Chevron Left
Back to Resilience in Children Exposed to Trauma, Disaster and War: Global Perspectives

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Resilience in Children Exposed to Trauma, Disaster and War: Global Perspectives by University of Minnesota

4.8
152 ratings
40 reviews

About the Course

How do children overcome hazardous experiences to succeed in life? What can be done to protect young people at risk from trauma, war, disasters, and other adversities? Learn about the importance of fostering resilience in children at risk. During this course, participants will: learn how trauma can affect children and the systems they depend on, gain insight into core concepts, research methods and lessons learned in last 50 years of resilience research, learn how research is being applied in the real world through interventions that promote resilience, and engage in discussions with others who are working with children at risk around the world Participants are welcome to take the MOOC at no cost or to register for a Course Certificate ($49). Those who register and earn a Course Certificate from Coursera also are eligible to sign up for continuing education clock hours through the University of Minnesota. Participants can earn 10 clock hours of continuing education credit (added cost $99) from the College of Education and Human Development at the University of Minnesota. Go here http://z.umn.edu/1a5q to register for continuing education clock hours for completing this course....

Top reviews

Y

Feb 02, 2019

Wonderful and very well-detailed research-based course about resilience in children. Learned a lot from the splendid instructor. Very detailed and empowering course. Highly recommended.

VV

Jan 19, 2017

Amazing course! It can inspire every professional who is interested in trauma- informed approach or who is working with populations experiencing traumas.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 38 Reviews for Resilience in Children Exposed to Trauma, Disaster and War: Global Perspectives

By Gillian L A

May 19, 2019

This is a fantastic course! Extremely interesting material superbly delivered! Inspiring, useful and thought provoking. Would definitely recommend.

By Yaqeen S

Feb 02, 2019

Wonderful and very well-detailed research-based course about resilience in children. Learned a lot from the splendid instructor. Very detailed and empowering course. Highly recommended.

By Zein A M

Apr 08, 2017

Very informative, full of live samples and interactive learning, highly recommending it!

By John V

Jun 09, 2017

T

By Stacy C

Apr 22, 2018

Dr. Masten and her team did an amazing job bringing relevant dialogue and information to us! I really appreciate this opportunity! I am applying to ASU Doctorate in Innovation and Leadership in Education program and wanted to see if my mind is ready to go back to school! Thank you for revving up my mind passion and clearing my vision for next steps.

By Rocio L G

May 21, 2017

Studing Resilience from multicultural aproach has been an amazing experience. I absolutly recomend this kind of courses, no just because the academic learning, but because the chance to share knowledge and opinions in discussion with people from world wide

By Anastasia T

Dec 26, 2017

Interesting and useful materials, a lot of real examples and interviews, classes are systematized in a very organic way which is easy to follow, presentations that supplement videos highlight the most important things, and the language and speech is very clear even for non-English speakers. For those who want to go deeper there are a lot of additional readings on the topics.

By veronicazhang

Jan 19, 2017

Amazing course! It can inspire every professional who is interested in trauma- informed approach or who is working with populations experiencing traumas.

By Abdul B A M

Sep 09, 2017

Great course but little chance to practice.

By Parviz I

Jan 08, 2018

It was a very useful course for me to understand Resilience in Children life very well. When I compare my knowledge at beginning course and end of course I can see a beyond compare improvement. Thanks to Professor Ann Masten.

By JOHN Q

Dec 14, 2016

INTERESTING COURSE WITH MATERIAL I'VE GIVEN LITTLE THOUGHT TO PRIOR TO THIS COURSE.

By Amineh A

Jan 30, 2017

An excellent introduction to resilience in children affected by war, terrorism and disaster. I appreciated very much the opportunity to meet (virtually) many experts in the field including the course instructor Dr. Masten as well as getting to know about many forums and centers related to this field. Very timely.

By Anna R

Apr 24, 2018

Great course! Very helpful in my studies.

By Ligia G C

May 23, 2017

Course was very interesting and I really enjoyed.

By Tan J F

Oct 08, 2018

An important course to learn from.

By Emma A

Nov 29, 2018

Informative, inspiring and interactive learning platform!

By Kirstie J

Jul 30, 2019

Really enjoyed the materia. The real life examples made the material relateable.

By SUSHIL K S V

Aug 07, 2019

Great course for beginning to understand how the Western World views Resilience

By Eliana m G R

May 21, 2019

excelente curso

By Christy F

Apr 24, 2019

Great course and topic.

By N'DOU N A

Oct 16, 2019

Congratulation to Professor Ann S. Masten and to her team. They have done so well ! For me this course is a very useful and inspiring peace of work that will help learners have a totally different look on some of the phenomenons happening in people lives around us. It will help interventions be more effective for future beneficiaries.

By Catherine B

Sep 08, 2019

Amazing! Great Teacher and phenomenally enlightening course!

By Tofail A

Sep 12, 2019

"Resilience in Children Exposed to Trauma, Disaster and War: Global Perspectives: is a time demanded education for the humanitarian. Being a humanitarian I am feeling lucky to be a part of this course. Humble regards,

Tofail

By Nemam G

May 13, 2018

recomend it highly

By Abou A

Jan 07, 2019

Before starting this course I was unsure about Resilience in general, this course has opened up my mind and they of thinking about resilience and how I can help my family, neighbours and friends about risk and adversity on how to over come or reduce stress! This is a must learn course!