Chevron Left
Back to Market Research and Consumer Behavior

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Market Research and Consumer Behavior by IE Business School

4.4
stars
4,659 ratings

About the Course

Your marketing quest begins here! The first course in this specialization lays the neccessary groundwork for an overall successful marketing strategy. It is separated into two sections: Market Research and Consumer Behavior. Gain the tools and techniques to translate a decision problem into a research question in the Market Research module. Learn how to design a research plan, analyze the data gathered and accurately interpret and communicate survey reports, translating the results into practical recommendations. You will then focus in on the consumer decision-making process, highlighting the key moments from identifying a need to buying and consuming a product. Adopt a true “consumer focus” in your managerial decisions by analyzing how consumers make decisions, what happens (in their hearts and minds) at different stages of the decision making process, and the variables that influence those decisions. This course will equip you with the knowledge required to understand the state of your product before approaching the market strategy. There’s no better place to build the foundations of your marketing journey!...

Top reviews

NS

Jun 28, 2020

Nice and systematic presentation of the contents help to gain the knowledge to anyone.

Really nice and helpful for me , it develops a basic ideas of market and customer relations understanding.

DV

Oct 18, 2018

This is a very complete course, with a lot of interesting concepts. People without formal studies on marketing who want to have overall, strong and relevant understanding should start right here!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 1,012 Reviews for Market Research and Consumer Behavior

By Ankur B

May 19, 2019

The instructor should explain the concepts in videos properly rather than just reading the content. The quizzes should be longer and should cover more content.

By Bharat A

May 20, 2019

The course was too much theory-focused. Was not very interesting. Although learned a bit new. It should have had more examples along with it.

By R G

Sep 16, 2017

Concise summary: Waste of your time.

If you either a) have any even small number of functional neurons and/or b) ever even casually partaken in any sort of ultrabasic business or science class (we're talking kindergarten level here), then you'd be able to make a better lecture than what is being offered here. Unfortunately, Coursera does not let one give <1 star.

The major issues with this course include: i) absolute lack of organization - there is no discernible flow of ideas between lectures and units; ii) similarly complete lack of learning objectives - you basically end up having heard of prospect theory for the first time (unless you have encountered this concept before), but none of the materials in the course can be applied to anything; how do you perform market research? No idea, since that wasn't taught in the class; iii) instructor is woefully underprepared and presents the materials in unimaginative ways with very little apparent effort or thought put into the presentations or quiz questions; iv) and absolutely zero assignments given - how are you supposed to solidify newly acquired knowledge without practice?

Lastly, the staged interviews with the "model customer" were painfully awkward, to say the very least. Not to mention that despite there having been somewhere around 10 or so interviews between the instructor and the model customer, they basically all had no information that wasn't completely intuitive to begin with (no kidding - she spends more time researching her options for a $1000+ laptop than on milk?! I've been living my life all wrong this entire time! (*Pardon the sarcasm*)).

The cherry on top is that this was offered as a free 7-day trial, which then converted into a paid subscription for coursera. This course was not worth even a single month's payment. Interestingly enough, the reason I stayed subscribed was due to discovering another course, which is at the absolute other end of the quality scale - Andrew Ng's Machine learning course. Even if you are not interested in the topic of machine learning, go check out his course just to see what a 5-star course looks like content- and organization-wise!

By Dahyr V

Oct 19, 2018

This is a very complete course, with a lot of interesting concepts. People without formal studies on marketing who want to have overall, strong and relevant understanding should start right here!

By Jagada C

May 17, 2019

It is a decent course but can be more theoretical than practical. But overall it is a good revision of basic concepts.

By amit s

Oct 13, 2019

As a fundamental course in market research and consumer behavior, the course covers major areas that come under research and consumer behavior. I find the flow of the course interesting.

By Abby F

Aug 11, 2020

I learned the basics of market research and consumer behavior. I do wish the courses were more applicable vs university like where it's a lot of info but not all of it's necessary. I want real world examples of how to apply the information. Stuff you would learn on a job and not a university.

By Melvin G

Feb 6, 2020

I have learnt so much on the fundamentals of Consumer Behaviour and Market Research. Thank you to Professor Sameek Sinha for the guidance and excellent delivery of the module lesson.

By Isabel

Feb 5, 2020

I do not understand when gettin your certificate why it has you check a box but you can't check the box if you are from Cuba, Iran and a few other places. Is this a racist thing? People in those countries should be able to take this course too! You shouldn't just offer it to certain countries.

By Mayank S

Dec 14, 2020

Lack of examples to elaborate on various methods described

By MARTA K

Jan 23, 2018

I finish the course and send you my ID photo and I haven't got my certification. Now you're asking me to sign up again to get it. This is terrible experience ! What was the point of doing this if we don't send certifications

By Shaurya s

Apr 10, 2020

Thank-you for the course. Amazing professor and his teaching style. Gained a lot of clarity and insight towards how to conduct research, choose a sample, frame hypothesis and avoid making errors.

By Neeraj K S

Jun 29, 2020

Nice and systematic presentation of the contents help to gain the knowledge to anyone.

Really nice and helpful for me , it develops a basic ideas of market and customer relations understanding.

By Kavya B

Aug 16, 2023

This is a terrible made course, not enough explanation for someone who is new to the concept and not enough depth for someone who is well aware of the marketing tools mentioned. NO explanation behind the "why" of things. Why do I not ask leading questions, what happens if I do, etc. The Prof tries his best to get you interested but fails. The tests have questions from topics that have not been covered in the videos. Typos in the quizzes. Quite disappointed, as I love Consumer Behaviour.

By Anand R P

Apr 9, 2020

One of the best course to take in order to learn about what really goes inside the mind of a consumer while shopping. The course content, course instructor and layout all were really great.

By Pepin K

Nov 26, 2020

The course was very helpful. It helped me refresh all my consumer behavior knowledge and addressed my blurred area of market resarch as a whole. The key was the detail explanatory videos.

By Lara B

Jul 18, 2023

This course was very difficult to understand given the teacher and unclear content. Unfortunately, it was hard to understand the teacher and his accent. I tried to read the transcripts for the video but it was broken english, grammatically incorrect, and often the teacher would say one thing, and immediately digress, making it very confusing on which statement is true. The questions/answers in the quizzes were not explained clearly in the lessons, even after referring back multiple times to the lessons and readings. The videos of the teacher speaking to a person in the field shopping for different products was completely useless, boring, and repetitive. It would have been much more helpful to see more diagrams and/or slides with multiple real life examples.

By Arshiya A

Jan 25, 2023

I've had bad teachers in my life, But wow! This guy unlocked a whole new level! Every single part of his teaching is awful. His kindergarten level knowledge, his robot like talking as if he's reading from a textbook, his sloppy power point slides, his repetition (you can summarize the whole course in 5 sentences) and GOD! HIS TERRIBLE ACCENT (We're sitting to learn consumer behavior from a guy who pronounces consumer "Conjumer"). Don't waste your time here, you'll end up with a headache like me. instead go to a magical website called Google and search the course title, you'll find stuff that are a lot more helpful than this course. P.S: I don't understand all these 5-star ratings. Is he keeping your family hostage?

By Mukesh D

Apr 13, 2023

It was a good course but it needed more videos and visuals and it could of been more clear.

By ABHISHEK A

Apr 8, 2020

It heps us to Gain the tools and techniques to translate a decision problem into a research question in the Market Research module. Further help us to learn how to design a research plan, analyze the data gathered accurately interpret and communicate survey reports, translating the results into practical recommendations. You will then focus in on the consumer decision-making process, highlighting the key moments from identifying a need to buying and consuming a product. Adopting a true “consumer focus” in your managerial decisions by analyzing how consumers make decisions, what happens (in their hearts and minds) at different stages of the decision making process,

By Nicole L

Jun 10, 2020

If you were a Junior Market Researcher or Analyst, this course is absolutely perfect for you. Because I am not a market researcher, so the Statistical part lost me quite a while. But it's just me. Really like the part where daily life example was involved when Shamik explained about Customer Behavior. Another suggestion to Shamik - can you please review the English subtitle? There was a few typo error for example "Within subject variation" was typed as "Wooden subject variation" in the subtitle. Thank you!

By Love A

Sep 27, 2022

I enjoyed this course. It was exactly what I needed and I especially enjoyed the integration of real-life scenarios with Tiffany and the humour everytime professor appeared and said "Hi Tiffany, it's me again!😅". Also, I learned so much about consumer psychology, psychometrics, the marketing research process and I look forward to other courses in the Specialization

By ALVIN E L

Mar 29, 2024

Market Research and Consumer Behavior taught by Shameek Sinha is a must when you want to dive deeper into the fundamentals of the subject. You can review and read journal articles and the quizzes are relevant and concise. You should learn from this course if you want to know how to do market research and what are the things you must consider. Highly recommended!

By Busola J

Sep 18, 2021

Very interactive and the clarity of the subject is brilliant. I now understood the difference between primary data and secondary data. It is also interesting to know that whenever there is type II error in any hypothesis, null can't be rejected even though the null hypothesis is false. It is an exciting course.

By Deepa C

Mar 24, 2021

Found it insightful and comprehensive. Would recommend to all those who are as intrigued as I am about consumer behavior and market research space. A good starting point to evaluate one's interest! I would have loved to actually do a project so as to deepen the understanding of the concepts.