Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to C++ Programming and Unreal

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to C++ Programming and Unreal by University of Colorado System

4.6
stars
102 ratings

About the Course

This course is all about starting to learn how to develop video games using the C++ programming language and the Unreal Engine on Windows or Mac. This course assumes you have previous programming experience in some other language. Although we'll start at the very beginning for C++, hardly anybody learns (or teaches) C++ as a first language. Similarly, Unreal Engine is a commercial, industrial strength game engine. With great power comes great ... complexity, so it's important that you have the will to work hard to learn how to use C++ in Unreal Engine. Computer programming is really fun in general, and programming games is even better! Caution: Introduction (starting to learn C++ and Unreal Engine) is not the same as easy (not hard to do). Learning to program using C++ in Unreal Engine IS hard to do, especially since this course is essentially the first half of a freshman-level college course. Meeting the course challenges while you master the material will be rewarding to you, but doing that will require hard work and maybe even a few expletives along the way. Module 1: Write your first C++ console application and Unreal script Module 2: Learn how we store and use data in our programs Module 3: Learn how we use classes and objects to implement our code Module 4: Learn the basics of Unreal Engine...

Top reviews

CC

Jan 26, 2022

Great intro course. Dr. T is correct in that having learned a prior programming language helps a ton. As a result I was able to complete the course in just a few days.

AR

Sep 21, 2022

Awesome! Best lecturer on the subject so far. Your course is well structured and easy to follow so thank you for the effort you put into this

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 32 Reviews for Introduction to C++ Programming and Unreal

By Victor R

Jan 15, 2023

A straightforward course on C++ and Unreal basics taught by someone with upbeat energy and a desire to help the student learn the material.

By Sukith C A

Oct 3, 2021

One of the best beginer unreal courses that were taught carefully for a beginer to C++ programming.

By Denis

Apr 9, 2022

Grear course!

By daniel b

Feb 4, 2022

Good introduction! the week 3 challenge was entertaining, the visual studio project does not include the sources *.cpp it only has the headers, it was a challenge completing it like this I attempted to implement it all until I got frustrated with the grader and found out that the xcode project does include the sources, it was way easier like that

By Beau L

Jan 18, 2023

Wonderful course for those who are new (or haven't done it in a while) to C++ and Unreal Engine. The instructor is very engaging and he explains even some of the most lengthy concepts (such as Class objects and Documentation), in short-form, which makes things much easier. Highly recommended.

By Rodrigo H F

Apr 8, 2022

Tim "Dr. T" Chamillard is such an amazing professor, the way he explains things is just wonderful! It's been a long time since I've met someone as capable of teaching as Tim is. Thanks!

By Christopher C

Jan 27, 2022

Great intro course. Dr. T is correct in that having learned a prior programming language helps a ton. As a result I was able to complete the course in just a few days.

By Albert J v R

Sep 22, 2022

Awesome! Best lecturer on the subject so far. Your course is well structured and easy to follow so thank you for the effort you put into this

By Gabriel C

Dec 28, 2022

Doesn't quite give a complete foundation on C++ programming, but I assume that the next course will be much better.

By Regis M

Jan 19, 2023

Excellent course. I've learned the basic of Unreal and to use C++ with it. Highly recommended.

By Edgar S M

Dec 18, 2021

I love the way the teacher presents the content with stories and anecdotes, very helpful

By Yikai Y

Apr 3, 2022

I have learned a lot from this course. Dr T teach the useful knowlage.

By Pavlo M

Apr 28, 2022

Very positive tutor) Made the course enjoyable.

By jimo

Jan 8, 2022

Simple but effective Intro to Unreal Engine

By Jacqueline K

Oct 14, 2022

Amazing instructor!! Highly recommend!!!

By Angilbert A

Jan 8, 2023

Very Nice Instructor and Great!!!

By Jorge V

Jul 28, 2022

Excellent introductory course.

By Gabriel L P C

Dec 23, 2022

Great starting course!

By Andrew R

Feb 5, 2022

Thank you Dr. Tim!

By Florin C

Jun 7, 2022

Love me Dr.Tim

By Akshay S

Jul 12, 2022

good course

By Puneet S

Jan 18, 2023

Amazing

By Steve D

Oct 20, 2022

Content is good, and especially useful for its focus on CPP and UE, though I needed to use other resources (i.e., W3 Schools) to more fully understand the OOP. I had previous experience with Python via U of Michigan online--not including OOP, ergo W3 helped clarify the instructor's videos. A few of the UE files would not open in my UE Editor--started my own projects and then imported the assets available from other downloads to follow along with the videos.

By Andrew M

Sep 23, 2022

I would give this a 5 if it were up to date with Unreal5 and had more examples in XCode for Mac users.

By Divith N

Dec 17, 2022

It was a very good course. Just wish it was in unreal engine 5 and not 4.