Chevron Left
Back to Python Data Structures

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Data Structures by University of Michigan

4.9
stars
83,094 ratings
14,702 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the core data structures of the Python programming language. We will move past the basics of procedural programming and explore how we can use the Python built-in data structures such as lists, dictionaries, and tuples to perform increasingly complex data analysis. This course will cover Chapters 6-10 of the textbook “Python for Everybody”. This course covers Python 3....
Highlights
Excellent instructor
(503 Reviews)
Helpful assignments
(254 Reviews)

Top reviews

SV
Dec 7, 2020

Excellent explanation. Professor Charles kept the course from being monotonous. Learnt in depth about reading from file, sorting dictionaries and appending lists. Looking forward to learn more courses

AC
Jun 18, 2020

Great course for pyhton. Loved this course and enjoyed it. Thanks to Dr.Chuck. If anyone who want to take a course which is well explained and fun for python learning, then Hey!!! this is your course.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 10,000 Reviews for Python Data Structures

By yashvinder h

Jan 27, 2017

Dr. chuck is unmatchable. I wasn't sure about taking online course but my elder brother who is an Engineer at Intuit in silicon valley encouraged me to go for it and i am very happy to have virtually met with Dr. chuck.

I am going to learn rest of the python courses as mentioned in p4informatics book by Dr. chuck

By Luke R

Mar 15, 2016

Good intro to python data structures. If you are experienced in other languages, you will probably find this course very easy, but it still provides a decent foundation, and introduces you to some concepts that may not be present in your dynamic language of choice (e.g. there are no tuples in javascript or ruby).

By Juan J O L

Jul 30, 2020

excellent , I've taken course 1 and 2 (up to chapter 10 in the book), and subjects are clear. sometimes assignments were more challenging in this course but when you repeat the lectures and read more, at some point you make it anf you feel proud of yourself. you really get strong foundations if you are commited.

By Prakhar A

Apr 20, 2020

The course wonderfully completes the loop by making the student capable of writing and understanding the code that was shown on the first day of the first course. It makes you realize how far you've come without even noticing it because they made it so much fun and easy to learn. Dr Chuck is a wonderful faculty!

By Martin S

Oct 31, 2020

Excellent for beginners, but also very good for someone like me dusting off after not using PHP for ~10 years. Free e-book by Chuck Severance is a good basis. Videos are fun and to the point, assignments and quizzes are just the right level of challenge. Will definitely recommend this to friends and colleagues.

By Aneesh K

Jul 12, 2020

This is a really good way for us to refresh or even learn on python data structures from scratch. It would be really helpful to check out 'Getting Started with Python' once before checking this out for it uses a lot of the intro chapters of the textbook 'Python For Everybody' by Prof. Charles Russell Severance.

By Sonali S

May 4, 2020

In this course i learnt a lot about python data structures. Earlier i used to think what are these used for?? But now i have good knowledge about its application in real word. It was great to be part of this course. All thanks to Professor Charles for explaining the concepts so nicely. He is a great instructor.

By Jonas D L

Jan 21, 2017

This a great course for people that wants to learn programming but do not have much free time and need a deadline to complete tasks. I have learn a great amount in the short time. Though the book is free, I purchased a copy from Amazon so I can read it during my commute. I am telling everyone about this class.

By Krishna R

Jul 18, 2020

It is a great course, this course teaches us the Data Structures in Python. On all that the Instructor(Dr. Chuck) is very Cool :) and the best, to teach Python. Thank You Sir for your time and your panache in teaching is one of the best. I Thank University of Michigan and Coursera for this opportunity as well.

By Yasaman K

May 7, 2020

Really good course! I completed the last assignment with my own codes without looking at much samples! woohoo! love it and I'd highly recommend taking it if you know the basics.

Dr Chuck teaches really well and explains things well. I just wish there were some exercises to work on before doing the assignment.

By Gabriele G

Mar 26, 2019

Amazing course getting deeply into the use of lists/dictionaries/tuples w/ Python; Fundamental assets to start writing your own scripts to read file logs/gather info and present them as needed; I would have enjoyed more if there would have been additional optional exercises but completely worth it in any case!

By Pratik S K

Jul 4, 2020

Excellent course ! I learnt more about Data structures. The material were very easy to follow and deliver in a very friendly and engaging manner.I would like to thank instructor Dr.Chuck for making this course amazing and enjoyable.I highly recommend this course to anyone just getting started in programming.

By Abigail W

Jun 6, 2020

I love Dr Chuck. Thank you for all your effort in this course. I am starting to feel very comfortable with coding. I even build my first simplified Database management system of a website. Its always been a goal of mine to build my own DBMS system in my current job. I look forward to the next course with you.

By AYUSH S

Apr 29, 2020

I liked the way Dr. Chuck teaches the course. Always in a charming and exciting way. Learned a lot about the basics in this course. Simply the best interactive MOOC I have ever had. Thanks a lot! I will definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to start their path into the field of Programming using Python.

By Surabhi C

Apr 13, 2020

The course was user-friendly, informative and up to the mark.

It helped me improve my error analysis skills and become a proficient python programmer.

I expresss my gratitude to the University of MIchigan for availing students with such a wonderful course and to Dr. Charles Severance for his excellent teaching.

By Ibadurrahman

Jan 31, 2020

it's the second part of the python course.Dr. Chuck is really a great teacher and instructor.You will be directed to python programming with a clear understanding.I wanted to say more, but I only can say this:"This is a beautifully great course, and Doctor Chuck is gonna change you."Thank you Dr Chuck, always

By Sumitha P

Jul 29, 2019

Prof. Charles Severance conducts this course with an excellent pace using easy to grasp examples. I took Python for everybody and Python Data structures. I thoroughly enjoyed the course structure with the quizzes and coding assignments. This online course felt like a classroom experience. Thank you Professor!

By David K

Jan 27, 2019

Great course for beginners and intermediate students. Because I have skills in other programming languages it was not that hard to pass assignments. But I learned a lot: that in Python Strings are objects, manipulating files and new complex data structures like lists, dictionaries and so on. Thanks Dr. Chuck!

By Prasoon D S

Oct 24, 2017

The course progressed at an easy pace, building up the momentum gradually. It is a perfect start for a beginner in Python(after doing the first course).

Suggestion: Please provide some information about where once can practice further to hone the concepts learnt in the course.

Thanks for the course, Dr. Chuck.

By Amir H S

Oct 11, 2017

Pace is a faster than it was in Python for Everybody. However, as always, Dr. Chuck was simply sublime in his explanations and the depth with which he demonstrates certain concepts. The course definitely teaches you to put the concepts learned in Python for Everybody into practice for real, tangible problems.

By Carlos G

Oct 6, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It has been a excellent experience with good tutorials, interesting homework and funny videos.

I started with the first level "Python for everybody" and the next courses have provide to me a new tools to be a Python developer. Thank you Dr. Chuck to teach in this phenomenal way!!

By Dr. Z B

Sep 11, 2020

I never knew I had it in me for programming until I took Prof Chuck's courses.

Like he says everyone can program, now I believe him. Thanks, prof for believing in us and teaching in a way that makes it easier for us to actually read and understand the course. Can't wait to start the nest course in the series!

By Симкина Д В

May 9, 2020

I definitely find this course comprehensible and suitable for every beginner, as it was just my second course of the specialisation. I wish I had more programming exercises on a weekly basis so I could practice more pieces of new knowledge as not every one was covered. I'm thankful and continue this journey.

By Maya M

Mar 16, 2016

The combination of video with a text book to review helped me grasp the concepts and review them effectively. I enjoyed the format of the course. I worked out the examples on both Python 2.7 and Python 3.0. A lot of syntax nuances that would have been hard to grasp without the text book. Thank you Professor.

By Sivankit B

Mar 7, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and its prequel. Dr. Chuck, you are a wonderful teacher and I really appreciate the efforts and time you have put into each video. It almost feels like a breeze learning with you. I have learned a lot from your courses and hopefully will complete the specialisation in the future.