Chevron Left
Back to Programming Languages, Part C

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Languages, Part C by University of Washington

4.9
281 ratings
58 reviews

About the Course

[As described below, this is Part C of a 3-part course. Participants should complete Parts A and B first -- Part C "dives right in" and refers often to material from Part A and Part B.] This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module of Part A. Part B assumes successful completion of Part A. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

Top reviews

SS

Jan 08, 2019

Great course, nicely rounded off the discussions from previous parts. Really puts OOP style programming in context and nicely contrasts it from the functional programming concepts. Highly recommended!

JH

Dec 27, 2016

I took this course about 10 years off the college, and it was excellent refresher on the topics I don't use on a daily basis. Absolutely great lecturer, great videos and study materials!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 57 Reviews for Programming Languages, Part C

By Vaidas A

Mar 31, 2018

The whole series of courses (parts A, B and C) are must take for anyone learning software engineering through moocs. Dan is one of the best teachers I've seen - to give such clarity of concepts through recorded video lectures is very impressive. I already recommended these courses and will continue to do so. Thanks!

Specifically about C part - I really liked the functional languages (especially I am into lisp-like syntax, very intrigued about other similar functional languages (clojure)) but this course gives a very nice contrast between functional and oop styles as well as deeper understanding of the oop approach to program decomposition for a person that has to write code on a daily basis, but has no software engineering training.

By Sean E

Dec 23, 2018

One of the best courses on coursera. Highly recommend this, together with "From Nand to Tetris".

By Natalia T

Sep 30, 2018

very good

By Jeff T

Apr 06, 2018

Much to be gained with this course through learning language features with a high degree of precision around their semantics. Challenging enough to provide a real sense of accomplishment upon completion. Carefully constructed course materials.

By Greg G

Apr 29, 2018

Finally, wrapped it all up with Ruby, OOP and other great topics. The homeworks, especially the Tetris one were really fun. A great finale to parts B and C with a pretty challenging final exam. I counted: the reading notes together for parts A, B and C are 180 pages. What a journey! Thanks for sharing this course Dan!

By Jin X

Nov 06, 2018

Dan is great. Thanks a lot!

By Maria L V

May 10, 2018

Having mostly learned programming on my own I think I had many holes, following these three courses was like a new pair of glasses

By Serjey G I

Apr 26, 2018

Terrific course! Highly recommend to anyone programming.

By Allison C

Apr 23, 2018

Part C of this course was harder because there were three languages to keep in mind and remember properties of! But it's nice to have been exposed to all the different decisions that go into creating a programming language.

By Feiyu L

Apr 18, 2018

After watching this course, now I truly understand Objects Oriented programming, and its relation with Functional Programming. Strongly recommend!

By Cheng H

Dec 20, 2018

the best programming course i've ever had!!!

By Olga S

Feb 09, 2018

This is an Absolutely Great Course. One of those rare ones where you feel that each of your smallest efforts brings you a step higher. Dan explains in a very clear and precise way all those concepts that an inexperienced programmer is usually afraid of: function closures, type inference, virtual methods and many more. I definitely recommend all the 3 parts to anyone who wants to call himself a programmer.

Thank you Dan!

By Henrik B

Feb 08, 2018

A course with a lot of work, but great reward. Dan who holds the course is passionate and knows what he talks about, making it a pleasure to listen to.

By Mohamed A M

Sep 06, 2019

One of the most rewarding courses I ever took online if not the best. ( I have taken more than 30 courses on coursera). The instructor is dedicated, easy to follow along with and have awesome tutoring skills overall. I would recommend this course(s) to anyone I know.

By daniel 1

May 20, 2018

very good programming language in c

By Walker

Dec 10, 2018

wonderful course,thanks for Professor Dan Grossman !

By Atsushi

Jan 30, 2019

great course material

By Shreyas S

Jan 08, 2019

Great course, nicely rounded off the discussions from previous parts. Really puts OOP style programming in context and nicely contrasts it from the functional programming concepts. Highly recommended!

By Sam R

Jan 12, 2019

Fantastic course

By Tang H T

Jan 14, 2019

Dan is awesome! It is best to take part a to c in sequence

By Luiz C

Dec 17, 2018

in my top 3 course on Coursera Platform. A must for anyone interested in Programming, beginner to experienced

By Xiang-Yu G

Jul 27, 2017

Clear and refreshing. Especially the part comparing OOP with FP. They way to compare subtyping and generics is also novel. I have been writing OOP and FP programs for years but haven't look at them from such a point of view.

By Hector L

Aug 13, 2017

concise comparison between FP and OOP

By Alejandro M

Dec 18, 2016

Excellent!

By dynasty919

Mar 03, 2018

that last assignment is pretty neat.