Chevron Left
Back to Microeconomics Principles

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Microeconomics Principles by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.8
stars
2,680 ratings

About the Course

Most people make the incorrect assumption that economics is ONLY the study of money. My primary goal in this course is to shatter this belief. During this course, we will be addressing the above questions as well as many more relating to: -the environment -love and marriage -crime -labor markets -education -politics -sports -business My main goal is to show you the way economists think and how to use this analytical system to answer questions related not only to these and other important human issues but to anything you end up doing with your life after this class. After all, as you will quickly find out, I believe that everything is economics!...

Top reviews

VA

Mar 13, 2019

It's a very well made course. Special thanks to Dr Jose for conveying the fundamentals of Microeconomics in such a lucid and simple way which helps in developing a solid intuition for the subject. :)

KJ

Jul 15, 2020

great course, very interesting, loved the idea of changing locations, interviewing different people, idea of teaching through games. One thing I lacked at understanding was the graph of cost curves

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 584 Reviews for Microeconomics Principles

By GOKHALE A R

Jul 12, 2020

Amazing course. Started with the absolute basics. The professor explained every concept in very much detail and simplified the explanation at all points. The explanation and the lectures were very intuitive and also not being read from a script. This gave a very personal touch to the entire course. The interactions with real people from the real world coupled with a couple of games to introduce concepts was also very encouraging to keep going on with the course.

The concepts covered are very much relevant in daily life and have the potential to change our economic thinking while making purchases, producing goods or selling services. Thank you Dr. Jose Vasquez-Cognet and Coursera for providing this wonderful course.

By Tatiana T B

Jul 4, 2020

Excelente curso.

Cada uno de los videos fue muy entendible, muy bien explicados, fáciles de entender y ver.

El curso proporciona otra mirada a la economía no centrándose en métodos matemáticos si no en la interpretación y lógica de cad auno de las teorías y temas tratados. Permite darse cuenta que la economía es algo más que sólo las transacciones monetarias.

También es muy interesante el cómo la economía va de la mano con el pensamiento del consumidor y cómo este ve afectadas sus decisiones.

Felicitaciones al profesor José y a todos los participes de este curso.

Muchas gracias.

By Lizal D

Jul 6, 2020

My experience throughout the course was amazing as I got to learn that economics can be used in every aspect of life ,and learned a lot in an easy and practical way. Dr. José J. Vázquez-Cognet was one of the best Economics professor I have ever had , his way of teaching the course theoretically and practically had got me more interested towards the course. I Thankyou for being such an amazing teacher and for all your great lessons.

By Troi Y P

Aug 9, 2020

This class was taught in a very clear and concise way without being dry and full of unexplained jargon. I was extremely happy with my choice in choosing this microeconomics course. The instructor takes the time to explain economic concepts in a very relatable way. I especially liked the mini-games he videos students doing as a way to explain the concepts of the lecture.

By Harsh T

Aug 8, 2017

The course was very informative, full of real life examples and all the principles covered were explained in a way which I, a beginner to economics, found very easy to understand. Real life examples helped me to relate it with my own experiences, short length videos and interactive questions in between the course helped in keeping me completely focused on the course.

By Nandini A

Nov 27, 2020

Excellent course! All the concepts were explained brilliantly with examples, applications and criticisms. The discussion forums were engaging and the quiz questions helped me think a step further. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone who wants to have a solid foundation in microeconomics concepts!

By Alexa W

Jan 25, 2021

Highly engaging course with questions, real-life examples, and discussion prompts. I would recommend this course for anyone looking for an introduction to microeconomics.

By ABBHIJITH.H

Dec 30, 2020

Amazing course!. Prof. Jose made byzantine concepts easier to understand and follow through demonstrations and lucid explanations.

By Nima A

Mar 7, 2021

It's an entry-level course. Do not expect lots of math in the course, but You'll get lots of insight from this course.

By Lim K

May 23, 2022

The syllabus is well organised and the learning is fun.

However, I personally feel that the instructor talk too fast and the subtitle sometimes does not really reflect on what the instructor really mean.

By ASHISH P

Dec 2, 2020

worst experience and questions quality is too basic needs to be difficult. All answers are available on Quizlet.

By Dina M

Oct 7, 2020

It was a great pleasure to enjoy the mild working atmosphere aimed at improving my understanding of common microeconomic theory! I would like to express my gratitude to all the parties included into contributing to my and hundreds of other students for our ability to pass this course:

Coursera platform for providing unlimited opportunities,

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign for the brilliant Dr. José J. Vázquez-Cognet,

American University of Central Asia for bringing its students ground for professional achievements.

P.S.: What a nice surprise it is to see Dr. José J. Vázquez-Cognet's signature on my Coursera certificate! I've recently get so accustomed to his face while watching his lessons. :)

By Martin B

Oct 9, 2020

Muy buenos dias:

Considero que el curso fue muy provechoso, con un docente de primer nivel. Muy interesante relacionar los hechos de la vida real con las categorías teoricas de la microeconomia. La evaluacion, la considera con gran porcentaje de autenticidad impulsando al estudiante a pensar en la aplicacion de los conceptos. Muy agradecido tambien por los elementos tecnologicos utilizados, el acceso a la traduccion inglés-español ya que, nos abrió mayores posibilidades para los que no somos totalmente bilingues. El Dr. Vasquez-Cognet mostró su vasto conocimiento con buena dinamica que permite al estudiante mantener buen animo para accesar a conocimientos científicos. Muchas gracias por su atención.

By VIJAY K

May 18, 2022

The course was intuitive and very interesting. All the examples were relevant and easy to follow. If anything, I'd prefer if the course progressed a little faster than it did.this course helps to understand the how to apply basic principles about profit and loss in buying any product in market and how it related to society explained briefly by the professorThe course is really well structured. Examples that are given are very easy to understand and it surely helps someone with no prior knowledge to these subject, to understand it with quickly.

By Giullia S P

Aug 13, 2021

Microeconomics Principle is a very good course, it's worth it. The teaching is very interesting, the use of examples makes understanding the concepts easier and Professor José is fantastic.

My observation is that anyone who has the time to answer all the discussions certainly has a lot more to learn and develop the skill of critical think.

Prof. José Vazquez thank you so much for sharing your limited resource and for making this knowledge available to everyone. 

By Hussain S

Dec 7, 2020

The course provides very different perspective for anyone interested in this field in understanding that what actually the reason behind any policies, government or business or company for which we work

takes and what is there motto or goal to achieve.

The course will help you find some common sense with why some market events occur.

I think one of the best courses to take if interested in economics , will be looking forward to take even more courses from here.

By Uzma K

Jan 30, 2023

Dr Jose was the perfect instructor and explained the concepts brilliantly, in simple and clear terms. I cannot thank him enough for making Economics one of my favourite social science subjects. He linked everything he taught to practical examples in the real-world, and this approach is what made the ideas and concepts stick in my head. I will most certainly recommend this course to anyone wishing to pursue Microeconomics.

By Takashi F

Aug 6, 2017

This course is very very good. I feel that this course is going to be a milestone in my life. I did not know that economics is such an interesting field of study until I took this "Microeconomics Principles"course. The course level is not too difficult and course schedule is quite manageable for me who works full time in a profession which is quite demanding.

By Benny L

Sep 30, 2020

This course elaborates many economic concepts and phrase in popular and easy-to-understand language. Meanwhile it demonstrates economic issues with daily samples, it's familiar and able to be remembered. After finishing studying this course, I learnt lots of basic economic concepts and are able to explain some phenomenon by using the knowledge I learnt.

By M. F

Jun 26, 2022

This was by far the best course I have ever taken on Coursera! The extensive use of examples makes the class very interesting and applicable to daily life, and as an introduction to the field, this class is very useful. I would certainly highly recommend this course to anyone wanting to learn more about the economics behind our world!

By D K

Sep 9, 2019

I love the way Dr Jose simplifies complicated principles through the use of practical examples. It's making Economics - a subject i once hated, being a creative pro and all - very interesting. My deepest appreciation and gratitude to UoI, Dr Jose and Coursera for not only making this course available but also consumable

By DEEPANSH S

Feb 8, 2023

This course actually does what it described in the introduction. I had to do this course for college assessment. But this became interesting enough and has made me much more interested in economics. It also has definitely given me insight into better decision-making skills. Thank you Dr. Jose for the fantastic course.

By Orçun S

Dec 15, 2021

This course is absolutely necessary for the higher level of career. In my opinion, starting to economic principles from this course is a fundamental necessity. The wording is simple and understandable. Lecturer is really efficient. He is giving samples from real life with videos which reinforce the lessons. Thank you!

By Sajid I A

Nov 2, 2016

The lecturer is amazing! The way he describes things is quite wonderful. He definitely got me more interested in economics in general. I would definitely recommend this course to any beginner in economics. Also, I am seriously considering U Illinois at Urbana-Champaigne for an exchange now, given that it happens.

By Subir M

Mar 13, 2018

This course was of immense help to sharpen my knowledge in microeconomics. I like to personally thank the course instructor to bring in so many case study to help me understand this course better. Finally I would like to request to create an advanced version of this course to appreciate the course more.