Chevron Left
Back to Managing the Organization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing the Organization by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
1,168 ratings
229 reviews

About the Course

This course is intended to help you become a better manager by helping you to more fully understand and deal with some of the complexities and challenges associated with managerial life in organizations. In this course, you will learn theories, principles, and frameworks that will help you to more effectively manage and lead the organizations that you belong to. We will view organizations from different perspectives that we will use as lenses to help us highlight common managerial challenges and point us toward solutions to those challenges. Some of these common challenges that we will explore in this course include using power effectively, implementing organizational change, understanding and managing organizational culture, decision-making including decision-making pitfalls and ethical traps, and leadership. As you learn and apply the principles from this course, you will be better prepared to navigate some of the complex challenges that you face as a manager....

Top reviews

RO
Oct 15, 2017

A well presented course for implementing strategy related to the elements from organizational design to execution. This course stresses the importance and necessity of an integrated process that is

SM
Dec 8, 2020

Great Course! Well-structured content with very useful and immediately applicable concepts! I will definitely recommend to a few more people I know who organically became in position of leadership.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 227 Reviews for Managing the Organization

By Jeson M

Nov 18, 2017

Similar to Designing the Organization, this course is very informative and has a lot of content. However, the professor's lectures have too many distracting pauses. It's hard to keep my eyes open. Since this is a recorded session, he should either write down his speech as transcript first, or edit his lecture videos to remove the pauses.

By Lukas M

May 3, 2019

I didn't enjoy this as much as I did Northcraft's course; the lectures were long and slow, and instead of learning concepts and applying them, I felt like this course prided itself on making one remember obscure facts and details from the readings and lectures. This felt more like a high school approach than what I'd hope to get from an executive MBA course, honestly.

By general l

Apr 21, 2020

Thanks a lot to UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS AT URBANA-CHAMPAIGN and the lectures that providing the educative-material about Managing the Organization. I very appreciate to the course and recommended it to someone that need self improvement & developing skill & knowledge basically in organization, business, professional team etc to take this course, that present by UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS AT URBANA-CHAMPAIGN. In my experience being in this course found that :

1. The material & the content has fully thinkable and relevant to the situation, in the otherwise keep on the the academic & studies based.

2. The presentation are also clear with the content that present

3. Detailed & well-arrangement of presentation structure in material also the explanation presentation by the lectures.

Fully recomended! Good job!

By Messias U

Jul 27, 2018

Professor Leblebici conducts learners through the discovery of the relationship between business design and strategic execution. When planning to start a business, executives/entrepreneurs have to think how they are going to execute their strategy, because this is critical for the business design. It was interesting to learn that success can be created right from the beginning by thinking in advance where the business will be going. I strongly recommend executives and entrepreneurs taking this course.

By Joseph M

Dec 2, 2019

Painful and random

By Michael W

May 12, 2020

Having been in management for over a decade, some of the concepts presented are consistent with previous content I have learned, like Ken Blanchard's Situational Leadership model. But I really like the different take on the information and how the information was presented. This class pulled a some loose ends together for me and made me think differently about my operations. The section on organizational culture was particularly valuable in my opinion. Thank you!

By Dr. M A G

Feb 2, 2021

The simplicity and streamlined flow of the course made it very easy to grasp the concept. Also a lot of interest is developed in studying more related areas of the course as a result of the well executed course and delivery of the course material. All in all an excellent course and a must do for senior managerial position or ones anticipating to be in senior managerial positions in the near future.

By Sarawud Y

Apr 14, 2020

This course will enhance fundamental perspectives on managing the organization theoretically and precisely. All deliverable concepts, theories and so on can completely be applied in real world of work. Thank you GIES for broadening my perspectives in this field.

By Fatima A

Jun 1, 2020

Amazing course. Gives brief introduction to the world of management and leadership. Introduces to various pitfalls and solutions to problems in organisations. Great explanation about leadership styles and their use.

By Tobias B

Apr 7, 2021

Very useful course for understanding what management can do. If you ever asked yourself why your boss is so bad at running things, or is a great leader, this course will answer this question with great insight.

By Dilshan M D

Apr 12, 2020

This course content is very practical and learned a lot of new methods, theories and tools. Thank you very much for the University of Illinois and professors who did the lecturers.

By Panagiotis K

Apr 11, 2020

Really interesting course with interesting videos and useful reading material! I warmly recommend it to those who want to get a first knowledge of the issues presented.

By T'Chana H

May 9, 2020

This was an awesome course! The concepts were thoroughly and clearly explained, the content was interesting, and the examples were relatable. Definitely recommend!

By Rafis A

Mar 11, 2021

It was good and useful course offering a combination of clear explanation of organizational management and covering most important theoretical approaches

By Hope G

Apr 30, 2020

Wonderful course that is easy to follow yet jam packed with information that we as leaders can apply on day 1.

By Modester A O

Aug 3, 2020

Have learned a lot about decision-making models, ethics and the place of culture in an organization

By Pham C K

May 13, 2020

This is a very good course. Materials are well selected and the progression is well paced.

By Eric N K

Jul 7, 2020

This is a great course by all standards. I love the presentation of the instructors.

By Dennison L

May 5, 2020

Likely one of the best leadership courses in the iMBA program.

By Kafui B

Aug 5, 2020

The lecturers explained the material really well. Impressive

By Vincent P

Apr 14, 2020

Very informative. Both professors were awesome! Thank you!

By Monica P

May 4, 2020

excellent content and very relevant for my role!

By Olufemi L O

Apr 23, 2020

Very useful course for career development!!!!

By Ayesha B

Jun 10, 2020

Okay so I just completed course 4 of 7 called "managing the organization", and it was good, however; It did take a while to read through and comprehend all the info being presented because at times, the people in the videos rambled on for so long that the importance of the material in the video was getting lost. I had to re-read over and over again to really understand what they were rambling on about! Also, the quizzes often had questions that were NOT referenced in the material. For example there was mention of "time tellers" and "clock makers" in the week 4 quiz, but nowhere in the material did it mention any such jargon! Even if i was to go back and re-read or re-watch the videos, there would be absolutely no reference to the question being asked, and I had to take a wild guess because the wording just wasn't ringing any bells. Lastly, there was a peer reviewed assignment that was being reviewed by students of all skill levels....so in my case my work was being reviewed by students who have terrible written and I am assuming also terrible verbal english skills and very clearly (based on their comments) not competent enough to be grading other people's work. If my work was being graded by a professor and not some numpty, I most certainly would have received a higher grade. other than that, it is a useful course for anybody looking for supervisor/management courses. Cheers!

By Lawrence S

May 17, 2017

The essence of the course was good, but the lectures where not the quality I expected. So while I found the theory incredibly interesting and helpful, with application to every day business interaction, the lectures where long winded, lacked in depth knowledge and explanation of a complex subject, and on occasion where dull and uninteresting. source material, readings and extended content on the topic was incredibly interesting.

I would keep the topic, but restructure the lectures.

None the less, i would still suggest participation in the course, just to broaden understanding and knowledge.