Chevron Left
Back to Lean Software Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Lean Software Development by University of Minnesota

4.4
stars
150 ratings
38 reviews

About the Course

While scrum and XP were transforming the software development industry, there were another set of ideas (derived from lean manufacturing and Six Sigma) that started to influence software development methods. These ideas around Lean Software Development forms the foundation of number of agile methods. In this course, we will explore lean concepts and cover some of the common Lean methods and techniques like Kanban, Value Stream Mapping, etc. In this course, we will also learn techniques like Lean Startup and Design Thinking that can help team learn about user and market needs much faster and cheaper. As part of this course, you will also apply the knowledge gained in this course to fictional case studies. These projects will help you gain experience to confidently apply these techniques in real world. At the end of the course, you will be able to apply lean techniques / methods to software development. You will also be able to apply methods to learn about your users and market needs much faster and cheaper....

Top reviews

MA

Mar 02, 2020

Course Covers all the important topics in agile and make the learner uses it in a practical case studies and projects.

MS

May 20, 2020

In-depth knowledge of lean methodogy. Very insightful and thorough course. Thank your coursera team for this course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 39 Reviews for Lean Software Development

By Marcelo H G

Jun 23, 2019

Really far from reality. This was a piece of software marketing with lean, not software development.

By Inigo

Mar 19, 2018

Very low learning curve in this course

By Maria W

Jun 06, 2018

I completed the first three courses seven months ago and the fourth course has yet to be offered. I selected these courses because they were offered as part of a specialization. Selling the course as a specialization but never offering the last course is not only very frustrating but false advertising. I would not have paid and taken these courses if I had known that the last course was not going to be offered, and therefore, I could not complete the specialization that was advertised.

By Madina K

Mar 02, 2020

There were a lot of issues like typos in the presentations, more than once there were some moments in the videos that were supposed to be cut out (for instance the lecturer misspoke, went silent and started over or the phone went off very loudly while he was still talking), the lecturer has a very strong accent, which is okay, but the subtitles weren't always of great helps since sometimes they just had the word {inaudible}. This was a huge disappointment to be honest.

By ILYA S

Dec 18, 2017

Lots of redundancies and very little information that goes beyond content that could have been produced after a five minute exercise on Google... This applies to the whole specialization series, not just to the course. I'm glad I audited this course instead of paying for it. This is the least satisfying experience I had on Coursera.

By Karol S

Jul 09, 2019

Nothing new, nothing worth going through the course

By Abhishek

Apr 24, 2020

Nice Informative course. Really valuable, but make sure you try following it in a serious manner, as if you will do some self study along with course material, you are bound to learn many interesting things.

By Paulo H D S S

May 08, 2018

Excellent course for developers or managers that never had contact with Lean Software Development. Practical examples and very good exercices for a solid first learning.

By Mina R A

Mar 02, 2020

Course Covers all the important topics in agile and make the learner uses it in a practical case studies and projects.

By Mission B S

May 20, 2020

In-depth knowledge of lean methodogy. Very insightful and thorough course. Thank your coursera team for this course.

By Roman B

Jun 03, 2020

Thanks a lot, I learn about how Lean Software Development can help to better our process with ours cli

By Jesse L

Jun 04, 2020

learned alot of great project management concepts from this course

By Shin-Ing C

Jul 12, 2018

Answers many of my questions from work

By Jaime E B G

Oct 21, 2019

great explanation and good resources.

By Abhisek

May 21, 2020

Nice Content and relevant materials.

By MASOOTH A

Apr 03, 2019

nice teaching from University

By Waihon L

Jun 22, 2020

Excellent course

By Alexey

Mar 03, 2019

Good overview.

By Manjula

Jul 07, 2020

good platform

By Bilal E

Apr 02, 2019

A Good Course

By Anel G

Oct 02, 2019

Excellent!

By Cristiano S

Jan 31, 2018

Good!

By SANTHOSH K C

Mar 12, 2020

good

By RATCHAMALLA A R

Mar 12, 2020

good

By Kamakshi A

Jul 19, 2018

T