Chevron Left
Back to JSON and Natural Language Processing in PostgreSQL

Learner Reviews & Feedback for JSON and Natural Language Processing in PostgreSQL by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
102 ratings

About the Course

Within this course, you’ll learn about how PostgreSQL creates and uses inverted indexes for JSON and natural language content. We will use various sources of data for our databases, including access to an online API and spidering its data and storing the data in a JSON column in PostgreSQL. Students will explore how full-text inverted indexes are structured. Students will build their own inverted indexes and then make use of PostgreSQL built-in capabilities to support full-text indexes....

Top reviews

GG

May 21, 2021

This course teaches some niche applications. Not sure if i'll ever have to use them, but good to know what to look for in case it ever comes up at work :)

KK

Jan 9, 2022

Week 4 was a titbit challenging, but I figure it out. On to the next one. Lol

Filter by:

1 - 23 of 23 Reviews for JSON and Natural Language Processing in PostgreSQL

By Lily M

Jul 5, 2021

No details explained. Not friendly for SQL beginner, where we can only watch Dr Chuck writing complex codes without knowning the rationale behind it.

By Billy C

Apr 18, 2022

“for everybody“ says it all. Fun, but assignments are mostly brainless copying and pasting. Lack of depth.

By Yardley L F E

Feb 15, 2022

This module is really non sence. And it is a wasting of time. We are learning PostgreSQL and like idiot, we are facing python code to solve the assignement as we were in a python course. If you just start the PostgreSQL course, please do not waste your time with this module, you will spend time and money for nothing.

By Glenn

May 22, 2021

This course teaches some niche applications. Not sure if i'll ever have to use them, but good to know what to look for in case it ever comes up at work :)

By Chaoren G

May 19, 2021

Great Course and Great Instructor!

By Fabio B S D R M

Sep 2, 2021

This is the best course I have taken so far with Dr.Chuck, If you want to learn advanced topics on PostgreSQL, this is the course. Dr.Chuck will teach you complex subjects is a simple way, with simple examples that will give you foundation knowledge so you can master very complex points. This a summary of what was covered at this course : Differentiate between HASH index and B-tree index. Create a reverse index for a table of documents. Utilize stop words with a reverse index. Create a GIN-based text[] reverse index. Differentiate and utilize the ts_vector() and ts_query() functions. creating a natural language full-text index on a column. Compare Python functions with PostgreSQL functions. Connect and compare Python and PostgreSQL. Utilize Python to insert data into a table with a given schema. Load and store JSON documents in a table. Recall which index type is typically used for JSON in PostgreSQL. That"s what I was talking about ! And don"t worry if you didn"t know Python because the examples are very easy on that and you will have templates to guide you so you can follow the course. After all if get to this point something of programming you have to know, and with some basic Python you can manage it and will have a good support on the forums. I highly recommend this course for PostgreSQL fans !

By Pranav R K

Oct 7, 2022

The final assignment of this course was much difficult to understand as it was not mentioned in good way. And bacause of that it takes a time to complete the course. But Overall course and lectures, videos, and other assignments were interesting and very much self descriptive.

By Nevil A E

Mar 22, 2022

Knowing only a little python and having lost my early enthusisam for postgre, the last two weeks course contents felt a bit advanced, and so I skipped the video walkthroughs. But I feel this is an excellent course for someone more persistent

By Keslo

Jan 10, 2022

Week 4 was a titbit challenging, but I figure it out. On to the next one. Lol

By Wai K W C

Sep 2, 2021

Clear explanation of JSON and how to work with it by Python and Postgresql

By Iván G

Jun 8, 2022

Excellent course. Lots of useful code demonstration.

By John C F

Jun 16, 2021

Its awesome I can use it in my software development

By Eduardo A V M

Nov 25, 2021

Excellent, very complete and well explained

By Benjamin J

Dec 29, 2021

Good material and responsive staff.

By Olexander T

Aug 5, 2021

Thanks for a great course!

By Walter M

Jan 14, 2022

Great, great course!

By Umutcan Y

Aug 1, 2021

Very nice

By Willy A

Dec 9, 2022

awesome!

By Goh K L

Jan 28, 2022

Week 3 and week 4 instructions can be a bit ambiguous, however the discussion form posts helped a lot.

By Dhruv

May 13, 2022

Could use some more examples on WHY we need JSON in a SQL setup

By Justin H

Oct 30, 2022

Dr Chuck is a great teacher. Unfortunately for Assignment 4 of this course, I felt that the question was poorly worded and that led to a lot of students having a hard time understanding what was required to complete the task

Nonetheless, all courses in this postgresql series and its learning benefits outweighs this small bump.

By Connor

Jan 6, 2023

Assignments were frustrating due to a lack of explanation and clear instructions.

By Vicente E

Feb 7, 2023

The last two modules, the curse turn in the wrong direction, i decline the curse.