Chevron Left
Back to Psychological First Aid

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Psychological First Aid by Johns Hopkins University

4.8
stars
19,280 ratings

About the Course

Learn to provide psychological first aid to people in an emergency by employing the RAPID model: Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition. Utilizing the RAPID model (Reflective listening, Assessment of needs, Prioritization, Intervention, and Disposition), this specialized course provides perspectives on injuries and trauma that are beyond those physical in nature. The RAPID model is readily applicable to public health settings, the workplace, the military, faith-based organizations, mass disaster venues, and even the demands of more commonplace critical events, e.g., dealing with the psychological aftermath of accidents, robberies, suicide, homicide, or community violence. In addition, the RAPID model has been found effective in promoting personal and community resilience. Participants will increase their abilities to: - Discuss key concepts related to PFA - Listen reflectively - Differentiate benign, non-incapacitating psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions from more severe, potentially incapacitating, crisis reactions - Prioritize (triage) psychological/ behavioral crisis reactions - Mitigate acute distress and dysfunction, as appropriate - Recognize when to facilitate access to further mental health support - Practice self-care Developed in collaboration with Johns Hopkins Open Education Lab....

Top reviews

SM

Invalid date

George was engaging and extremely knowledgeable. I was able to work at my own pace and complete the course fairly quickly. I would take an in-person course of his if I could!

Suzanne - Ottawa, ON

KG

Invalid date

Course was easy to digest but very engaging! Dr. George Everly is a remarkable instructor with many years of experience. As a first responder, I look forward to applyinh my learnings in the field :)

Filter by:

4451 - 4475 of 4,541 Reviews for Psychological First Aid

By FAISAL - A

Feb 3, 2024

جيدة

By salem s a a

Jan 4, 2024

good

By Makkalanban D S

Sep 4, 2023

Good

By SEHA-15240

Dec 7, 2021

good

By ARSHA J

Sep 11, 2021

Good

By Rabiya Z

Mar 9, 2021

good

By Mohammad M O R

Nov 3, 2020

good

By BOUTOUMI A

Oct 6, 2020

good

By J F N

Sep 26, 2020

Good

By gunaseelan

Sep 16, 2020

Good

By Arundhati C

Aug 10, 2020

GOOD

By ANAGHA A

Jun 1, 2020

Good

By shravani443 v

May 14, 2020

Good

By Kevin W A N

May 1, 2020

Good

By ماهر إ

Sep 9, 2019

رائع

By Pierre i

Aug 28, 2018

like

By Sudhir S

Sep 25, 2020

---

By Andre L C A

Jan 18, 2024

ok

By Hanen A

Jul 24, 2022

H

By YIM L W

Aug 3, 2020

G

By Abha.Biyani

Aug 10, 2016

S

By Kathleen C

Jun 18, 2020

I thought the instructor was good, interesting, and professional. I did learn some things, but it was beyond rudimentary. For instance, the simulations dealt with only one situation, in which "Gina" was only mildly distressed to begin with (almost "eustressed" to use my new vocabulary). A variety of situations would have been much better. Also, the real life video, about the fire and those who experienced it, was fine, only the professor never weighed in or discussed the assessment and prioritization of the different people. I really missed this, because this one incident would have covered a lot of the ground that I missed in the simulations.

On the whole, I believe you could have put in a good deal more work in order to make this a stellar course, without making it much longer or impossibly difficult for beginners.

By Eric A

Aug 20, 2020

The information contained in the course was very valuable to anyone dealing with victims of highly stressful events.

I personally found the scenarios to be too forced, un natural.

The real life footage and the feedback from actual victims /first responders was excellent.

The assessment questions were the main reason for not awarding more stars. I found many to be ambiguous, perhaps equivocal. There was, in my opinion, too much emphasis on definition of terminology.

Some of the dialogue was too saccharine for our culture (Australia) -for example I could never use the phrase

"May I reach out to you?"

Overall ,thank you for some excellent thought provoking information. Well done.

By Kahtan

Aug 8, 2017

It is a good course and foundation for PDF.

I think you push & consist to make it in RAPID acronym !

such as Assessment and Prioritization can be in a one phase.

Prioritization sometimes were mentioned as Triage (which is easier but T letter is not RAPID)

introducing so many tools were confusing me, e.g. i don't know what to use Risk or Evidence based in prioritization

the scenario was Awesome, course language was clear but too many tools were confusing.

Finally, I would like to thank you so much for making this important course available.

By Dawn L

Nov 29, 2020

I feel misled - at no point before or during the course was it mentioned that the certificate would have to be purchased. On the cover - there is mention of "a sharable certificate". After completing the course, and searching high and low for how to print my certificate, I now understand if I want to have my certificate I must part with USD 50. That's unfair. How can prove to people, employers and the Allied Health Practitioners Council that I am capable?

However - useful content.