Chevron Left
Back to Machine Design Part I

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Machine Design Part I by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
stars
1,389 ratings
388 reviews

About the Course

“Machine Design Part I” is the first course in an in-depth three course series of “Machine Design.” The “Machine Design” Coursera series covers fundamental mechanical design topics, such as static and fatigue failure theories, the analysis of shafts, fasteners, and gears, and the design of mechanical systems such as gearboxes. Throughout this series of courses we will examine a number of exciting design case studies, including the material selection of a total hip implant, the design and testing of the wing on the 777 aircraft, and the impact of dynamic loads on the design of an bolted pressure vessel. In this first course, you will learn robust analysis techniques to predict and validate design performance and life. We will start by reviewing critical material properties in design, such as stress, strength, and the coefficient of thermal expansion. We then transition into static failure theories such as von Mises theory, which can be utilized to prevent failure in static loading applications such as the beams in bridges. Finally, we will learn fatigue failure criteria for designs with dynamic loads, such as the input shaft in the transmission of a car....

Top reviews

ZZ

Feb 17, 2017

The course was a concise and effective review of major concepts. The concepts were well explained and the lessons practical. I have a better understanding of fatigue failure as a result of this class.

SG

Jun 12, 2017

Thank you so much. I liked your teaching style.You gave me a clear understanding about each and every topic covered in this course.I enjoyed the learning.Hope we will be in touch for further courses.

Filter by:

351 - 375 of 380 Reviews for Machine Design Part I

By VAKIL Y N

Apr 27, 2020

students should be given atleast 3 trials in 24 hours

By Juan P G

Feb 14, 2019

It has been very useful to recall this knowledge.

By TUSHAR C

May 11, 2018

Its a very good course , a lot of things to learn

By Kalyani C

Aug 04, 2020

A really helpful course for skill development :)

By Aditya R

Jun 06, 2020

more example problems would have helped

By Jacob.shi

Apr 08, 2018

good class,beautiful teacher

By Divyanshu K

Nov 07, 2019

very informative but hard

By Priyanka F P

Feb 12, 2019

A good technical course!

By shyam m s

Oct 07, 2018

good explain skill

By Rohith

Oct 23, 2019

madam part-ii

By K S K

Jun 24, 2020

Nice Session

By Tejas

Jun 18, 2020

Thank you !!

By SHARUKH A

Jul 26, 2020

Great

By Deleted A

Jul 27, 2020

Good

By Gokul

Jun 06, 2020

Good

By Jaydeep C

Jun 02, 2020

good

By Sharukhan

May 02, 2020

good

By Zhao Z

Mar 28, 2020

I love the example of Boeing and the cool video of real-world stress test. The course hour should be set higher than 11 hr, as much time is needed for self-study. Also some calculation rounds off at early stage and lead to a very different answer.

By Eric H

Feb 05, 2017

Material somewhat simplistic and professor likes to "hold your hand" rather than exposing the material and letting the student run with it.

By BHUSHAN D

Jan 13, 2020

Problems are not explained in depth. There were minor errors. Some points in slides were just skipped or explained with out any examples

By Sumeet M

May 25, 2020

Very good course but if you give at least 2 attempts in 24 hours then it would be more interesting in submitting the quiz

By siva k g

Jun 14, 2020

Very good 👍 subject to Mechanical engineering...we know everything

About to material

By Mohamed A E A E E

Apr 04, 2020

there is lack of information , i wish it can give more information about the field

By Rahul s g

Aug 06, 2020

Best course ,l

By Thomas G

May 26, 2020

Although the course content is good, it is riddled with simple errors. The teacher often uses the wrong terms for things which makes it difficult to follow. It also has very little to do with machine design, other than using a shaft as an example to calculate stresses, and should be renamed mechanics of materials.