IT Support Professional Certificate program, designed to prepare you for a rewarding career in technical support. You will begin this self-paced course by learning what Informational Technology (IT) support is all about. You'll find out the roles and responsibilities of Technical Support professionals and become familiar with all the different career paths you can take in Technical Support. You will also hear from experts in the IT industry about getting started in the field and how you can pursue this career without prior experience or degrees. You'll also learn some basics about the technology that technical support professionals use. You will hear from industry insiders about how you can develop a customer support mindset and how to talk with customers and solve their problems. You will gain insights into performance evaluation, career paths, and the industry-recognized certifications that can propel your technical support career forward. You'll then gain a comprehensive understanding of support tools and support channels and how they streamline issue resolution. You will also learn about the importance of Service-Level Agreements (SLAs) and how they contribute to delivering exceptional support experiences. Next you will explore ticketing systems, a fundamental component of modern technical support. You'll learn about their features, benefits, and the lifecycle of a ticket or a support issue. Moreover, you'll immerse yourself in tech support methodologies, frameworks, and the art of effective documentation. The course wraps up with a project that provides you with the opportunity to use a ticketing system hands-on and simulate the work that IT Support Specialists and Helpdesk Technician’s perform....

Top reviews

MB

Jan 7, 2023

I felt this course was very well organized and was a great introduction to tech support. I will be continuing with the next courses for the IBM Technical Support Professional Certificate.

TB

Jul 10, 2023

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. I am glad there was a simulator included in this course to get a hands-on feel for a ticketing system used by many in the IT industry. Thank you!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 184 Reviews for Introduction to Technical Support

By Mr. A A

Sep 27, 2022

The course is very interesting. I am seriously blaming myself for being non-chalant about this very important profession. I am enjoying it, especially the theory. Nevertheless, I will try my utmost to make sure that I am on top of the practical so that I can fully deliver. You have been so good, I thank you immensely for your labour of love.

By Tariq H

Apr 2, 2023

The IBM Technical Support Professional Certificate offered on Coursera is an exceptional course for anyone interested in starting a career in IT support. This course provides a comprehensive overview of technical support, including troubleshooting, networking, operating systems, and security.

One of the most significant benefits of this course is the hands-on experience it provides. The labs and simulations give you practical experience with real-world scenarios, and the instructors are knowledgeable and engaging, making the learning process enjoyable.

The course structure is well-organized, and the content is presented clearly and concisely, making it easy to understand. Additionally, the assessments and quizzes help you gauge your understanding of the material and ensure that you're prepared for the final exam.

Upon completing the course, you receive a digital badge that you can showcase on your LinkedIn profile, which can increase your chances of getting noticed by potential employers. The IBM name and reputation also add value to the course, providing a competitive advantage in the job market.

Overall, the IBM Technical Support Professional Certificate is an excellent course for anyone interested in starting a career in IT support. The course material is well-structured, the instructors are knowledgeable and engaging, and the hands-on experience makes it a practical and valuable learning experience. I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to break into the IT support industry.

By Oluwajimisola A

Dec 17, 2022

I really enjoyed taking this course from start to finish! It was really intriguing and detailed. The "Insider's viewpoints" gives a more realistic insight about specific terms and topics. I can't wait to enrol for the next course🥰

Thank you IBM! Thank you Coursera!

By Emily C

Jul 22, 2023

I have tried a different IT course on here at Coursera but despite it being labeled as a beginner level course I found myself very lost and confused. This IBM course I feel is very comprehensive and really gives you the building blocks you need to truly start as a beginner from nothing. Thank you so much for this course and laying everything out in a very organized way, I really feel like my goals are achievable instead of feeling like I am stepping into a world of unknown territory that I have no place being in.

By João V S O

Jan 11, 2023

I really enjoyed the practical activities placed at strategic times and in a very fun way. The course was of great value for personal and professional growth. It would be interesting for all levels of employees to have access to the course.

By Daniel M

Mar 14, 2023

Fantastic! As a newbie and adult just getting started in the IT field, the word "basic" pretty much sums up this wonderful little introductory certification. Congratulations to the creators, and I look forwards to seeing more of your work.

By Ανδρέας Α

Mar 10, 2023

Very clear and insightful. It conatains all the necessary details to beginners in IT support, without being overwhelming. My doubts about whether I should continue towards the full IBM IT Support Professional Certificate no longer apply.

By Juilean Y

Oct 6, 2022

This is course is honestly amazing, all of the information this course provides to get you started in the IT career and more if you want to continue the course. I highly recommed this course to anyone who wants to start getting into IT.

By Erica B

Nov 23, 2022

Easy, straight forward material. Enjoy the process because it alternates between a learning video, insiders look and then a multi-choice quiz. Highly recommend this course for anyone looking to learn about technical support.

By Ebenezer A

Oct 20, 2022

Introduction to Technical Support introduces you to diverse way of working in the IT field. It provides solid foundation for beginners, intermidiate and advance IT personnels willing to pursue carrer technical support.

By Paulo N

Apr 10, 2023

The course is straightforward forward easy to follow and understand with hands-on industry software such as Service Now. Instructors are skilled and knowledgeable industry professionals with years of experience in IT.

By Imran H

Jan 24, 2023

Hi, I am Imran Haider from Pakistan and I really enjoy to learn this

IBM Introduction to Technical Support course from IBM Skills Network its best for all , I recommend this and Thank you for Coursera for this .

By Daniel J

Jan 10, 2023

a nice tutorial. it has a structured learning curriculum. i would recommend this course to anyone that wants to go into technical support. a quick reminder that ensure you jot down points while taking this class.

By Samuel M M

Aug 2, 2022

An informative intrdution class to technical support.

By Michael M

Jul 30, 2022

My biggest critique is the colors chosen for the exercises. I am colorblind and did a lot of guessing

By Markey S

Aug 3, 2023

As someone who has been in IT Tech Support for a while; for beginner IT Tech Support, there is a ton of information, in this course, not relevant to the beginner. Honestly, skip this course and take some courses that are more hands on for tech support. This is totally a waste of money and time.

By JONATAS A P

Feb 19, 2023

um ótimo curso , principlamente no que se refere ao desenvolvimento das soft skils , habilidades como paciencia , empatia e escuta ativa são tão ou mais importantes que o próprio desenvolvimento técnico e cruciais ao desenvolvimento adequado de qualquer profisional da área de suporte .

By Amma F D

Sep 21, 2023

I love this course! It has helped me better understand IT support! At first, I thought I couldn't do it, but I did it! Side note; Please, next time provide a link for the labs on. In all I appreciate this opportunity to start my career in the IT industry!

By Alex V C

Jan 11, 2024

Excelent methodology. I really enjoy the course. It explains you in a very detailed manner, offering you the posibility of feedback. Each video started with what you will learn, and ended with a summary of the knowledge you got.

By Cristian D

Sep 20, 2023

The introduction to technical support course exceeded my expectations in every way. I learned not only the fundamental technical skills but also the importance of empathy and communication in customer service.

By Tonya B

Jul 10, 2023

I thoroughly enjoyed taking this course. I am glad there was a simulator included in this course to get a hands-on feel for a ticketing system used by many in the IT industry. Thank you!

By MacKenzie B

Jan 8, 2023

I felt this course was very well organized and was a great introduction to tech support. I will be continuing with the next courses for the IBM Technical Support Professional Certificate.

By Sachith M

Sep 4, 2022

Really good course to learn and understands fundamental things about technical support. Content are world class. Thanks IBM and Skill Network for bringing this course for us.

By Emmason K

Jul 11, 2023

Wow, this was an amazing experience, I highly recommend. It was in-depth, intuitive and hands-on, there is no way you complete this course and still have learnt nothing,

By Edime A P

Jun 24, 2023

This course was helpful.considering the fact that i'm a newbie in IT, it was of great help and i'm assured this is the right platform to begin my career in IT. Thank you