Chevron Left
Back to Python and Pandas for Data Engineering

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python and Pandas for Data Engineering by Duke University

4.4
stars
87 ratings

About the Course

In this first course of the Python, Bash and SQL Essentials for Data Engineering Specialization, you will learn how to set up a version-controlled Python working environment which can utilize third party libraries. You will learn to use Python and the powerful Pandas library for data analysis and manipulation. Additionally, you will also be introduced to Vim and Visual Studio Code, two popular tools for writing software. This course is valuable for beginning and intermediate students in order to begin transforming and manipulating data as a data engineer....

Top reviews

OR

Nov 8, 2022

This is a great training course, simple and interesting. This course contains a well-balanced variety of topics, such as vim usage, pandas, dask, and git among others It is highly recommended.

JM

Dec 5, 2022

Don't let the intro videos with the odd presentation format dissuade you, the rest of the course is excellent and uses normal slides to teach! Very good refresher, thank you!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 27 Reviews for Python and Pandas for Data Engineering

By Obed I R

Nov 8, 2022

This is a great training course, simple and interesting. This course contains a well-balanced variety of topics, such as vim usage, pandas, dask, and git among others It is highly recommended.

By Angel Y

May 7, 2022

3.5 rounded up

The course provides a great overview of real-world tools, and covers important concepts in Python as well as software development. The lab is a bit too simple in my view, as well, when it comes to installation of new tools and Shell commands, It makes more sense to try it on my own laptop rather than in the lab environment.

Will continue with the next course of the specialization.

By Néstor P R R

Sep 23, 2022

The goal of the curse is to be an introduction course in Python with some Pandas and for me, as someone who has some use of Python in my job, it was a great course: the explanations were god and clear, it remembers some functions that I didn't use frequently and teach me some things about Python that I ignored before.

But I think that the course should be difficult if you are new in programming. Maybe you should prefer a slower course, where you can take your time to understand and digest better the concepts.

By Richard U O

Jan 28, 2023

This Duke University course was excellent in delivery and a quick game changer as I was introduced to Python and Pandas for Data Engineering. I was able to quickly use the concepts taught in this course by Kennedy Behrman, and the approach was very practical. I am excited and look forward to the next course in this specialization: Linux and Bash for Data Engineering.

#dataengineering

By sisi L

Jul 9, 2022

It is a great and professional introduction to various tools used by data engineers. You can dig deeper in the materials mentioned in this course. I think this course did a pretty good job of setting me up to further study in this field.

By John M

Dec 6, 2022

Don't let the intro videos with the odd presentation format dissuade you, the rest of the course is excellent and uses normal slides to teach! Very good refresher, thank you!

By Nataliia I

Oct 21, 2022

Great course! I wish they put introduction to VS code in the first week, so that all work can be done there, but othewise, a good beginner course.

By Parisa T

Sep 13, 2022

great course. I really liked how the concepts were followed by small labs. Well structured material.

By julio b

Apr 26, 2022

Muy digerible, muchos ejercicios practicos

Quite clear to understand, many practical exercises

By Witold P

Nov 13, 2022

Great course for begginers - the tasks to be completed do not discourage further learning.

By Oliva-Advisory

Jun 1, 2022

Diesen Kurs sollte jeder machen, der an der Uni mit Python und Daten arbeitet.

By MUHAMMAD S

Dec 13, 2022

Good lectures good knowledge and very interesting communication

skills

By Carolina L

Dec 5, 2022

Very pertinent! Merci beaucoup!

By jonathan s

Jul 29, 2022

good it's very helpful!

By Prosper S Y

Jan 11, 2023

Great delivery

By Krishnadev A

Sep 12, 2022

Best

By Porter W

Jan 14, 2023

Great introductory course. Learned a lot about Python from not knowing anything about the syntax or capabilities of the language. I think my experience in web development was an overall assistance toward progressing through the course quickly. Not all of the quiz questions are accurate. This needs to be fixed.

By Anna L

Apr 24, 2022

Great course. Good step-by-step explanations, examples and exercises. I would have expected a little bit more content in this first course, but in summary it really focuses on the very important things to learn which seems to be really valuable for me.

By Brandt L

Jun 30, 2022

Good for quick basics of working with bash, github, python, virtual environments and such

By Chalintra Y

Jul 5, 2022

It's all overview tool that need to use for work in data engineer

By Sibusiso M

Aug 16, 2022

Great introduction to how to set up your python environment.

By Curt W

Aug 24, 2022

I did like the course but it is very basic.

By Peter L ( W

Jun 17, 2022

A good beginner course into python.

By Gaurav B

Nov 3, 2022

Very basic course.

By Jim S

Nov 23, 2022

This course is a tragic mess. Quiz answers are wrong. Labs ask for mis-spelled method names. Exercises using pip don't work. This stuff was not proofed. It is a mess and a shame to have the Duke name on it!