Chevron Left
Back to Python and Pandas for Data Engineering

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python and Pandas for Data Engineering by Duke University

4.6
stars
184 ratings

About the Course

In this first course of the Python, Bash and SQL Essentials for Data Engineering Specialization, you will learn how to set up a version-controlled Python working environment which can utilize third party libraries. You will learn to use Python and the powerful Pandas library for data analysis and manipulation. Additionally, you will also be introduced to Vim and Visual Studio Code, two popular tools for writing software. This course is valuable for beginning and intermediate students in order to begin transforming and manipulating data as a data engineer....

Top reviews

OR

Nov 8, 2022

This is a great training course, simple and interesting. This course contains a well-balanced variety of topics, such as vim usage, pandas, dask, and git among others It is highly recommended.

JM

Dec 5, 2022

Don't let the intro videos with the odd presentation format dissuade you, the rest of the course is excellent and uses normal slides to teach! Very good refresher, thank you!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 50 Reviews for Python and Pandas for Data Engineering

By Obed I R

Nov 8, 2022

This is a great training course, simple and interesting. This course contains a well-balanced variety of topics, such as vim usage, pandas, dask, and git among others It is highly recommended.

By John M

Dec 6, 2022

Don't let the intro videos with the odd presentation format dissuade you, the rest of the course is excellent and uses normal slides to teach! Very good refresher, thank you!

By Angel Y

May 7, 2022

3.5 rounded up

The course provides a great overview of real-world tools, and covers important concepts in Python as well as software development. The lab is a bit too simple in my view, as well, when it comes to installation of new tools and Shell commands, It makes more sense to try it on my own laptop rather than in the lab environment.

Will continue with the next course of the specialization.

By Néstor P R R

Sep 23, 2022

The goal of the curse is to be an introduction course in Python with some Pandas and for me, as someone who has some use of Python in my job, it was a great course: the explanations were god and clear, it remembers some functions that I didn't use frequently and teach me some things about Python that I ignored before.

But I think that the course should be difficult if you are new in programming. Maybe you should prefer a slower course, where you can take your time to understand and digest better the concepts.

By Gagan K

Feb 7, 2023

A good crash course through Python and Pandas. I would highly recommend that you take some other introductory Python course (there are many available online) before attempting this course to get the most value out of your time and effort. For me, this course offered a good revision of the core concepts, and a good introduction to big data analytics (Pyspark and Dask). Recommended if you are interested in data engineering.

By Richard O

Jan 28, 2023

This Duke University course was excellent in delivery and a quick game changer as I was introduced to Python and Pandas for Data Engineering. I was able to quickly use the concepts taught in this course by Kennedy Behrman, and the approach was very practical. I am excited and look forward to the next course in this specialization: Linux and Bash for Data Engineering.

#dataengineering

By sisi L

Jul 9, 2022

It is a great and professional introduction to various tools used by data engineers. You can dig deeper in the materials mentioned in this course. I think this course did a pretty good job of setting me up to further study in this field.

By Ufuk H

Feb 10, 2023

excellent course, in terms of course design and interactivity. labs and exercises were extensive and helped me get things easier. even I took this course to refresh my knowledge, I feel learned more in depth. thanks!

By Dan T

Mar 8, 2023

Why did I give this course one star? I did because there are far too many typos. It seemed like I flagged almost every page for spelling mistakes. I spent more time flagging errors than I did actually doing the class itself. It makes me wonder if this is an English class instead of a Data Science class, in that maybe the goal is to teach us how to proofread, since whoever wrote the text in this course sure doesn't know how to.

By Natalia I

Oct 21, 2022

Great course! I wish they put introduction to VS code in the first week, so that all work can be done there, but othewise, a good beginner course.

By Jeffrey E

Dec 27, 2023

Very clear, well-organized course for the beginner. I am surprised at how much I learned fairly quickly and easily. Great job. Thank you.

By brent z

Mar 10, 2023

The lessons were laid out well and were easy to follow. I enjoyed how the labs reinforced the material that was covered.

By Sivakumar

Jan 4, 2024

Exceptional course content, would recommend to anyone who got a break from hands on data engineering core skills !

By Parisa T

Sep 13, 2022

great course. I really liked how the concepts were followed by small labs. Well structured material.

By julio b

Apr 26, 2022

Muy digerible, muchos ejercicios practicos

Quite clear to understand, many practical exercises

By Witold P

Nov 13, 2022

Great course for begginers - the tasks to be completed do not discourage further learning.

By Oliva-Advisory

Jun 1, 2022

Diesen Kurs sollte jeder machen, der an der Uni mit Python und Daten arbeitet.

By Dmytro K

Oct 27, 2023

It's an excellent course that covers all major areas for Python development

By Thammanoon L

Jun 26, 2023

Good course! This course is basic Python and Pandas for Data Engineering.

By deep S

Dec 13, 2022

Good lectures good knowledge and very interesting communication

skills

By Hayat U

Dec 9, 2023

very professional way of teaching this course for any level

By M L R

Nov 23, 2023

Very helpful to get a strong grip on the fundamentals

By Mohamed A R

Apr 2, 2024

clear instructions and fulfilling path to succcess

By Wilson T

Mar 2, 2023

Excellent, but the pace of Week 4 is a bit rush.

By PHUONG V T

Oct 10, 2023

Excellent course from Duke University