Chevron Left
Back to What is “the mind” and what is artificial intelligence?

Learner Reviews & Feedback for What is “the mind” and what is artificial intelligence? by University of Colorado Boulder

4.5
stars
95 ratings
25 reviews

About the Course

In this course, we will explore the history of cognitive science and the way these ideas shape how we think of artificial cognition....

Top reviews

AM
Aug 7, 2020

Very interesting course with a basic level. Topics are addressed in a very general way. Topics are of philosophical importance and motivates you to think more about them.

TJ
May 5, 2020

Gives you a lot to think about. A great introduction to thinking about computational complexity and the mind vs the machine.

Filter by:

1 - 24 of 24 Reviews for What is “the mind” and what is artificial intelligence?

By Vidisha M

May 10, 2020

Wow! This course was really challenging as it made me do so many web searches. I found it difficult but then I feel I learnt a lot of new things because of it. It was a moderate level course for me as I am not exactly from the computational background but neuroscience/neuropsychology. However, it was a really good experience! Thank you so much for this course.

By DIEGO F S C

Jun 22, 2020

It is a good introduction to what is artificial intelligence and that has been sought or meaning from its origins

By Alexander D

Sep 6, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The workload was very reasonable, the deadlines were easy and flexible, and the material was all quite interesting. The videos made it so that all of the material was relatively easy to understand, with little background knowledge of the subject required. Overall, a good start to the Mind and Machine Specialization.

By Teo J

May 6, 2020

Gives you a lot to think about. A great introduction to thinking about computational complexity and the mind vs the machine.

By Stacey C

Aug 26, 2020

The subject matter is interesting but the first three weeks are a mess! The quizzes ask questions before content is presented. And then the exact same questions are used in multiple quizzes after the material is presented, and again after additional material is presented. Week 4 was by far the best organized and interesting. I hope the rest of the specialization is more like week 4 than weeks 1 - 3.

By Anmol M

Feb 18, 2021

this course gives you a very good conceptual framework to understand the AI and other related systems that we are creating. Amazing especially if you consider that all the other courses are just teaching you how to do stuff. This course gives you the why. One of a kind. Thanks for all the effort, Prof Mike. RIP

By Andrés F G M

Aug 8, 2020

Very interesting course with a basic level. Topics are addressed in a very general way. Topics are of philosophical importance and motivates you to think more about them.

By Chibuzor N

Nov 30, 2020

This course has been extremely enlightening. Big thanks to Coursera and the University of Colorado, Boulder!

By Johnny B V

Sep 3, 2020

Good introduction to the concept of the mind and must-read papers.

By Kevin M G

Jul 10, 2020

I really liked the approach of this course. Thanks a lot!

By D M D A

Sep 26, 2020

Excellent. Quiz questions are tough to solve

By dr.aruna k b

Aug 9, 2020

its good course and very informative

By Anjana M

May 29, 2020

The course was really nice

By Rahul S

Aug 1, 2020

Wonderful course

By KHADE B B

Jul 11, 2020

excellent

By Fulvio R F A

Aug 30, 2020

cool

By Mark H

Dec 27, 2020

Content is a great mix between big philosophical questions and more technical problems. 4 instead of 5 stars because the presentation is poor: video sound is bad, quizzes sometimes don't make sense, one reading is no longer available, organisation of the material over the weeks feels unbalanced.

By Maria L I d V

Dec 3, 2020

It's quite close to philosophy of maths and porgramming, so philosophers of mind may find it difficult to successfully complete the tasks. However, it is a great course.

By Harry A

May 26, 2020

This gives a decent overview and a starter towards interests in Computational Cognition, giving necessary background in the evolution of the research area.

By HELLEN D S S

Aug 5, 2020

Nice course. It´s answer many dubts about mind and openned much more...

Note: Be careful with the calculations at the end.

By DR. V P P

Aug 4, 2020

Please make the programme more student-friendly, because so many hasn't sufficient mathematical-logical intelligence.

By David B

Dec 29, 2020

Interesting questions - some were a little vague at times - altogether an interesting course.

By Patrick B C

Dec 4, 2020

The substance and content is pretty good and I enjoyed the course. However, as noted there are some bad recordings that are distracting. Also, some of the quiz questions (at least in the first week) seem to precede the material as presented. Some of the quiz questions have spelling errors and can be unclear what they are asking.

By Martin K

Nov 8, 2020

Even though the materials for the course are good, the ordering of them was really weird. E.g. in the first quiz, I was supposed to have the knowledge of most of the articles that were only introduced later in the course. Moreover, the content of some of the quizzes is repetitive (repeating the exact same questions and answers).