Chevron Left
Back to Structuring Machine Learning Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Structuring Machine Learning Projects by deeplearning.ai

4.8
stars
42,052 ratings
4,716 reviews

About the Course

You will learn how to build a successful machine learning project. If you aspire to be a technical leader in AI, and know how to set direction for your team's work, this course will show you how. Much of this content has never been taught elsewhere, and is drawn from my experience building and shipping many deep learning products. This course also has two "flight simulators" that let you practice decision-making as a machine learning project leader. This provides "industry experience" that you might otherwise get only after years of ML work experience. After 2 weeks, you will: - Understand how to diagnose errors in a machine learning system, and - Be able to prioritize the most promising directions for reducing error - Understand complex ML settings, such as mismatched training/test sets, and comparing to and/or surpassing human-level performance - Know how to apply end-to-end learning, transfer learning, and multi-task learning I've seen teams waste months or years through not understanding the principles taught in this course. I hope this two week course will save you months of time. This is a standalone course, and you can take this so long as you have basic machine learning knowledge. This is the third course in the Deep Learning Specialization....

Top reviews

AM

Nov 23, 2017

I learned so many things in this module. I learned that how to do error analysys and different kind of the learning techniques. Thanks Professor Andrew Ng to provide such a valuable and updated stuff.

MG

Mar 31, 2020

It is very nice to have a very experienced deep learning practitioner showing you the "magic" of making DNN works. That is usually passed from Professor to graduate student, but is available here now.

Filter by:

3676 - 3700 of 4,673 Reviews for Structuring Machine Learning Projects

By Diego F S d L

Sep 26, 2018

TOP

By Vikram M

Sep 17, 2017

o

o

d

By laixiaohang

Aug 27, 2017

很实战

By keshav b

Jun 10, 2020

<3

By Radoslav N

Oct 15, 2019

ok

By 林韋銘

Aug 25, 2019

gj

By Pham X V

Nov 06, 2018

:

)

By Xiangning C

Aug 19, 2017

好!

By PATEL P N

Apr 19, 2020

-

By Uday B C

Sep 30, 2019

.

By Sonal G

Sep 28, 2019

f

By Ishmael M

Jul 15, 2019

V

By Caoliangjie

Feb 20, 2019

T

By Dayvid V R d O

Oct 31, 2018

f

By Michele C

Jul 25, 2018

v

By Huifang L

May 08, 2018

V

By Yujie C

Feb 01, 2018

By Jampana b

Oct 18, 2017

G

By StudyExchange

Aug 21, 2017

V

By Ali K

Mar 29, 2020

In this course, the instructor from his experience gained through several machine learning and deep learning projects explains how to prioritize tasks in a big machine learning projects. This course does not introduce the reader to CNN or RNN but rather makes the user aware of some ML/DL tips to make the most efficient use of time and resources. Some of the most important questions addressed in this course are: 1) Why a single evaluation metric is important and what are some of the widely used metrics? 2) What is human-level performance and is it a good estimate of Bayes error? 3) What is Orthogonalization in the context of ML tasks and why is it important? 4) How to measure avoidable bias, variance error, data mismatch etc? 5) How to address data mismatch error? What is transfer learning and how is it different from multi-tasking 6) Whether one should opt for traditional or end-to-end deep learning approach?

By Zhenwei Z

Apr 03, 2020

This course from setting machine learning strategies, setting goals, error analysis and data distribution, migration and multitasking learning, and depth of the end-to-end neural network training and so on about the strategy of machine learning, to strengthen the depth of the first two lessons we learn the basic knowledge have the very big help, deep understanding of the depth of these knowledge is very good for our study harder to learn knowledge, such as convolution neural network. The greatest help of this course is that it makes us understand how to solve problems encountered in the actual development process and what is the most reasonable solution through two case studies.

By Oleg P

Nov 30, 2018

In this course, Andrew is giving very interesting practical insights into how to proceed in different project settings and how to speed up each iteration. Think of it as a stand-alone optimization algorithm for deep learning projects. What I'd further expect from this course are practical assignments, e.g., data acquisition and preprocessing patterns, data (image) augmentation, and transfer learning and multi-task learning (preferably building upon introduction to tensorflow in the previous course). As I already stated in the previous previews, optional assignments without grading would also do the work in motivating the students to do something on their own.

By Joe Z

Jan 07, 2019

Great insights as usual for these courses. Especially useful are the strategic insights for dealing with data mismatch between train and dev/test data sets; my favorite is the idea of a "train-dev" set to separate variance from the differences in data distributions, which had never occurred to me despite it being obvious in hindsight. The "flight sim" tests were more challenging than I expected, and really helped to cement the concepts into memory. The only criticism is that some coding assignments would have been helpful to put these ideas into practice in a guided manner. Otherwise, great course as I have come to expect from Andrew.

By Vignesh R

Jun 01, 2018

This course is more about explaining how to set your analysis universe(train/dev sets etc.) and where to go when u hit a road block i.e. when to concentrate on bias/variance etc.

Suggestions: Unlike other courses, no programming assignments here .. may be some programming assignments + Quiz in a case study format would have been more helpful. E.g. present a case, ask the student to write piece of code to calculate bias and other metrics, and then ask questions from the metrics derived instead of mentioning directly the values for human level error, Bayes estimate.

By AEAM

Jun 16, 2019

This is a great course, something I will keep coming back to even after I'm done because it talks about strategy and rules of thumb re: Machine Learning/ Deep Learning approaches. It introduced me to certain concepts that were brand new for me and that was a great outcome for me. I wish the audio was better and the notes were better because writing on the small screen really hinders expressibility. I would rather have Dr. Ng write/draw on a chalk board than the small screen, I feel it really constrains his process. Still it's a great course!