Chevron Left
Back to Managing the Organization: From Organizational Design to Execution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing the Organization: From Organizational Design to Execution by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.6
stars
675 ratings
117 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will build a practical framework to understand the critical linkages between organization design and the creation of economic value through execution. We will focus on four critical linkages: 1. How organizational growth and life cycle require design changes to improve execution 2. How managerial decision making can be improved through better organization design 3. How the design of human resource practices shape the culture of the organization 4. How innovation and change can be facilitated through organization design These linkages are critical in assessing how managers make sure that the organizations they design can execute the strategies they have envisioned under changing environmental conditions. Learners will be able to answer the following: • What are the managerial implications of organizational growth and life cycle? • How do you improve managerial decision making through organizational design? • How do human resource management policies shape organizational culture? • How do organizations plan for top management succession and change? • How do you know that your organization design is not effective? • How do you manage organizational change and innovation? This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

RO

Oct 16, 2017

A well presented course for implementing strategy related to the elements from organizational design to execution. This course stresses the importance and necessity of an integrated process that is

EK

Dec 29, 2018

A good course for those interested in some of the basic concepts that underly why senior executives make the decisions they do regarding organizational design and management.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 114 Reviews for Managing the Organization: From Organizational Design to Execution

By Lukas M

May 03, 2019

I didn't enjoy this as much as I did Northcraft's course; the lectures were long and slow, and instead of learning concepts and applying them, I felt like this course prided itself on making one remember obscure facts and details from the readings and lectures. This felt more like a high school approach than what I'd hope to get from an executive MBA course, honestly.

By Jeson M

Nov 18, 2017

Similar to Designing the Organization, this course is very informative and has a lot of content. However, the professor's lectures have too many distracting pauses. It's hard to keep my eyes open. Since this is a recorded session, he should either write down his speech as transcript first, or edit his lecture videos to remove the pauses.

By Messias M U

Jul 27, 2018

Professor Leblebici conducts learners through the discovery of the relationship between business design and strategic execution. When planning to start a business, executives/entrepreneurs have to think how they are going to execute their strategy, because this is critical for the business design. It was interesting to learn that success can be created right from the beginning by thinking in advance where the business will be going. I strongly recommend executives and entrepreneurs taking this course.

By Jai P

Jul 22, 2018

Prof. Leblebici has done a great job in making this course pretty practical and useful. This makes it readily applicable within my organization. The required reading selections were very useful. Creating an assignments and the questions based on the reading helped to think through the message more deeply, including the peer review of the same.

I found the questions following the case studies pretty challenging though. It did not follow a logical answer based on my thought process. I may need to review the material again, and not take the case studies as simple :)

Thanks again

By Anton F

Nov 07, 2016

strong 5 stars. There are some minor issues and concerns, BUT even the sun has spots. Two great things about this course. First, it's very structured overview of how organizations are designed and managed, HR policies, culture, decision making, also it reiterates Northcraft's courses pretty well. Second, is brilliant reading assignments. I would never found and read those articles. They've been SO useful. I definitely recommend this course, although I was a bit skeptical about the first part.

By Joe F

Apr 24, 2018

Very insightful course. It has already changed my way of thinking when it comes to how an organization / department is designed and how the company operates. Sadly, most of the companies that I have worked for lack a strong organizational design and therefore have no way of implementing or executing the goals of the organization.

By Neil M

Nov 09, 2019

Great course, the instructor was very good and covered some critical content. The conclusion of his two courses were particularly helpful to reinforce what was learnt.

The negative is the sheer amount of theory and reading materials, makes this challenging to absorb all the course materials.

However highly recommended!

By Bo L

Dec 15, 2019

I have learned a lot throughout the course. I think i gained the most when I was able to relate knowledge that i learned to my work and situations in real life, which i often can with the concepts and insights from this class. great course in general!

By Alejandro B F

May 29, 2016

Excellent, this is one the best Specializations in Coursera platform. My congratulations to Professor Huseyin Leblebici, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Coursera. Definitively, you are making a better world for the future generations

By Daniel O

Apr 10, 2018

Insightful, creative, well thought and presented course by all standard. Very challenging and flexible to understand and apply. If you need ideas as a leader to survive and thrive in this modern trend, then go for this course

By Raul N C G

Oct 14, 2018

Good course and consistent with the previous one making a solid set. Somewhat easier to follow than the previous one, although the Case Study Quizes remain trickier. Undeniably an important component to the specialization.

By Aakriti G

Apr 02, 2019

A great way to learn about the various aspects of organisational Design and change leadership. Well articulated and demonstrated. The reading materials are interesting and helpful in understanding the context.

By RANDAL O

Oct 16, 2017

A well presented course for implementing strategy related to the elements from organizational design to execution. This course stresses the importance and necessity of an integrated process that is

By Emi K

Dec 29, 2018

A good course for those interested in some of the basic concepts that underly why senior executives make the decisions they do regarding organizational design and management.

By Sohrob N G

Jul 30, 2019

Thanks for offering a useful course with lots of supporting videos, presentations, pdf files, and materials to test my comprehension level. Would definitely recommend.

By Antonio A E

Jul 14, 2019

Excelente curso. Claro, preciso y muy retador. Con grandes aprendizajes. Prof. Leblibici extraordinario instructor para aprendizaje significativo. Recomendable al 100%

By David H

Dec 11, 2019

I found this course very helpful in showing what the true responsibilities of managers are, and explaining the organizational designs we often see in companies.

By Maheshkumar P

May 20, 2017

Fantastic Course. I felt the course covered vast amount of ideas and management concepts. I also liked the required readings. Totally enjoyed this course...

By Bill

Jun 20, 2017

Excellent course. Excellent teacher. Excellent series. I like the range of readings, videos, tests and written assignments. Very highly recommended!

By Noman M A

May 21, 2017

An excellent course, which has been created by the professor keeping in mind the upcoming challenges of setting up and managing larger organizations

By Vince W

Dec 18, 2017

Really a great layout for this course, I have really enjoyed the sequence, case studies and lectures included with the course curriculum.

By S. I R

Dec 18, 2019

Really enjoyed learning how to manage an organization! Thank you very much for your invaluable insights! Best wishes - Indu Rupassara

By MUSA A

Mar 11, 2019

This course is loaded. Professor leblebici is superb. I learnt a lot from this course. Many thanks to Coursera and the lecturers.

By Elsa R

Jul 08, 2017

I wish I had more time to really absorb the material. Modules 3 & 4 really made me want to have classroom discussions

By Kyle J R

Jun 15, 2017

Excellent course, wonderful professor, and essential business concepts that everyone in the field should be aware of.