Chevron Left
Back to Practical Machine Learning

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Practical Machine Learning by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
2,468 ratings
465 reviews

About the Course

One of the most common tasks performed by data scientists and data analysts are prediction and machine learning. This course will cover the basic components of building and applying prediction functions with an emphasis on practical applications. The course will provide basic grounding in concepts such as training and tests sets, overfitting, and error rates. The course will also introduce a range of model based and algorithmic machine learning methods including regression, classification trees, Naive Bayes, and random forests. The course will cover the complete process of building prediction functions including data collection, feature creation, algorithms, and evaluation....

Top reviews

AD

Mar 01, 2017

Issues of every stage of the construction of learning machine model, as well as issues with several different machine learning methods are well and in fine yet very understandable detail explained.

AS

Aug 31, 2017

Highly recommend this course. It makes you read a lot, do lot's of practical exercises. The final project is a must do. After finishing this course you can start playing with kaggle data sets.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 460 Reviews for Practical Machine Learning

By Bernard J P

Aug 07, 2018

It needs to be updated. Its probably one of the most in demand skills in the field and this has a weeks worth of content 1 section 25 minutes of video 5 questions. Its just not as good as any of the other courses. 100% needs to be revamped.

By David S

Dec 18, 2018

lecture material could be cleaner with fewer errors

By Thomas B

Nov 08, 2018

Lectures and course material is insufficient to get the right amount of knowledge to be able to do the tests and the course project

By Jean P L

Apr 25, 2018

More practice Items are needed

By Hamid M

Feb 21, 2018

Unsatisfactory and poor course in this specialisation. There are many important parts which are explained inaccurately. In many cases, the lecturer jumps from important points, or assumes students have detailed knowledge about the topic. You can find ambiguity in weekly questions. Very unsatisfied!

By Humberto R

Feb 13, 2018

I was rather disappointed with this course. I guess it fills the objective of getting you using the caret package and getting you started with some examples. However to understand what you are doing you should defintively go somewhere else. I definitively missed some swirl exercises and more flow diagrams in the slides. It felt for me as I was just copypasting some code from the slides. The course does clearly give some good literature and places to go for details.

By Grégoire M

Sep 27, 2017

The worst course of the specialisation so far. The quizzes are full of typos, not clear at all, and the videos teach nothing, always refering to elements of statistical learning book. Now that I have completed the course, I do know a bunch of algorithm names involved in machine learning, but I certainly do not understand what they do and when using them.

By Jeffrey M H

Jun 10, 2019

So far, one of the most fulfilling courses in the Data Science specialization!

By Thej K R

Jun 04, 2019

Worst lectures! Worst teaching! I leanrt most of the topics on statquest. Very very very highlevel teaching, very little effort put in by Bcaffo and Rdpeng on this! So many issues in the quizzes. Wasted hours on puzzling out what is to be done! Have a look at the complaints in the course era discussion board. Issues since 3 years are not corrected. The course needs an update. But no m*****F**** is listening. Solutions to quizze are wrong! I have had it with coursera and their useles peer correction. You don't even know if what you are doing is right! Worst FEEDBACK ever!

By Ehsan K

May 30, 2019

This is a good course for someone who has already done the previous courses in this specialization series.

It covers the most basic ideas in machine learning and expose you to work on real problems and learn by experience. if you are looking for more advanced in-depth courses, you need to take other courses as well.

Overall, lectures are in very fast pace and as a result they have several mistakes in them you should be careful about.

By YANAN D

May 27, 2019

elementary course and not too much work

By Sanket P

May 27, 2019

ok

By Nino P

May 24, 2019

It's good that they teach you basics of machine learing in R (caret package), but it's very introductory course. I definetly recommend this course to beginner, but I also recommend taking more courses on this topic (Andrew Ng's for example).

By Andrew C

May 14, 2019

The lectures and quizzes are based on old versions of R and R packages. This course needs a serious update, as some packages work differently, test answers have changed (but not been updated) and coding along with the videos results in different results. Going to the forum you can see that this has been an issue for a few years now.

By Matthew S

May 08, 2019

Good introduction to machine learning. Provides pretty comprehensive coverage of major algorithms and approaches.

By Dora M

Mar 30, 2019

Really enjoyed this class and learned a lot!

By Jiarui Q

Mar 27, 2019

It is still kind of hard for a learner to understand the methods. But it gives me a overall introduction of machine learning and I will have further learning in the future.

By Premkumar S

Mar 16, 2019

Great course and farily challenging exercises! Thank You for putting this together!!

By Sakib S

Mar 15, 2019

Include more swirl practice problems.

By Paul R

Mar 13, 2019

A key course everything has been building towards, some important concepts and modeling techniques are introduced. However Jeff rushes through a lot of material, and I think this would be better served as two courses with more case studies and exercises, especially as the capstone doesn't use much of this. But nevertheless a useful introduction to this topic, concepts of training vs. testing etc, different models to be used, along with the caret package in R.

By Yap Y A

Mar 11, 2019

Instructor was clear in his explanation. Would prefer to have more hands on exercise for practice

By Bruno R d C S

Mar 07, 2019

a quick introduction to the basic algorithms for machine learning in R

By Mahmoud E

Feb 25, 2019

Very informative

By Dewald O

Feb 24, 2019

great course in R, really covers the fundamentals.

By Dave H

Feb 23, 2019

This was one of my favorite courses in the specialization as it was so easy to understand and follow. I think the basis I was given has really made me want to delve deeper into the topic and apply it to my career. Thank you!!!