Chevron Left
Back to Patent Law

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Patent Law by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
stars
130 ratings
24 reviews

About the Course

In our modern technologically-based economy, the creation and enforcement of patent rights can make or break a business. With record numbers of patents being issued every year, the stakes for inventors (and, indeed, their lawyers) continue to rise, even as the patent law and its administration faces growing criticism. This course begins with an examination of the fundamental justifications for and creation of U.S. patent rights as well as the relationship between patent law and other “intellectual property” concepts. We will then delve into the details of the U.S. requirements for patentability, and explore the scope of patent rights, again considering how the policies expressed reflect the justifications for patent rights. Then we will look at an actual patent document and analyze the different pieces of an issued patent with a special focus on the importance of patent claims. Finally, we will explore strategies for dealing with patent infringement....

Top reviews

MA
Jan 18, 2020

The selection of course topics were knowledgeful and the way lectures were delivered absolutely excellent. The final assignment was indeed practical which provided handsome learning.

MF
Mar 19, 2020

Very well explained and entertaining. Sufficient level of detail. Even though I am quite experienced on topic, I still could learn new things. Recommended.

Filter by:

1 - 24 of 24 Reviews for Patent Law

By Samuel L

Sep 2, 2019

Fantastic overview of basic patent law. Still new to the IP world, but will try to update in a few months as I practice patent prosecution in the United States. This very understandable course walks you through the value of patents, the mechanics and interpretation of claims = AKA "the name of the game"! You'll cover 35 USC § 101, 102, 103, 112 and 116, main requirements. The project has you attempt to write the claims, so it's good practice. Was able to complete this in a timely 3 days (3 hr/day). Thanks UPenn Law and Professor Wagner!

By Meenal D

Aug 2, 2020

This course introduced me to the patent law field with simple to understand and well organized lectures. The lectures were supplemented with suggested reading materials that deepened my understanding. The assessments allowed me to gauge my grasp of the material I had just learned.

By Ben C

Nov 22, 2020

Excellent course. Although, the end grade assignment in week 4 could improve in difficulty slightly, since the end assignments in the other courses, so far, in the 'Intellectual property specialization' have held a higher standard of difficulty.

By MALIK I A

Jan 19, 2020

The selection of course topics were knowledgeful and the way lectures were delivered absolutely excellent. The final assignment was indeed practical which provided handsome learning.

By Mariano A R F

Mar 20, 2020

Very well explained and entertaining. Sufficient level of detail. Even though I am quite experienced on topic, I still could learn new things. Recommended.

By Edgar S

Nov 24, 2020

Excelente curso para finalizar el programa especializado, la ultima Evaluación es un poco engorrosa pero tiene información muy valiosa en general.

By Mukhtar K

Dec 27, 2019

Thanks to everyone who contributed, got a lot of comprehensive and useful information about patent law through this course.

By Hrithik S

Sep 27, 2020

Its a really bite sized course about everything basic IP a begineers needs to know. I enjoyed doing it.

By Anchal S

May 27, 2020

The language of the course is easy and understandable for everyone. I enjoyed the course.

By JOSE E C P

Dec 7, 2019

Excellent course, well-explained, I highly recommend it!

By Lutfan S

Apr 30, 2020

Very good course covering basic of patent law

By Akshay T

Sep 9, 2019

very good course amazing course instructor

By Duane P M

Jul 21, 2020

Packed with great patent knowledge!

By Akshay S S

Oct 15, 2019

thank you for sharing info with me

By Sanjoli V

Sep 28, 2020

An interesting course material.

By Rajdeep S D

Dec 18, 2019

It pretty good

By Srinivasan K

Jul 22, 2019

The best course on Patent Law (IP) as this course enables with the right level of knowledge and information that is required to create awareness, handle infringement, judicial aspects w.r.t. IP claims.

Highly recommending for para legal professionals and technology consultants who involves in sales / contract negotiations.

By Varun

Feb 28, 2020

Fantastic course in the way it is structured. It is clear, to the point and well thought out in terms of learning difficulty. It can get better in terms of showing more examples, more case studies and more hands on details on composing the claims (how to use the legal language). Thanks

By Vijay R P

Oct 8, 2020

Good course. Wish it was in more depth. The summative assignment was good. However, it needs to be evaluated by an expert who can also guide on the right way to draft rather than being assessed by a peer based on a rubric. Some of the reading list links did not work.

By Gary C

Jan 18, 2020

Clearly presented, hits the main points needed and gives good examples to work with. Very helpful and genuinely an education.

By Muskan k

Jun 20, 2020

Really Very Helpful content and well understood Patent law ! Enjoyed the sessions as well!

By wenxuan l

Jun 4, 2020

Informative while some readings are broken.

By Liz U

May 9, 2020

Somewhat redundant, and several of the "additional reading" links don't work.