Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Meteor.js Development

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Meteor.js Development by University of London

4.6
1,070 ratings
276 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn how to create a complete, multi-user web site using the Meteor.js framework and MongoDB. You will implement user authentication, security features, reactive templates and routing using iron router. You will carry out key database operations such as inserting, removing and updating data as well as sorting and filtering. You will see how a complete application can be built, line by line. At the end of the course, you will be able to: 1. Install the Meteor.js system and create a web application 2. Work with the Meteor.js packaging system 3. Write Meteor.js templates that can reactively display data 4. Use insert, remove and update operations on MongoDB 5. Write MongoDB data filters to search for and sort data 6 .Add user authentication functionality to a website 7. Control what is displayed on the page using iron:router 8. Implement basic security features In this course, you will complete: 1 server install assignment taking ~1 hour to complete 1 programming assignment taking ~8 hours to complete 4 quizzes, each taking ~20 minutes to complete multiple practice quizzes, each taking ~5 minutes to complete Prerequisites This course is designed to build on top of the material delivered in the previous two courses in this specialisation. Therefore, we recommend that if you find this course too technically challenging that you first complete the previous courses before re-commencing this one. Specifically, we expect you to be able to code basic HTML, CSS and Javascript before you take this course. Participation in or completion of this online course will not confer academic credit for University of London programmes....

Top reviews

TH

Jul 27, 2016

Thought it was a great intro to Meteor. Practical and easy to follow along, at least for someone like me with a Comp Sci background (though it has been many years since I really programmed).

JB

Mar 11, 2016

very good introduction to Meteor.js the real time application development very fast.\n\nThose who want to do full stack development without learning server side language can try Meteor.js

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 272 Reviews for Introduction to Meteor.js Development

By Keith C

Aug 07, 2018

Unfortunately I can't give this course a higher grade because of the issues I (and many others, looking at the forums) had in setting up & using Meteor on Windows. This caused me a lot of lost time, to the point where I almost gave up altogether. Furthermore, there are many mistakes & errors in the course itself, which dropped me marks & made for an overall much poorer learning experience compared to the previous 2 courses in the series.

As a result of my horrible experience with this course I won't be taking any more in the series (I can't risk dropping out because of course-related issues) , but will look to pickup web development with another provider, such as Udacity.

This course needs a thorough staff review and all it's issues sorting out.

By Saranjit S T

Mar 07, 2019

Good course for learning the fundamentals of meteor.

By Tim j W

Mar 21, 2019

good starter on meteor. love to see how this differs from using react vs blaze.

By sarish b

Sep 13, 2018

this is a good course but quite old..please upload new vwesion of videos or the videos of meteor used in new version

By Aaron S

Jan 19, 2016

Loved it! Hope a part two is in the making. Meteor has great potential for fast high level development.

By Thelemaque D

Dec 17, 2015

Great course

By Nicola R A

Jan 12, 2016

Excellent learning course

By Vahan A

Nov 23, 2015

Good one, thanks

By Christos S

Jul 29, 2016

Awesome intro and an even more awesome platform!

By Flávio R d S C

Jan 27, 2016

Awesome introduction to Meteor.js with very clear examples and explanation. It could be less "directed" and a bit more general, but as a starter course, it's very good.

By David S

Jan 19, 2017

This course is just great!

By saoud-ur-rehman

Sep 15, 2017

Excellent course for seasoned web-devs

By camilo a f

Dec 06, 2015

Excelent...

By Alexandra Z

Apr 14, 2018

This course makes it easy to get started with meteor js

By Adrian A

Feb 11, 2016

Very good intro to meteor.

By Randy F

Dec 30, 2015

Very good course on an introduction to Meteor.js. The course is a nice speed and flows well. It would be nice if there were more assignments in the weeks 1 - 3. You can create ones on your own (which I did), but it would be nice if there were more guided or outlined ones.

By Anand K

Nov 17, 2015

good

but small

By Muhammad H S

Aug 11, 2016

I am really impressed how Dr. Matthew taught this course. I have been working with meteor from the past one and a half year and I would recommend this course as the top priority to anyone who is just starting off isomorphic web development.

By Mikhail S

Apr 23, 2016

Thank you for this awesome course!

By Jori L

Feb 10, 2016

The prof is both engaging and effective. This is a great guided introduction to Meteor.

By Jason D L

Dec 17, 2015

Excellent course. Fast paced, and the final project is a doozy, but well worth the effort. Dr. Yee-King is a fantastic instructor and does a great job of walking you through the material while encouraging the students to pursue further research on their own to more fully understand the nuances of the course subject. The code examples provided are very helpful, with easy to understand comments to help guide the student through the code. I thoroughly enjoyed it and can't wait for the rest of the courses in the specialization!

By Oscar R

Dec 15, 2015

Very useful to understand the framework from scratch.

By Moulay D E A F

Jan 04, 2016

Excellent course to discover Meteor!

The instructor is very clear, and the selected topics are quite nice!

By Michael T D

Jan 14, 2017

Matthew is really good and takes you through the stuff at a good pace. There are some difficulties with the code sometimes because of more recent versions of Meteor etc. However, these are solved in the forums. Also, any difficulties force you to go and find out and experiment a bit so that was actually great.

By Alberto G

Apr 02, 2016

Great course and introduction to Meteor.js The course material is very complete, and the topics cover are all what you need to know about meteor from start to simple application up and running. Every chapter is well explained and easy to follow. I widely recommend this course for getting basic knowledge of Meteor and its features.