Chevron Left
Back to Model Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Model Thinking by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
1,942 ratings
429 reviews

About the Course

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

Top reviews

GK
Feb 24, 2017

Great content and lectures, that possibly provides new dimensions to look/explain the situation in context, I guess I will comeback for references to continue with this journey in to 'Model Thinking'

AA
Nov 23, 2020

very informative and insightful on how to use the various models at our disposal to take optimal decision. Also, was nostalgic to go back in time where these models were part of my university degree.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 420 Reviews for Model Thinking

By krishna m

Jun 28, 2019

Excellent course to understand how to use different models to think and make decisions, in general and in a work setting, in particular.

By Cliff S

Sep 18, 2016

Excellent course, wide scale application, highly recommend.

Also :

-clear presentation

-no technical issues with quizzes or content issues

By Armand R

Apr 9, 2016

Eye-opening cross-disciplinary program with an outstanding teacher. Cannot be better, thank you Internet for bringing this to everyone.

By Saishankar S

Jul 28, 2020

This is a 5 Star course that really makes a person "more intelligent" and better at understanding the world and real-life situations.

By Alan Z

Jun 7, 2016

Very cool course shows me how to model many real world examples, tons of modeling techniques, and most importantly, how to think inde

By Emily M

Jan 4, 2016

This course is brilliant. Organised, well paced and has really consolidated the direction of study I would like to pursue. Thank you!

By Şükrü B

Jun 2, 2017

This was one of the best courses I've taken so far. Thanks for providing this great material and information to students worldwide.

By Taffy E

Jan 6, 2016

Excellent course. Even just the first two weeks are worth 5 stars. The math can be intimidating later on. Take what works for you!!

By Otávio B d S S

Jun 2, 2019

Really great course. Thanks University of Michigan and Professor Scott Page for sharing such interesting material with us. Bests!

By İsmail k

Nov 12, 2019

It was great introductory course to the awesome world of models. I've enjoyed and learned a lot. Thanks Coursera and Prof. Page.

By Ugo Z

Oct 30, 2019

I enjoy a lot the contents and the way this course is taught. It certainly delivers its promises and it does that with a smile.

By Murshida M

Sep 21, 2020

A very fun and comprehensive course. Helps you to look at the world with a better and a much clearer perspective using models.

By Bart H J

May 1, 2019

If you're interested in thinking more accurately, this course exposes you to a variety of models to help with that. Terrific!

By Godwin K

Oct 22, 2016

Broad & Simple to follow - some basic math is required. Many models introduced and extremenly useful to have in your toolbox.

By Din K

Mar 16, 2019

Very good introduction to model thinking. Thanks for providing this free course and the excellent delivery from Scott Page.

By Ellen P

Oct 22, 2016

I definitely will recommend it to some other friends! It made me understood much better with great and detailed examples.

By Jinghao C

May 21, 2016

It is a great class. Please keep moving on if you could not understand some sections. You will get it in future sections.

By Соколова Д А

Dec 7, 2017

Super informative and in some cases even entertaining.This course helped me to look at our lives from a different poi

By Lim K B J

May 3, 2020

Excellent course , very clear lectures by Professor Scott and an intellectual course. Learned a lot and thank you !

By Adrià C A

May 24, 2019

Really useful course. Recommended to everyone who want to be introduced to models and acquire a new way of thinking.

By 任喆

Oct 2, 2016

I would love to watch the videos again! They are helpful and you will find that they can be used in your daily life.

By Artem S

Nov 4, 2015

Excellent overview of a wide variety of models with nice and easy tasks and great examples of real life application.

By Danilo B S

Jan 19, 2017

Excellent course, it helps understanding the world around us and creating logical ways to solve complex problems.

By Udai T

Jan 7, 2021

Terrific, well-designed course! It gives us a lot of tools to use for daily problem-solving and decision-making.