Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
25,680 ratings
5,721 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK

May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

YY

Sep 28, 2021

This is the practical course.There is some concepts and assignments like: pandas, data-frame, merge and time. The asg 3 and asg4 are difficult but I think that it's very useful and improve my ability.

Filter by:

3926 - 3950 of 5,673 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Martin G

Feb 18, 2019

Very good course. Pretty fast pace, so definitely needed to google/read a bit on the side. The exercises push you really think, though I had a some problems with the auto-grader..

By Ayush R

Mar 30, 2018

Concepts explained are basic , and questions requires in-depth knowledge which makes practice test hard to pass.

This is my first MOOC, took me a bit longer to understand things.

By Philippe d A

Jul 28, 2021

The course is really great and well made. But be careful, as even if it is only an introduction, it requires to have already a pretty decent knowledge of Python to go through it.

By Udesh H

Jun 26, 2019

Learned so much in such a short time! I can't believe it. 4 weeks ago, I had no idea what pandas was. Now, I'm merging multiple data sets and cleaning them. Such a great feeling.

By Marie T

Jun 27, 2020

Very good class, although it seems better to have good Python skills already. I am a business school student with just basics in Python, and I found the assignments a bit hard !

By RICHARD P T U

Apr 29, 2020

Everything was fine videos and all but assingment should be made easier and next to next questions should get tougher some question were too difficult and matching to the videos

By Rodrigo G S

Apr 12, 2020

Sirve como introducción semi completa a Python basico, uso de las funcionalidades más comunes de Pandas. Quizás dar más enfasis a otra librería como Numpy lo haría más completo.

By Bradley B

Feb 6, 2020

Strengths: The assignments were interesting and challenging. The teaching assistant and discussion forums were helpful.

Cons: The auto-grader costs several hours to get to work.

By Gabriel H

Oct 29, 2019

The content and assignment topics were good, however the questions were at times misleading or did not specify all conditions required for a correct answer. Perseverance is key.

By Amit K s

Mar 15, 2019

a must to do course for anyone who is entering the world of data science although i faced a bit of difficulty in assignments ,the instruction in assignments should be more clear

By Nathan R

Jul 23, 2017

A very good course. Excellent introduction to pandas, in particular. Auto-grader could be improved, but it is great to get instant results, rather than waiting for peer grading.

By Ke C

Feb 24, 2020

Enough programming has open answers, it will be helpful if there are some guided method to be provided after we finish each assignment to better increase our coding efficiency.

By Dylan

Sep 11, 2019

Very thorough course with good questions and interesting assignments. Be prepared to read through pandas documentation though, or perhaps that's just my go to as a developer :)

By Tejas S N

Mar 19, 2017

I feel the videos could have been more instructive.However, the level of assignments is incredible! I learnt a lot more from programming assignments of this course than videos.

By Jiaqi L

Jul 26, 2020

I strongly suggest making the description for assignments clearer. For assignment 2 and 3, without help of discussion forum, maybe I am still stuck in the data pre-processing.

By Adarsh K

May 20, 2020

I found this course slightly difficult since I was completely unaware of Pandas and NumPy, however, by putting slight effort and dedication, I was able to complete the course.

By Massimiliano M

Mar 5, 2017

Great Course,very practical. I would improve the examples and increase the number of exercise during the lectures instead of just fastly presenting the pandas functionalities.

By Nikhil G

Jun 10, 2020

Assignments were very good and involved a lot of thinking. It made me go through the documentations of a lot of functions. But the videos could be better and more elaborated.

By Prashant S

Apr 14, 2020

The course content is very good and its well taught. I suggest to brief or explain the assignment questions after completing it, it will help to better understand the things.

By Syed T S

Apr 12, 2020

The course was very learning but the assignments were really difficult. Even though, I have a background in python, still it was very challenging to complete the assignments.

By Zona G

Apr 24, 2018

Challenging in a good way, but sometimes light on important details which makes it difficult to even go about finding your own info/solutions online as the course encourages.

By Yanliang Y

Jan 23, 2017

It was challenging yet fun to learn this course.

Last but not least, the http://stackoverflow.com is really helpful. I highly recommend it to anyone who want to learn Python.

By Jesús R S

May 26, 2017

Some issues when validating the assignements automatically but the forums are very helpful. Overall great course to start learning python and the libraries pandas and numpy.

By André T R

Mar 1, 2017

The submission tasks are too time consuming. In the other hand,forces the student to search about answers by themselves and use the techniques taught on it's full extension.

By Wen H

Nov 20, 2016

I like the course very much. It was fun to learn and to do the exercises. There were some rough edges in the assignments but I'm sure these will be straightened out in time.