Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,649 ratings
5,715 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

YY

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

PK

May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

Filter by:

3901 - 3925 of 5,665 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Salah E H

Apr 18, 2020

Excellent course, with good material & explanations by the staff. However, giving more guidance on what is expected from each answer could save us some time while doing the assignments

By Graydon S

Sep 22, 2019

Overall quite good, but the auto-graded assignment can lead to a lot of time spent less on comprehension and more nit-picky details (more than the R-based data science specialization).

By Henri

Feb 5, 2019

Great course requiring a lot of dedication. However, got issues with the auto grader that made me loose a lot of time unfortunately. Good tips to resolve issues from discussion forums.

By Idemudia C U

Oct 5, 2019

The course takes one through essential steps for data science introduction but i feel the assignments look to technical for an introduction and the autograder creates alot of tension.

By sbabureddy

Apr 17, 2019

The course is based on getting hands on experience of pandas package and some hypothesis testing. be sure to learn basics of pandas and hypothesis testing before enrolling the course.

By Puskar B

Mar 9, 2019

The course materials, videos are great! I am giving 4 stars just because some of the questions of the assignments are confusion. It takes a very long time just to understand question.

By Eric M

Jun 29, 2017

Excellent, if frustrating introduction to data science in python. There was a large learning curve with Coursera and using python, but it was well worth it and I learned a great deal.

By Michael P

Feb 17, 2019

A good course overall, except for some ambiguous question descriptions in the assignments which makes you guess what the real requirement is by submitting your answer multiple times.

By Meghna A

Jun 24, 2020

i really want to say a big thanks to the whole team who designed this course .

i have been really into learning about data structures and python and this has been a boon in disguise.

By Andrea C

Dec 28, 2019

This course covers pretty much the basic concepts of data science, as well as some python programming.

Tests requests might might sound a bit confusing, but overall is a good course.

By Aneesh J

Nov 1, 2018

A lot of learning through Assignments, best course for those who can work hard to learn something. Also it teaches you how to apply bottom down approach in life to learn a new thing

By Mohammed H

Aug 2, 2017

Loads of material and can be challenging for beginners (not being smug, i am one and it was for me). Still learned a lot and would recommend if you are willing to put in the effort.

By 145_Aratrika R

Aug 11, 2020

The course was informative and helped me to a certain level, but I couldn't help but feel that it could have been a little more detailed. But it was still helpful and interesting.

By Sachin R G

May 25, 2020

You must have to add key important reference in this course so that students get easily access to only those material which is really needed in this life of data science programing

By Garima M

May 10, 2020

Course is good. But, pandas version is old in Jupyter notebook, difficulty increase exponentially and 1 question in assignment 4 has either wrong instructions or question is wrong.

By Shekhar G

Feb 3, 2019

for testing question, if some test cases are provided i believe that could be very helpful saving time.

Otherwise course is very good especially the assignments and project.

Thanks!!

By Himal D

Feb 15, 2018

The questions in assignment 4 can be a little more explanatory. Apart from that the course is very well structured and the assignments are excellent for learning and experimenting.

By Michael M

Dec 20, 2021

This course has helped to shape my understanding of Data Science. I'll always recommend this course to my colleagues. Thumbs up to the facilitators and entire Coursera Team. Kudos

By Shiomar S C

Sep 23, 2019

The course is really good the material is a little heavy and need a lot of work for the assigmentes.

Some lack of help dduring the assigments and the practice tools are not working

By Martin G

Feb 18, 2019

Very good course. Pretty fast pace, so definitely needed to google/read a bit on the side. The exercises push you really think, though I had a some problems with the auto-grader..

By Ayush R

Mar 30, 2018

Concepts explained are basic , and questions requires in-depth knowledge which makes practice test hard to pass.

This is my first MOOC, took me a bit longer to understand things.

By Philippe d A

Jul 28, 2021

The course is really great and well made. But be careful, as even if it is only an introduction, it requires to have already a pretty decent knowledge of Python to go through it.

By Udesh H

Jun 26, 2019

Learned so much in such a short time! I can't believe it. 4 weeks ago, I had no idea what pandas was. Now, I'm merging multiple data sets and cleaning them. Such a great feeling.

By Marie T

Jun 27, 2020

Very good class, although it seems better to have good Python skills already. I am a business school student with just basics in Python, and I found the assignments a bit hard !

By RICHARD P T U

Apr 29, 2020

Everything was fine videos and all but assingment should be made easier and next to next questions should get tougher some question were too difficult and matching to the videos