Chevron Left
Back to Python Project for Data Engineering

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Project for Data Engineering by IBM Skills Network

4.6
stars
364 ratings

About the Course

Showcase your skills in Data Engineering with this Python Project! This mini-course is intended to apply foundational Python skills by implementing different techniques to collect and work with data. You will assume the role of a Data Engineer and extract data from multiple file formats, transform it into specific datatypes, and then load it into a single source for analysis. Continue with the course and test your knowledge by implementing webscraping and extracting data with APIs all with the help of multiple hands-on labs. By the end of this project, you will have demonstrated your familiarity with important skills in Information Engineering and Extraction, Transformation and Loading (ETL), Jupyter Notebooks, and of course, Python Programming. Upon completion of this course, you will have acquired the confidence to begin collecting large datasets, webscraping, using APIs, and performing ETL tasks, to hone valuable data management skills - all with the use of Python. PRE-REQUISITE: **Python for Data Science, AI and Development** course from IBM is a pre-requisite for this project course. Please ensure that before taking this course you have either completed the Python for Data Science, AI and Development course from IBM or have equivalent proficiency in working with Python and data. NOTE: This course is not intended to teach you Python and does not have too much instructional content. It is intended for you to apply prior Python knowledge....

Top reviews

RV

Aug 1, 2022

It was really well done and I found it difficult to complete. But I managed to complete it and it showed me my limitations and what I need to work on before moving onto the next course. Thanks a lot.

SA

Sep 6, 2022

Beautiful and challenging project. The project measures that students understand and complete the ELT process taught in the previous module.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 65 Reviews for Python Project for Data Engineering

By Christian R

May 28, 2021

This might be easy for someone with more experience but for a newbie like me, it was hard and it took me quite of time to complete and understand, there is support when you get stuck but they reply with the answer not with an explanation, which is a boomer.

By Carter H

Aug 4, 2021

The final project needs to be completely revamped and have way more description with respect to the logging requirements.

By Lucy M

Mar 11, 2022

issues on the module

Peer Review Assignment - Data Engineer - Webscraping

and there is not key or cheat sheet. big problems with this one. please help.

By Isaac M

Jul 12, 2021

The rubric for grading is not correct for question 3. The instructions to the API questions is confusing. It asks for Country Name, but it seems that the quiz was looking for bank name.

By Vedant B

May 31, 2021

Should update contents as the names of api changes.

By Alejandro L

Aug 26, 2021

Al parecer no hay ninguna explicación para realizar los cursos de webescraping. Me parece muy mala estructura del curso.

Apparently there is no explanation for taking the webscraping courses. I think the structure of the course is very bad.

By Alejandra B V L

Oct 13, 2021

Need to explain more, it literally has no explanation at all

By Moisés L G N

May 2, 2022

A quite challenging course. At beginning ones may think that the videos material is insufficient, but with the labs and the exercises you'll get a strong base knowledge. It's always good to practice on your own. I really enjoyed the course.

By David H

Jul 17, 2022

The hands on lab is a little bit challenging. You need to check previous courses or search the internet to find the best solutions to solve the puzzle. But that's very helpful to make your knowhow solid.

By Binu T

Sep 21, 2021

This project helped me to review the previous course Python for Data science

By Desmond C C H

Mar 11, 2022

The video lecture is insufficient to prepare for final assignments. The lab exercise scattered here and there. API, web scrapping, ETL lab and then final assignment. I felt if the video lecture could elaborate more on the terms like variable, built in Panda dataframe, how to pass into a function (recap on what we learn earlier previous module) using ETL example. This would help us prepare better.

Nonetheless, the discussion forum was useful. I am glad the search box is there allow me to input the search on topic I needed most. There were some logistics issue like jupyter notebook wget unable to work. If should have corner for new comer to go for, prerequisites. Let them know if they use anaconda jupyter notebook this is what they need. If they use win/mac then another approach. I spend some time figuring that out.

I have some assignment was thank to help from fellow peers. I wish the lecturer could more active share more hints on final assignments or others. Not many of us are good in programming.

By Rets R

Apr 10, 2022

Error 400.

Many courses don't work :(

By Matthew M

Feb 1, 2023

Nice course with fun and challenging final lab project. The labs really help the conscientious student learn. Great coverage on details of gathering data and ETL processes in Python. ETL is no longer the mystery it once was. Combined with learning from the prerequisite Python for Data Science, AI & Development course, ETL is now something I feel I can jump in, work with, and keep exploring.

By Ichiro O

Jan 25, 2022

Great way to see what you are capable of and able to apply what you have learned so far. (python basics,etc) I decided to give full marks even though the IBM services is not as streamlined as it could be, that's not directly related to the course or the content of the course.

By Fernanda C M S

Feb 19, 2022

It is basic course, but really overviewed what an ETL process is and its tools. Now I have an idea how to do ETL and I can study more deeply the tools that was mentioned and used in the course. I would like it to be more difficult, but I enjoyed it.

By Ryan

Aug 2, 2022

It was really well done and I found it difficult to complete. But I managed to complete it and it showed me my limitations and what I need to work on before moving onto the next course. Thanks a lot.

By Gabriel F

Mar 19, 2023

Very good course! I got a little lost in the instructions for the final exercise, between the "exchange.csv" and ".json" files, but I managed to finish, thank you very much!

By S M M A

Sep 7, 2022

Beautiful and challenging project. The project measures that students understand and complete the ELT process taught in the previous module.

By Nataliya S

Aug 12, 2021

The course is enthralling and informative. You can put the knowledge in practice lessons at once. thank you for the great course!

By Marckelson S S

Feb 11, 2023

Thank you for the great course!

The course is enthralling and informative. You can put the knowledge in practice lessons at once.

By Peter D

Aug 2, 2021

This course is very challenged both Python skills for Extract Transform and Load assignment.

I really enjoyed it.

By Shubham V

Sep 22, 2021

Very informative, interactive and force us to learn and do the things on our own.

By Tuncay Y

Oct 21, 2022

It was a good training with a project that included current industry practices.

By Gouripeddi V A B

Sep 17, 2022

Good exposure to an actual ETL process using Python. Very simple to follow

By Juan C R

Mar 23, 2023

Very easy way to get into the doing the ETL workflow. Highly appreciated!