Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to C++ Programming and Unreal

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to C++ Programming and Unreal by University of Colorado System

4.5
stars
148 ratings

About the Course

This course is all about starting to learn how to develop video games using the C++ programming language and the Unreal Engine on Windows or Mac. This course assumes you have previous programming experience in some other language. Although we'll start at the very beginning for C++, hardly anybody learns (or teaches) C++ as a first language. Similarly, Unreal Engine is a commercial, industrial strength game engine. With great power comes great ... complexity, so it's important that you have the will to work hard to learn how to use C++ in Unreal Engine. Computer programming is really fun in general, and programming games is even better! Caution: Introduction (starting to learn C++ and Unreal Engine) is not the same as easy (not hard to do). Learning to program using C++ in Unreal Engine IS hard to do, especially since this course is essentially the first half of a freshman-level college course. Meeting the course challenges while you master the material will be rewarding to you, but doing that will require hard work and maybe even a few expletives along the way. Module 1: Write your first C++ console application and Unreal script Module 2: Learn how we store and use data in our programs Module 3: Learn how we use classes and objects to implement our code Module 4: Learn the basics of Unreal Engine...

Top reviews

MO

Jul 26, 2023

This was a really good course to start this program. I think having previous programming knowledge is beneficial to getting a quick grasp of Dr. T's teachings. Instructor is fun and informative.

CC

Jan 26, 2022

Great intro course. Dr. T is correct in that having learned a prior programming language helps a ton. As a result I was able to complete the course in just a few days.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 41 Reviews for Introduction to C++ Programming and Unreal

By Ziya B

Jan 23, 2022

There is very little knowledge about Unreal C++ development. Very little C++ and Unreal is taught in this course. I would rather get 2 different courses for Unreal basics and C++ basics. Also, the instructions of exams are very unclear. You have to assume some things and hope that you're assuming it right.

By Diamaudix A L

Mar 17, 2022

Pedantically goes over the most inconsequential details countless times yet totally glosses over the actual important information.

Week 1 takes < 30 minutes

Week 4 takes > 8 hours

By Maher S

Mar 26, 2023

Unfortunately this is a highly outdated course and trying to follow along is not worth the time and effort, it's best to go elsewhere and learn using the latest versions as you'll have to stop very often to Google around for where did this feature go or where did that feature go.

By DP M

Jan 2, 2022

Test cases for programming assignments are entered incorrectly. Not worth taking.

By Albert J v R

Sep 22, 2022

Awesome! Best lecturer on the subject so far. Your course is well structured and easy to follow so thank you for the effort you put into this

By Victor R

Jan 15, 2023

A straightforward course on C++ and Unreal basics taught by someone with upbeat energy and a desire to help the student learn the material.

By Sukith C A

Oct 3, 2021

One of the best beginer unreal courses that were taught carefully for a beginer to C++ programming.

By Denis

Apr 9, 2022

Grear course!

By daniel b

Feb 4, 2022

Good introduction! the week 3 challenge was entertaining, the visual studio project does not include the sources *.cpp it only has the headers, it was a challenge completing it like this I attempted to implement it all until I got frustrated with the grader and found out that the xcode project does include the sources, it was way easier like that

By Beau L

Jan 18, 2023

Wonderful course for those who are new (or haven't done it in a while) to C++ and Unreal Engine. The instructor is very engaging and he explains even some of the most lengthy concepts (such as Class objects and Documentation), in short-form, which makes things much easier. Highly recommended.

By Matthew O

Jul 27, 2023

This was a really good course to start this program. I think having previous programming knowledge is beneficial to getting a quick grasp of Dr. T's teachings. Instructor is fun and informative.

By Rodrigo H F

Apr 8, 2022

Tim "Dr. T" Chamillard is such an amazing professor, the way he explains things is just wonderful! It's been a long time since I've met someone as capable of teaching as Tim is. Thanks!

By Christopher C

Jan 27, 2022

Great intro course. Dr. T is correct in that having learned a prior programming language helps a ton. As a result I was able to complete the course in just a few days.

By Gabriel C

Dec 28, 2022

Doesn't quite give a complete foundation on C++ programming, but I assume that the next course will be much better.

By Regis M

Jan 19, 2023

Excellent course. I've learned the basic of Unreal and to use C++ with it. Highly recommended.

By Edgar S M

Dec 18, 2021

I love the way the teacher presents the content with stories and anecdotes, very helpful

By Yikai Y

Apr 3, 2022

I have learned a lot from this course. Dr T teach the useful knowlage.

By Saghar Z

Aug 2, 2023

well-paced instructions. The instructor is also an amazing person!

By Pavlo M

Apr 28, 2022

Very positive tutor) Made the course enjoyable.

By jimo

Jan 8, 2022

Simple but effective Intro to Unreal Engine

By Jacqueline K

Oct 14, 2022

Amazing instructor!! Highly recommend!!!

By Canberk K

Oct 17, 2023

Very well-designed course for beginners.

By Angilbert A

Jan 8, 2023

Very Nice Instructor and Great!!!

By Rashad Y

Jul 10, 2023

The best course ever I have seen

By Jorge V

Jul 28, 2022

Excellent introductory course.